We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bistro”
Review of Egghead Bagels - CLOSED

Egghead Bagels
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Jing'an
Description: Egghead Bagels is proud to be Shanghai's first bagel shop. We serve breakfast all day, including bagels with cream cheese and lox, omelets, pancakes, fresh squeezed juices, coffee, and tea. Or try our gourmet Bagelwiches, Pizza Bagels and Subs!
Schleusingen, Germany
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice bistro”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Perfect for a good bagel breakfast, good located, service is good but more and more to busy, prices good for the quality

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,160 reviews
892 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,387 helpful votes
“Okay food, though slow service”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We happened to be passing by and decided to drop in for a meal. The restaurant, which is located on the site of the previous Gourmet Burgher, has a nice open layout. There were only two staff on duty and it took ten minutes to put our order in. I wanted the pancakes but was told it would take a minimum of 30 minutes to be served. In fact, we both went for the Americab breakfast and we still had to wait 25 minutes for our meals. Their breakfast sets come with either coffee or tea, though you can upgrade it to a latte etc for 10 rmb. The food was so-so, and the bagels (you have a choice e.g sesame, garlic, cinnamon etc) were rather hard unfortunately.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Bagel Sandwiches”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Egghead Bagels is another great addition to the city - bringing North American bagel cuisine to Shanghai.

Try their bagel sandwiches. They are all an excellent way to start the day!

Just wish they delivered to Pudong.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank AndersoninShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We trekked across Shanghai to find this place. The Breakfast was average, and not really worth the trip across town.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldwidetrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Bagels!”
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Stopped by this place on a Sunday (March 28th) when they were just opening. Had one of their Bagelwitches with Egg, Cheese, Bacon, mmm so delicious! The service was great, owner/manager even came to the table, personally asked how everything was. Very family oriented place, as I saw a bunch of young couples with their kids, getting brunches to go. I'm sure during the week it's more business clientele, as there are a bunch of offices around that would be taking advantage of a cheap (but good) Coffee + Bagel. Only place I can remember in my 6 years living in China, that has fresh bagels. I only wished they opened sooner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Side31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egghead Bagels also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing