We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a mediocre location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Ranked #23 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a mediocre location”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a great place to stay IF you need to be in this location.

The rooms were large, newly renovated and more luxurious than I would have expected from a Marriott.

The breakfast buffet was on par from what I would have expected from a business hotel in China.

Overall, it was a surprisingly nice hotel in a mediocre location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiabei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Jiabei,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai and once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    174
    39
    10
    4
See reviews for
42
37
23
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wembdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here in June for three night on two separate occasions for business. Loved the view from the panoramic bar. All the staff were really attentive. Great bedroom and bathroom. Found the window next to the bath quite strange but the blind helped. Health club facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Darren,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

Great to hear you enjoyed the fitness facilities. I fully understand how important it is to keep your exercise routines while travelling.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai and once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for 3 days! Hotel is new, exceptionally clean and impeccably maintained. Restaurant offered both western and Chinese cuisine - both very good. Rooms are large with a great soaker tub next with great view of city skyline. Security was very good as well.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear AaronVancouver,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I have taken the liberty to share your positive feedback pertaining to cleanliness, security and the restaurants with the entire team.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai and once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed there last month for four days, excellent service, beautiful property, great credit to staff.
Nothing was a problem, fantastic breakfast , very modern hotel, spacious rooms, with excellent views from panoramic windows.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Michael W,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

It is a great feeling for me to share such positive feedback with the entire hotel team.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai and once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel staff should be applauded for their professional attention to making the stay very enjoyable. The executive lounge is a perfect place to start and end your day.. The wide windows allows you to see how large Shanghai is. The hotel is not located near the subway, thou cab rides are sooooo cheap. I would of liked better restaurant options outside the hotel property. I can not say enough how welcoming the staff is..

Room Tip: middle of the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bear2336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Bear2336,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I am pleased you enjoyed the executive lounge and I agree with you that the view from the 31st floor is spectacular. I am also pleased you found our associates so welcoming.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai and once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

the hotel is beautiful FO staff very helpfull. breakfast buffet has virtually every part of the world covered. great mattress and pillows, should be able to adjust room temperature to personnal taste. impossible. sadly would point finger at small nagging points. awful tv reception for some channels while HD quality on others. had a smoking room, upon checkin found box of matches with only 2 sticks in it, tea/coffee poor stock 1 coffee sachet and 2 tea bags. coffee machine would not work and worst of all stayed 2 nights NO replenishment of sachets. room 823, magic eye in wardrobe needs to be adjusted, small points but when you have Marriott flag, you don t expect to have those

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 1jpld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear 1jpld,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

Whilst always difficult to hear I am pleased that you pointed out areas in need of improvement. It is only through customer feedback, both positive and negative that we can further develop our services. I will be sure to pass your positive comments to the front office team and the culinary brigade.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai and once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I just spent 3 business days of best service in this top class hotel. Along with my other delegates had stayed for first time a five start accomdation and other facil;ities was attaracted me very much.It was very comfortable and pleasant stay throughout my trip. Thanks

Room Tip: Excellent Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbalajibabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottCFPark, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear mbalajibabu,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts on your recent stay. The business world continually pulls us in all directions and I appreciate you taking some of your “premium personal time” to communicate your experience.

I am pleased we were able to offer you and your colleagues a true 5 star experience.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit to Shanghai and once again thank you for your valuable comments which will assist us to continue to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Best Regards,

Bruce Dupuis
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#20 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Address: No.158 Daduhe Road,Putuo District, Shanghai 200062, China (Formerly Shanghai Marriott Hotel Changfeng Park)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Changfeng Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park is located at the Changfeng Ecology Commercial District in west Shanghai, facing the picturesque Changfeng Park and Suzhou River. It is well positioned, neighboring the Shanghai Convention & Exhibition Center of International Sourcing and the internationally renowned National Exhibition and Convention Center (NECC). The hotel is also adjacent to Changfeng Parkside Plaza, one of the largest shopping malls in west Shanghai. The hotel is easily accessible, located just a 15-minute drive from the Hongqiao Integrated Transportation Hub, which houses the Hongqiao International Airport, Hongqiao Railway Station and Bus Station. The property's 501 spacious guestrooms boast scenic views of either the Changfeng Park or Suzhou Creek. Each guestroom features a full array of modern amenities such as a full-size executive writing desk, flat-screen TV, JW Marriott's plush signature bedding and signature bath amenity line from partner Aromatherapy Associates. The JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park has six world-class restaurants including the newly renovated Park Cafe, Sakitori and The Lobby Lounge, providing versatile and unique culinary experiences. Park Cafe is an enticing all-day dining restaurant that features healthy and delicious international cuisine. Japanese restaurant Sakitori offers authentic fare prepared by Japanese native chefs while The Lobby Lounge brings classic high tea experience and a treat of stylish delicacies. Upscale Chinese restaurant Pearl offers authentic Cantonese and local Shanghai cuisine while DOME Steak and Wine brings quality steaks that will rival the best in town. Finally Panorama Bar, located at the top floor, offers a wide selection of wines, whisky and cigars. The hotel offers more than 1,500 square meters of multi-function event space featuring the state-of-the-art technologies and facilities. Venues include a 770-square meter Grand Ballroom and 13 individual function rooms equipped with wireless high-speed internet access and an LED wall. In addition, the hotel boasts a versatile area that can be turned into an assembly point for MICE guests, group check-in desk, or even a venue for coffee breaks and cocktail receptions, providing great flexibility for guests. The hotel's "Quan" Spa offers Asian, Mediterranean and western spa treatments. Other facilities include an indoor swimming pool, as well as a health club with a comprehensive fitness center, sauna, Jacuzzi and steam bath facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing