We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Business Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakwood Residence Shanghai
Ranked #64 of 318 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Menston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Business Stay”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights on business in a fully serviced one bedroomed apartment
New and fully equipped Western Style kitchen with washer/dryer
Nice alternative to the usual business hotel.
Very comfortable bed an lounge area with plenty of western TV channels.
Free and reliable wireless throughout hotel
Restaurant and Bar with breakfast area all well presented with western options.
Very well equipped fitness room with modern equipment.
All staff helpful and friendly
Would definitely stay there again next time in Shanghai
Direct access to 5 storey shopping mall and cinema and lots of eateries

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilY0rkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce T, Director of Sales at Oakwood Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are looking forward to seeing you again at Oakwood Residence Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
3
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed for a week and enjoyed all the services... fabulous new apartment , clean and comfy beds, Good food in the restaurant and staff was so friendly and helpful.
Linda in Front office was excellent... always sourced out what to shop where.
Everyone was so polite.
Will go back to it any day ...
The hotel is in a building which has a shopping mall with all the fancy stores.
V good restaurants in the mall too and reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Oakwood

Helpful?
2 Thank kalpijoshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce T, Director of Sales at Oakwood Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are looking forward to seeing you again at Oakwood Residence Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This serviced apartment is situated in a very strategic location and very convenience, MRT just 10min wallk away. Can easy get everything under the root without going far as right below the serviced apartment is a 5-stories mall. The apartment ambience is great as like a hotel, bed room is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Oakwood

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce T, Director of Sales at Oakwood Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your valued comments. We are looking forward to seeing you again at Oakwood Residence Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Tired of international business hotels for weeks in a row, then this is a good alternative. Nice studios or appartments with all the conveniences needed to enjoy a longer stay. Not an international business hotel, so don't expect big breakfast choice, large menu choice in the restaurant or exciting bar, but the studios/appartments are nice, balconny is nice for the evenings, staff is friendly and location is, for business, as good as any other business hotel location in Shanghai.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_Karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I was there for business trip for 8 days, we stayed in 2 bedroom apartment. The only drawback is the location that isn't in the best part of Shanghai however taxis. None of taxi drivers knew this apartment, especially its not an international hotel, however they do know Carrefour in Wuning Lu. Great for short term stay for alternatives to hotels, will definitely come back.

Pros: Spacious rooms, clean, comfy & modern. Great amenities, especially for laundry machine & dryer. Location surrounded with banks, fast food joint, Imago shopping centre & Carrefour.

Cons: Not the best location, a bit far from either Nanjing Lu, Xin Tian Di and Shanghai fair expo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire,UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Lived here for a year as a long-stay resident whilst on an assignment in Shanghai. The apartment was very spacious and comfortable (Oakwood beds are the best!), the staff polite and attentive (especially the general manager), and the gym a pleasure to use. Great views from panoramic windows. We liked the location very much - not right in the centre of town, but taxis in Shanghai are ubiquitous and very cheap, and there is a nearby Metro station with easy access. It is in a thriving Chinese (rather than expat) locality on a colourful main road with busy shops, a shopping mall with many varied restaurants, an attractive nearby creek and a park with a small lake where locals would meet throughout the day to practice Tai Chi and dancing,. There was also an old street nearby (off Dongxing Lu) for those interested in an insight into a more traditional Chinese way of life.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Oakwood

Helpful?
2 Thank CJ-and-EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JAKARTA
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Service apartments are excellent alternatives to full service hotels for business travellers as they often offer spacious and affordable accommodation at a fraction of the price. In my last trip to Shanghai, I stayed at the Ascott which I found quite pleasant.

This time, I have chosen the Oakwood Shanghai due to it’s proximity to our office location. We booked a two bedroom apartment for under RMB1,500++ including breakfast and internet which we thought is a good value. Oakwood, along with Frasers and Ascott are well renowned for high quality service apartments.


Arriving

I arrived at night and was a bit taken aback by the entrance. It’s rather small, tucked into a corner of a shopping mall. Only a lone bellboy was there to open the door. I checked in at the 5th floor, the so called “lobby” which is just a stand, with a small restaurant at the side. This is in stark contrast to the Ascott with it’s expansive lobby. This place has a very “motel” look.


The Apartment

In short, awful. It’s badly designed. The two bedrooms are very small, with the large bed taking up most of the space. The furniture in the apartment are bulky and ugly, and have seen better days despite the property still being new. The photos in the Oakwood website looks much nicer than the actual property really is.

The bathroom is ridiculous. There is no bathtub, only a walk-in shower. If one open the shower door, then there’s no space to use the vanity etc.. A couple will find this bathroom positively irritating.

There is a very small kitchen that feels claustrophobic. The kitchen is adequately equipped though but I can say cooking here is not going to be a pleasant experience due to the small space. The bedrooms are already small yet the hotel still try to squeeze in a small work desk. So one practically run out of space. If you work on the desk, the chair will either bang against the wall or the bedside. The so called “closet” is so small that you cannot even fit in a small luggage bag. The only space in the bedroom that I can put my luggage is the credensa that also house the TV. There is a washing machine and dryer that is tucked into, of all places, the bathroom. That means I cannot wash my clothes overnight without the washing machine making noise throughout the night.

There is no wireless internet. The wired internet requires a cryptic login userid and password that the apartment only provided if you asked for it. And it disconnects often.

To add more troubles, there is no soundproofing in the room. Despite being assigned an apartment at the highest floor ( 23rd floor ) and with all windows shut, I can hear every honking sound and traffic noise broadcasted loud and clear. Sounds also came through from neighboring units and above. That’s not all, a train station right outside the building add to the symphony of noise that is played throughout the night. You get the idea?


Service and Common Areas

There is no swimming pool or fitness centre. There is a small restaurant at the 5th floor which serve morning breakfast. Quality is bad and so are the selections. The egg omelet was cooked with so much oil that I felt positively nauseating afterwards.

Any service? Well, it is a serviced apartment operated at low cost, so what you expect? I counted not more than 4 staff at any time in the property throughout my entire 3-nights stay. One doorman at the entrance. One staff manning the reception desk. Two staff serving in the restaurant. That’s all. Want some detergent powder to wash your clothes? Sorry, we don’t provided. Need a heater because of the winter cold? Tough, we don’t provide. Need a cab? Sorry, we can’t help. Please go out and hail it yourself. And it’s a problem, because it is so remote, cabs don’t go there and one has to catch a taxi braving the cold. Staff here don’t do anything more than what’s absolutely required.


Conclusion

Any redeeming qualities? Well yes, the bed is quite comfortable. Other than that, I can’t think of anything good to say about this place. Not going to come back. The rates are cheaper than Ascott, but it is actually bad value for money for what it delivers. There are definitely better options out there.

2 out of 5, and nothing more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BENLEE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakwoodAsiaPacific, General Manager at Oakwood Residence Shanghai, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Ben

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your feedback and take it constructively to improve upon where we can. We have had a problem with the Internet system at the property and are working hard to rectify it, my apologies for any inconvenience caused. The breakfast quality is also something that I am personally focusing on and which will see an improvement in the next few weeks. As for the inadequate service of our associates, again I thank you for pointing this out, I apologize for the unsatisfactory experience and am committed that the whole team be retrained immediately!
As for the design of the property, we had built the apartments to best suit the physical resources. Our aim is to create an environment that is exclusive and tranquil, much like a private residence.
You have indeed provided me much to work on to improve our guest experience and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to have you as our guest again. Please feel free to contact me when you are in Shanghai again.

Sincerely, Peter Luca, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
THE ONE Executive Suites managed by Kempinski-Shanghai
Xintiandi
Fraser Residence Shanghai
Fraser Residence Shanghai
#1 of 318 in Shanghai
535 reviews
Jinqiao
Lanson Place Jin Qiao Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
New Harbour Service Apartments
Xujiahui
Shama Shanghai Xujiahui Serviced Apartment
Caoyang / Zhenru
Modena By Fraser Putuo Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Residence Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Residence Shanghai

Property: Oakwood Residence Shanghai
Address: No.103 Wuning Road, Shanghai 200063, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 318 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Residence Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Residence Shanghai is the first internationally managed serviced apartment on Wuning Road. With 112 spacious and comfortable apartments, the property is within close proximity to the Zhongshan Park Business District, which houses various multinational companies. The spacious and well appointed studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom units are ideal for both short and long term stays. A fitness center, residents' lounge, business center with meeting rooms and basement parking are just some of the facilities which will make one's stay more comfortable. With direct access to a shopping mall and an office tower, staying at the Oakwood Residence Shanghai complements your lifestyle and needs. Whether visiting Shanghai on business or leisure, our residents have an array of wellness, entertainment and dining establishments to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakwood Residence Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Residence Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing