We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Nearby Hotels
$188
$113
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$436
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$300
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$116
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$162
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$231
$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$134
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,880)
Filter reviews
1,880 results
Traveler rating
1,563
231
57
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,563
231
57
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest recognitionifc mallflair barthe club loungerooftop barthe pearlspecial thanksbund viewtv towerhuangpu riverthe financial districtamazing hotelbusiness tripart decochinese restauranthotel staffsirena
Filter
Updating list...
1,072 - 1,077 of 1,880 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Ok, I did not actually stay at the hotel because I have a friend's place in Shanghai, but this is the only place I can find to write a review for the marvelous Aura jazz bar. My friends and I arrived about 30 min. before they opened, were invited right in, given seats of our choice and menus immediately. We were not made to feel anything but welcome. This is the best view of Shanghai I saw in my short stay and I can't imagine anything that could compare to it. The coffee was excellent, and the lunch was delicious. I recommend the burger. Atmosphere in the place was breathtaking. The service was fine, but if I could criticize anything it would be the fact that no one came to check on us at any time during our brunch. I truly didn't mind, though, because it was not hard to find someone to ask for whatever I needed and there was little to no wait time to
get it. I could have spent all day here at Aura.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCPD, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for your valuable comments. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had. We would very much like to connect with you directly to further understand your experience. If you can kindly let us know of your contact details, that would be most appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here as part of a stay cation with a couple of friends. The hotel is amazing in all aspects apart from check in (I had to wait 20 minutes for my room to be ready at 3:30pm, I feel it should have been ready at this time as check in was 2pm). However, after that everything was 'top notch'! The room over looked the Bund and had a side view of the Pearl Tower. The actual room was perfect. It had 2 double beds so if you were travelling with 2 children you would be fine. The deco was luxurious and opulent. The bathroom was well equipped and followed on the opulent theme. It had a huge bath that faced the window so you could have a soak and look at the wonderful view. Everything about the room was amazing. We asked for extra water and they brought it quickly and brought more than we had asked for. All the staffs were very friendly and helpful and had been well trained in customer service. The location of the hotel is another great feature as it is directly above The IFC mall and next to Super Brand Mall so you can get your shopping fix there and also eat there if you want. The Metro line 2 is also very near by 5-10 minute walk. In the evening we visited the roof top bar which over looks the Pearl Tower. This is well worth a visit. We visited the gorgeous 53rd floor infinity pool in the morning and had it to ourselves. The water was chilly but the great view made up for it. This is a very very nice hotel and is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in Shanghai. Great stay for sure recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anafonitria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCPD, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you very much for letting us know your positive feedback during your stay with us. The ladies and gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Its centrally located and if you have not been to The Ritz, you have not seen Shanghai. A lifetime experience which gives you the peace of mind, be it for business or leisure. Its simply cool, pleasant, exhilarating, place for comfort and enjoyment with its diverse range of food outlets. Visiting the Aura Bar offers a breathtaking view of The Bund. An unforgettable moment to cherish.

Room Tip: Room on the higher floor facing The Bund
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffreyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCPD, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you very much for letting us know your positive feedback during your stay with us. The ladies and gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for business, on short notice. The rooms were clean and huge. Very nice bathroom with an unbelievable bath and shower...perfect after a 15 hour flight. The executive lounge was very nice and the morning buffet had plenty of choices. Was in a smoking room, but hard to tell.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCPD, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you very much for letting us know your positive feedback during your stay with us. The ladies and gentlemen of The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed in Ritz, Pudong few years ago and the experience was good but it appears that the service standard has dropped. I have a high expectation of the hotel but the overall experience of my recent stay is below my expectation. I stay here for 5 days and I observed the following:
1. the bellboys are not very attentive
2. the cleanliness of the room is average and the room seems to be worn out. Mildew is found in the tiles of the shower/ bath unit, which is not acceptable (see pictures below)
3. the equipment of the gym is not cleaned immediately after use.
4. Staff's attention to hotel guests is average

I hope Ritz will resume its high standard.

Room Tip: I stayed in a corner room with a view of the Bund (Puxi).
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichieShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RCPD, Public Relations Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for your valuable comments. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had. We would very much like to connect with you directly to further understand your experience. If you can kindly let us know of your contact details, that would be most appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews