We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
8 Art Hotel on the Bund
Ranked #72 of 799 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 1, 2012

For a hostel, we were surprised to find a flat screen tv (but no idea how to operate), toiletries & towels provided. Cleanliness is better than some 3-4 star hotel. Expect to hear chatters when other guests talk in the hallway though not noisy.
The Bund is just a few steps away. Nearest Metro is some 20 mins walk. That was fine as we only put up here for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 99 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed in this hostel for one night a few weeks ago. The hostel is fairly well located a stones throw from The Bund and a 10 minute walk to the Yu Yuan Chinese Gardens, although there isn't a metro station nearby. I stayed in a small, twin bed room with no exterior window just one overlooking the hallway. The room and bathroom was clean and the shower hot. There was a large flat screen TV which I didn't try but it looked quite complicated to operate. The aircon was effective and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful but very slow to process check-ins. There is free internet in the hotel lobby and a free luggage store behind reception. There is a roof top bar but the drinks are very expensive (about £3.50 for a can of coke!) and a restaurant which I didn't try. Overall this was an ok place to stay, nothing special but not terrible either.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Merits
1. On the Bund itself, so one can go anytime, morning, evening, night.
2. Quite and peaceful
3. English speaking nice staff
4. Free internet
5. cheap
6. Shengen Development Bank at 200 mts for Foreign Exchange
7. East Nanjing Road metro at 900-1000 mts.

Cons
1. Not a happening place
2. No tours, rail ticketing facilities
3. Restaurant was closed when I went
4. 100 yuan deposit (refundable) for key

Overall a nice place to stay in Shanghai with value for money

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImDrMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

The place has basic, small double rooms. No english instructions for TV or AC. Quite noisy at night.
Most disturbing was the fact that there is no metro close.
At the desk they tell you the closest is Nanjing Road (30min walking) but actually it's Yuyuan Garden (20min walking).
No western food at included breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreddyandPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

My room had a window that didnt close and looked onto a restuarant's back alley full of noise and construction 24/7. I got no sleep whatsoever. I awoke one morning to giant welts on my face and upper body. The welts were from bed bugs that bit me during the night at this hostel. I immediately tried to check-out but the staff would not refund me for that day even though I had just paid 1 hour earlier. I ended up going to a nice hotel on the spot for the remainder of my trip in Shanghai. It took 8 days for the welts to disappear from my face and body. Unfortunately, there is no recourse for this type of thing in China let alone the US. I can only urge travelers that read this site to stay away because nothing is more disgusting than bed bugs. On a side note, the location was great......

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bakeursilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

basic room, basic service, not very comfortable, deposit required for room card key. no instruction for room services including use of t v in english.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flsaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No tuve ocasion de elegir. Mi habitacion daba a una calle muy estrecha, pero tranquila
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#183 of 5,161 in Shanghai
309 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Qipu Road
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai,Rock Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Art Hotel on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Art Hotel on the Bund

Address: No.7A Yan'an East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China (Formerly Zero Page Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 799 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range: $85 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 8 Art Hotel on the Bund 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an art hotel located right on the Bund. The hotel is designed in a art and friendly way, a perfect spot for uban travelers with great taste. On both 1st and 4th floor, western creative restaurants and bars brings creative cusine with local favors to you. We provide a complimentary drink for each room if book directly from us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 8 Art Hotel on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing