We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Opulent but comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Ranked #2 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Opulent but comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

As one would expect, this Ritz is of a very high standard. Our room was on the 48 th floor with a breathtaking view of Shanghai, the tower and the river. The room was very large and well laid out with a luxurious mirrored bathing area that included a deep shower and a stand alone soaking bath which I made use of after walking around many of the sites. The whole area could be cordoned off by closing a screen. The bed was very comfortable and no detail was spared to make the room very cosy. A wonderful first experience staying in Shanghai.
On the top floor there is a wonderful dining/bar area that is open to the outside and allows you to take in the breathtaking views day and night. I would definitely go back again to the Ritz!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    158
    37
    9
    4
See reviews for
94
153
48
459
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I haven't stayed at the hotel, but I've done the high tea at Aura three times. It's one of my favorite in Shanghai; the view is absolutely the best! Unfortunately you have to go very early to secure a table at a window otherwise you are stuck waiting for one. The trays of goodies are excellent quality of food (at some of them, the food looks nice but is average at best) and it's one of the only ones where my friends and I demolish every bit. The service isn't totally amazing; we found you have to wave the servers down if you need something. Also, the Christmas tea wasn't as good as the regular high tea, which was a little disappointing as the option to order the regular one wasn't there. Overall - it is the place where we take our guests for a view and an afternoon of "playing ladies."

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family-M-of-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Raphael - Manager your are the best. Thank you for taking good care of my group in June. The bedroom we fabulous beautiful contemporary yet Chinese inspired. Views were amazing overlooking the bund. Service from the housekeeping to frontdesk and Concierge was 1st Class.
All our meal experience we wonderful and the Club Lounge was great too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinePKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duesseldorf
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Loved this places, especially the creative arrangement in the room, including the bath tub in the middle of the living room, the great arrangement of sweets, snacks as a welcome gift, the fascinating pool on the top floor and being able to have breakfast eye-in-eye with the Shanghai TV tower .... very very impressive. I will be back.

Room Tip: Facing the TV tower and the river. High up floor. The view is simply amongst the most breath-taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldofpeterpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

You get to see how big the city of Shanghai is, only from a high-rise tower. Ritz Carlton occupying the top floors of IFC is the best hotel to enjoy Shanghai skyline. My bund view suite was regal & huge, and the view mind blowing.
The location was perfect as the Super Brand & IFC malls are nearby.

Flair bar on 58th floor is one of the best spots for sundown cocktails in Shanghai.
This hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Bund view Room / Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BONYGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Ritz Carlton Shanghai is amazing. From the moment you step up to Reception until the day you leave, you are treated royally. Our accommodation was exceptional. The mattress extremely comfortable; the bathroom a statement in marble and glass, first class amenities, hotel restaurant excellent. Our room was quiet, clean, comfortable. I can't say enough good things about the high standard of the Ritz Carlton. It was an oasis of comfort following a hectic day of touring around the city. What did I like least? Its hard to say....I can't think of anything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray-the-Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed in a suite, but was pretty small compared to what I was expecting for the price. I've stayed in similarly priced suites that were much larger. Maybe it was just the room I was in.

Positives:
Club lounge and food there
Service from staff
Comfortable bed
Giant bathroom

Negatives:
Suite room was a little smaller than I was expecting

I titled this review "an oasis" because it really does separate you from the mess that is Shanghai 40-50 stories below you. After a day around the city, coming back to this was a nice way to rewind, relax, and separate yourself from the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEveningPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#5 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#14 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 2,015 reviews
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Address: No.8 Century Avenue, Lujiazui, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#2 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#180 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong offers a business and leisure destination like no other in Shanghai. Situated on the upper floors of a stylish 58-floor tower in Lujiazui at the very heart of modern Shanghai’s commercial center, the hotel occupies a prime location with stunning views of the iconic Oriental Pearl Tower, overlooks The Bund and is just minutes from the historic Yu Gardens. The hotel’s location also affords rapid access to both Hongqiao International Airport and Pudong International Airport. A thriving business and retail center, Lujiazui is home to the Shanghai Stock Exchange at the heart of China’s modern economy, and the Shanghai ifc mall above which the hotel is located provides access to some of Shanghai’s very best upscale shopping. The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong’s outstanding location and the renowned legendary service promise a memorable guest experience at the heart of Shanghai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing