We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh what a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Ranked #2 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a fabulous hotel. Take the Express Lift to the 52nd floor just to check in. Take another lift to room.
Our suite overlooked the Bund. This is true world class. Lying on the day bed watching the lightshow. Can it get better? Only with great difficulties.
Executive Lounge had a good selection of food and drink, service ranged from very attentive to at times "Chinese" - meaning Western trained staff weren`t available and the Chinese tried very hard to deliver service, but not always got it right. For me it added to the charm and wasn`t inconvenience, but I can imagine that not everyone sees it that way ... especially considering the room rate.
Suite had a stand alone bath, floor to ceiling windows, fast & free internet, very clean, bed with bedding very outstanding and excellent Asprey bathroom products.

The infinity pool promises more than it delivers. Yes - it is on the 54th floor, but it feels more like a pool in a room with steamed up windows, rather than an infinity pool overlooking Shanghai. There was also a little bit of green mould on some tiles in a small area. Nevertheless, still very impressive to able to have a swim and jacuzzi high up a building.

It is a very good hotel, but not yet in the same league as the InterContinental Hong Kong or Mount Nelson in Cape Town. One can sense the hotel has aspirations and a good chance to be one day in the top league of world class hotels.

Room Tip: Book "Bund View" and/or access to the executive lounge (which has Bund view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pro-Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 948 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Pluses:-

Superb view from the room, the restaurants even the pool
staff are efficient

Minuses:-

I can't help feeling that the hotel has lost its edge
even though the rooms are nice and non smoking rooms were set aside for us, there was a strong smell of smoke last night in the corridor
the lobby has a feeling of being crowded with tourists

Room Tip: insist over and over ago on non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSF G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Ritz Pudong had the reputation for being one of the finest Ritz-Carlton's in all the world, and I would have to agree! The view from the room on a high floor was dramatic to say the least, and I was pleasantly surprised to find one of the best hotel gyms anywhere.

The hotel overall has a newness to it, and the lounge/bar on the 52nd floor reminded me a lot of the Mandarin Oriental in New York City. Perfect if meeting for business or with friends.

Definitely this Ritz is fancy and as upmarket as they come, perfect for a night or two in the center of Shanghai. Wait staff in the restaurant were very friendly. As with all Ritz-Carlton's, the service throughout the hotel was thorough.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneeGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights.
The rooms like most Chinese 5 star hotels are amazing, brand new (especially compared to Europe and USA) and huge.
The staff service is really not up to par for a Ritz.
We were given twin beds even though we had asked for a King. It took twenty minutes to be resolved while we were standing in the corridor.
The breakfast buffet was also poor- like many Chinese hotels- it serves almost a full meal including cooked vegetables, sushi, meats, cheese. But it neglected a wider range of more authentic Chinese food like soya milk, fritter dough that are considered 'cheap' but we like!
The swimming pool was nice and had an amazing view.
Overall- a nice hotel, though service could be improved.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JN19822013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I must say that this is the Ultimate 5 star hotel that is beyond expectation. The website said that it is a placed that is desired to pamper and please. It definitely made my busy weekend visit worthwhile. After a day of business meetings and seminars, going home to my suite is what I look forward to every single night. I even didn’t want to go out Saturday night because I wanted to get a feel of the entire huge suite. The window view gave me the entirety of Shanghai. The next morning I wanted to go on for a swim and was amazed by the scenery overlooking the pool, the perfect swimming view. I only have good words for the Ritz-Carlton. The place is absolutely world class.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton is an impressive hotel, next to a luxury mall and in the middle of the CBD in Shanghai. It is brand new, with the lobby on 52nd floor and the rooms on the 20 or so floors below the lobby.

The check-in was smooth, I had forgotten my credit card and the excellent staff helped in a situation outside the normal.

Pros
High floors, excellent service, nice restaurants, new and tasteful decor, excellent location for business (although perhaps less so for going out at night, as Pudong gets a bit deserted).

And free Internet (I hate to pay for that, at the room rates of these top end business hotels)!

Cons
Expensive, value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel service is absolutely perfect - we were in the evening always welcome with dim lighting in our room, that morning there was at least one daily newspaper free, etc. Our room was huge and had a view of the Strip, the bathroom was royally equipped. All hotel staff met the guests courteous and helpful, no criticism at this point.excellent impression.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrittanyExcort S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#34 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Hotel Shanghai at Pudong
Lujiazui
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong

Address: No.8 Century Avenue, Lujiazui, Pudong New Area | Shanghai IFC, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#182 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $284 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the heart of Shanghai’s financial district and offering sweeping views across vibrant Huangpu River and historical Bund, The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong’s guarantees guests a memorable experience and an unforgettable Shanghai visit. Situated on the upper floors of a stylish 58-floor tower in Lujiazui at the very heart of modern Shanghai’s commercial center, the 5-star luxury hotel occupies a prime location with stunning views of the iconic Oriental Pearl Tower, overlooks The Bund and is just minutes from the historic Yu Gardens. The hotel’s location also affords rapid access to both Hongqiao International Airport and Pudong International Airport. A thriving business and retail center, Shanghai ifc mall above which the hotel is located provides access to some of Shanghai’s very best upscale shopping. Designed in elegant Art Deco style, the air-conditioned rooms come with large windows and a flat-screen TV. Modern comforts include a Blu-Ray DVD player, BOSE sound systems and Nespresso coffee maker. Club rooms also include access to 24-hour Club Lounge, where guest can enjoy 5 exquisite food and beverage presentations daily. The Ritz-Carlton Spa features a 24-hour gym, indoor swimming pool, relaxing massage treatments and a dry sauna. The hotel also conveniently provides a business centre, 24-hour room service and a 24-hour front desk. Scena Restaurant serves Italian dishes, while the Michelin-starred Jin Xuan Restaurant offers fine Cantonese dining. Other dining options include Flair, the highest rooftop restaurant & bar in China, and afternoon tea at Aura Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing