We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Ranked #2 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Some minor problems:
On one day room service was really late (at about 2pm). We came in and wanted to relax for one hour before going out again and room service was in full swing. Besides we could watch that the cups were washed in the bassin of the bath. After watching that I did not want to use a cup any more.
The drinks in "Flair" are not the best. I ordered a "Singapore Sling" and could not taste any alcohol at all. The the prices are really high. I mentioned it to the waiter but I think he did not understand the problem.
On our last day we have to leave very early to catch a flight. The restaurant for breakfast was closed at this time so we could not have breakfast there. Because we had an arrangement which included breakfast we asked if we could have in-room breakfast. Yes, we could have one but we had to pay the full price for in-room dining. It was the first time I experienced that kind of service. Because we do not want to pay twice we left hungry.
But overall a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraDuisburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,590)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2010

My husband was in Shanghai on business for a few days and I tagged along. We were in Shanghai one other time in 2005 and stayed at the other Ritz Carlton (Portman) and also the Grand Hyatt. All the hotels in Asia have amazing service and this new Ritz Carlton did NOT disappoint in any way. The location in Pudong is fabulous and much preferable to the Portman Ritz Carlton. We found that Pudong has grown considerably since 2005 and there were many nearby restaurants, shops, and interesting sightseeing spots. It is very convenient for getting downtown and to the Bund; also the walkway along the river on the Pudong side is very nice too. We found the Pudong location to be a little less crowded and less busy than the Portman. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite on the Club floor (48th) and our room had an amazing view of the Pearl, the river, and downtown beyond. The suite itself was extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated with a state of the art bathroom which was open to the room so you could still enjoy the incredible view from the bathroom (or watch t.v. on the screen mounted within the mirror). We had a separate sitting room and a large bedroom with king bed. The bed was incredibly comfortable so getting over jet lag was not a problem. We didn't get a chance to eat in the club lounge until our last day because we were meeting other people for most of our meals. The breakfast in the club lounge was beautifully prepared with many choices on the buffet. We ate breakfast twice and lunch once and dinner once in Scena (on the 52nd floor) - very good! We had a very nice Chinese dinner in Jin Xuan (53rd floor) and our server was extremely friendly and helfpul. She helped us to select some very good and unusual dishes. The highlight of the hotel was the outdoor bar on the 58th floor, called Flair. It was absolutely amazing! The view from up there is stunning and although it was quite cool outside, we were toasty sitting by heaters. I wouldn't have missed that for anything. It was much better than the bar on the 88th floor of the Grand Hyatt. We looked inside at the restaurant and it looked pretty amazing too but we already had dinner reservations elsewhere.
The other thing that we really enjoyed at this hotel was the fitness centre and pool on the 53rd floor. The fitness centre is open 24hrs which was great when we were waking up at 4:30am the first few days. There were lots of machines and an attendant to help with anything. After working out, we enjoyed take-out lattes from Aroma - a little coffee bistro in the lobby on the 1st floor.
Under the hotel is a very upscale shopping centre. It's new and still has some spaces to fill but the stores that are there are very chic and expensive and not many people shopping. There is another shopping centre across the street , called Super Brand Mall, with lots of more reasonable stores. To go anywhere else, you really need to take a taxi. Downtown is not too far away and you can take the pedestrian tunnel under the river but it's still quite a walk. I liked this location because the hotel offers lots of things to do and places to eat and shopping nearby without having to take a taxi (which can be quite intimidating if you are alone). The other wife in our group arrived the day before me and spent her first day enjoying the hotel spa because she was too nervous to go out alone. She said it was great.
The concierges on the club floor are all young Chinese women with perfect manners and such good customer service skills. They were so helpful in getting us reservations and suggesting good restaurants and places to go shopping, etc. And they were very fun to deal with - lots of personality.
In conclusion, this is a fabulous hotel and I would recommend it to anyone and I would love to go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0lym0ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

The Italian Restaurant is very "New York" Style.
The food was very good and so was the service. The best thing about the restaurant is probably the view. The hotel faces the bund and its probably the best place to view it in Shanghai.
I look forward to visit more of the restaurants in the hotel to post reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattchen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The hotel overall is great, if you like this style of hotel, it delivers on the Ritz Carlton promise ... but my entire experience was ruined when meeting friends for a cocktail at Flair - An amazing roof top bar with spectacular views ... BUT being harshly told as we exited the lifts that to sit on the terrace there is a minm 350rmb per person charge i thought (a) that is no way to greet a customer and (b) 350rmb is outrageous -- that is 3 martinis!!!! -- i understand the need to charge a minm per head charge, but be reasonable with this, not irresponsible, as this only encourages more drinking or forcing the hand of customers to buy only top shelf (i would guess most people would be pretty drunk after 3 martinis!)
Please get your act together ... needless to say we left the building plus there was only 2 other tables out on the terrace!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thomas_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I recently spent ten nights at this shiny new hotel on a combination business/leisure trip and it really was an excellent experience. I was initially a bit worried about booking in since I knew they had only recently opened but everything seemed to be fine-tuned to perfection (except for the "vitality jacuzzi" which was closed for repairs).

The views from everywhere are stunning! The river and the Bund sparkled at night from our room, the lobby lounge and the Italian restaurant. Flair, the rooftop bar, is a perfect place to relax both at sunset and after dark when it seems you can almost reach out and touch the landmark Oriental Tower with all of Shanghai laid out below you (and I recommend the sushi if you're ordering food with your drinks).

The staff were in top form and always greeted us by name when we returned from outside. In fact, I've stayed in several Ritz-Carlton's in China and I think the staff here were even better than the other properties when it came to friendliness and professionalism. They truly seemed to anticipate every need.

The rooms were roomy with an art-deco designed bathtub that was surprisingly comfortable. No Star World english tv channel, unfortunately, but they had the other standard ones including all of the movie options.

Overall, a stunningly designed hotel in a fantastic location with staff and service to match. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afternoonguy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

It's a great new hotel, you must try. I like the disign, very unique, mordern and comfortable. The Deluxe room with Bund view is well designed, high-tech, especially with Bose wave system. For me, I could play my own music from my iphone, so call personlized service. The staff are professional and warm, Excellent service. I attenend the meeting in Ballroom, ballroom design is also great, service and food quality are just excellent. Also another must try is their rooft top bar, the view of outdoor setas just amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N12M30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Good design for ballroom, restaurants especially Flair bar
Excellent service provided by hotel staff. You could not imagine this hotel only opened at the end of June (less than 3 months)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank june_ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#30 of 5,111 in Shanghai
2,382 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,111 in Shanghai
2,007 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong

Address: No.8 Century Avenue, Lujiazui, Pudong New Area | Shanghai IFC, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#2 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#188 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $303 - $747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the heart of Shanghai’s financial district and offering sweeping views across vibrant Huangpu River and historical Bund, The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong’s guarantees guests a memorable experience and an unforgettable Shanghai visit. Situated on the upper floors of a stylish 58-floor tower in Lujiazui at the very heart of modern Shanghai’s commercial center, the 5-star luxury hotel occupies a prime location with stunning views of the iconic Oriental Pearl Tower, overlooks The Bund and is just minutes from the historic Yu Gardens. The hotel’s location also affords rapid access to both Hongqiao International Airport and Pudong International Airport. A thriving business and retail center, Shanghai ifc mall above which the hotel is located provides access to some of Shanghai’s very best upscale shopping. Designed in elegant Art Deco style, the air-conditioned rooms come with large windows and a flat-screen TV. Modern comforts include a Blu-Ray DVD player, BOSE sound systems and Nespresso coffee maker. Club rooms also include access to 24-hour Club Lounge, where guest can enjoy 5 exquisite food and beverage presentations daily. The Ritz-Carlton Spa features a 24-hour gym, indoor swimming pool, relaxing massage treatments and a dry sauna. The hotel also conveniently provides a business centre, 24-hour room service and a 24-hour front desk. Scena Restaurant serves Italian dishes, while the Michelin-starred Jin Xuan Restaurant offers fine Cantonese dining. Other dining options include Flair, the highest rooftop restaurant & bar in China, and afternoon tea at Aura Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing