We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High standard hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Ranked #18 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
148 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“High standard hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a week, was on business trip in shanghai. The hotel has a very high standard, the room is spacious and well-cleaned. The breakfast was great, had a lot of choices. The only strange thing was that I stayed on the 11th floor which is supposed to be non-smoking floor, but it smelled really smoky and one day two rooms were just open and I saw that people really smoke in there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank yanzhang85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Yanzhang85,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hotel.

Smoking is a concern all through China and we are continuously looking for the best solution to accommodate both smoking and non-smoking guests while enforcing the local bylaws.

I have shared your positive comments concerning room cleanliness and breakfast with the housekeeping team and culinary brigade.

Once again I appreciate you sharing your personal time to assist us in improving our guest experience. Please feel free to contact me personally on your next visit to Shanghai.

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    169
    36
    10
    3
See reviews for
38
36
22
330
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SF
Level Contributor
269 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Pros
It is a beautiful hotel by Marriott standards. As a platinum member we were upgraded to an executive room which was spacious and the bathroom using beautiful marble. Good work area in the room plus the bed is very comfortable. Under normal circumstances I would stay here again if in Shanghai. The staff were extremely polite and tried to help whenever asked.
The club room was very large and takes up the entire floor. Much like a first class lounge at an international airport. The club room food was very good compared to the usual Marriott standards. Both in breakfast and dinner snacks.
The main restaurant downstairs has one of the largest breakfast spreads as well as dinner buffet. Very reasonable for dinner at 128 yuan.
Cons:

We hit the hotel at a time when they were changing from AC to heat. The problem was that our room would not give off any AC so the room stayed overly warm. I could ask for a lower temperature but the system would not respond so the room stayed at 24 celsius. I asked for maintenance adjustment and over the two day period no less than three people came up to adjust the AC and claimed all good. Nothing happened except in the bathroom where the AC actually blew cold air. Best of all it also blew in cigarette smell as well. I got the front desk involved and finally got the right answer the AC had been turned off and why the main part of the room had zero air circulating. So we had to close the bathroom door so minimize the smell of stale cigarette blowing into our bedroom. It is suppose to be a non smoking room but this is questionable since we are in China. Until the hotel starts charging its guests a penalty for smoking in the room that will not change. As we were on the upper floor the heat rose so we got the brunt of it. They were booked solid to they could not move our room and even if they did I am not sure what difference it would have made. The front desk finally sent up a fan which really helped as long as we kept the bathroom door closed. We are moving on tomorrow so It is not worth it to continue to deal with the odor issue. Yuck right?

There is an almost empty mall next to the hotel. Lots of signs of places which "will" be there but right now they are just cardboard cutouts on the various levels. There are more malls a short cab ride away if you are interested. I decided to go to KFC for lunch one day in the mall and my problem is the entire menu was in chinese so it was difficult to place an order without pointing and I had to buy a package meal which I did not want.

Room Tip: Try not to get one where you smell cigarette smoke while in the room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear SFjoe,

Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay at the Marriott Changfeng Park Hotel, and for highlighting areas where we can improve.

Certainly we could have handled the AC issue more efficiently by giving you a fan on the first day. Smoking is a concern all through China and we are continuously looking for the best solution to accommodate both smoking and non-smoking guests while enforcing the local bylaws.

I will ensure your positive comments concerning the executive floor and the food quality is shared with the front office team and the culinary brigade.

I would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble of communicating your experience. Whilst of course never pleasant, it does assist me in seeing through the eyes of the guest and help establish immediate opportunities to implement any changes to the facilities and services offered.

Once again please accept my apologies for our shortcomings. I would like to thank you for your loyalty to Marriott Changfeng Park and hope this recent stay will not deter you from patronising the hotel on your next visit to Shanghai.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is my second time staying at this hotel. Unless you want or need to stay near the financial district at all times, this is a great place; especially if you have family with you. The rooms are large and the staff is extremely attentive. Using New York city for analogy, it is in Brooklyn and not Manhattan. The hotel is $2 US cab ride to the closest metro station, or a fifteen minutes walk. Eating at the hotel is very expensive if you compare to the outside options. The hotel restauants are fantastic but pricey. Unless you are on an expense account, the Parkside mall next to the hotel will provide good inexpensive options for meals. You definitely want to take a walk to the Parkside Mall next door to map out your meal options.

Room Tip: Facing the park will give you a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear John 1617,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I will share your positive thoughts about the restaurants with the entire F&B and culinary team.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai and once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a great place to stay IF you need to be in this location.

The rooms were large, newly renovated and more luxurious than I would have expected from a Marriott.

The breakfast buffet was on par from what I would have expected from a business hotel in China.

Overall, it was a surprisingly nice hotel in a mediocre location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiabei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Jiabei,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai and once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembdon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here in June for three night on two separate occasions for business. Loved the view from the panoramic bar. All the staff were really attentive. Great bedroom and bathroom. Found the window next to the bath quite strange but the blind helped. Health club facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Darren,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

Great to hear you enjoyed the fitness facilities. I fully understand how important it is to keep your exercise routines while travelling.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai and once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for 3 days! Hotel is new, exceptionally clean and impeccably maintained. Restaurant offered both western and Chinese cuisine - both very good. Rooms are large with a great soaker tub next with great view of city skyline. Security was very good as well.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear AaronVancouver,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I have taken the liberty to share your positive feedback pertaining to cleanliness, security and the restaurants with the entire team.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai and once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed there last month for four days, excellent service, beautiful property, great credit to staff.
Nothing was a problem, fantastic breakfast , very modern hotel, spacious rooms, with excellent views from panoramic windows.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Michael W,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

It is a great feeling for me to share such positive feedback with the entire hotel team.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai and once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#19 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
#13 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Address: No.158 Daduhe Road,Putuo District, Shanghai 200062, China (Formerly Shanghai Marriott Hotel Changfeng Park)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changfeng Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park is located at the Changfeng Ecology Commercial District in west Shanghai, facing the picturesque Changfeng Park and Suzhou River. It is well positioned, neighboring the Shanghai Convention & Exhibition Center of International Sourcing and the internationally renowned National Exhibition and Convention Center (NECC). The hotel is also adjacent to Changfeng Parkside Plaza, one of the largest shopping malls in west Shanghai. The hotel is easily accessible, located just a 15-minute drive from the Hongqiao Integrated Transportation Hub, which houses the Hongqiao International Airport, Hongqiao Railway Station and Bus Station. The property's 501 spacious guestrooms boast scenic views of either the Changfeng Park or Suzhou Creek. Each guestroom features a full array of modern amenities such as a full-size executive writing desk, flat-screen TV, JW Marriott's plush signature bedding and signature bath amenity line from partner Aromatherapy Associates. The JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park has six world-class restaurants including the newly renovated Park Cafe, Sakitori and The Lobby Lounge, providing versatile and unique culinary experiences. Park Cafe is an enticing all-day dining restaurant that features healthy and delicious international cuisine. Japanese restaurant Sakitori offers authentic fare prepared by Japanese native chefs while The Lobby Lounge brings classic high tea experience and a treat of stylish delicacies. Upscale Chinese restaurant Pearl offers authentic Cantonese and local Shanghai cuisine while DOME Steak and Wine brings quality steaks that will rival the best in town. Finally Panorama Bar, located at the top floor, offers a wide selection of wines, whisky and cigars. The hotel offers more than 1,500 square meters of multi-function event space featuring the state-of-the-art technologies and facilities. Venues include a 770-square meter Grand Ballroom and 13 individual function rooms equipped with wireless high-speed internet access and an LED wall. In addition, the hotel boasts a versatile area that can be turned into an assembly point for MICE guests, group check-in desk, or even a venue for coffee breaks and cocktail receptions, providing great flexibility for guests. The hotel's "Quan" Spa offers Asian, Mediterranean and western spa treatments. Other facilities include an indoor swimming pool, as well as a health club with a comprehensive fitness center, sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing