We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect second stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Ranked #2 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect second stay”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is still a great hotel! Since my last stay, the already excellent service has gotten even better with a few of the staff even remembering me by name from last time.

The highlight of my trip this time was Flair, their rooftop bar on the 58th floor. I went there with my colleagues after a long day of meetings and we had the best time. The view of the Bund was spectacular from the outdoor terrace and we were extremely lucky with the perfect weather. The service was some of the best I have ever experienced and the staff were really friendly and attentive, even on a very busy night. We all enjoyed our time there and I visited the bar several more times during my stay.

My only (small) complaints would be that the bedside panel lights are still way too bright and that my non-smoking room smelled faintly of cigarette smoke upon check-in. Other than that, everything else was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afternoonguy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    193
    46
    11
    11
See reviews for
157
223
78
650
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Absolutely stunning design from the fish skin elevator panels to the bathroom soap that look like gold bars. This hotel is opulent and over-the-top without being tacky or being traditional. The staff, from reception to restaurant waiters, were very conscientious. I even heard one of the Chinese bellhops making conversation -- in Spanish -- with some people who were checking in. All around a wonderful stay... this is my new favorite in Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFHumblePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Our 2 nights stop in Shanghai was the last in China before going back home.. and it was the best hotel ever we have experienced. It's a truly beautiful hotel, art déco style, our deluxe suite was gorgeous, with a perfect view on the Bond, and the bathroom was incredible. Everything was pure luxury.
We enjoyed the Club for breakfasts and happy hours, food and service there was excellent.
we had diners at Scena ( italian ) and Jin Xuan ( cantonese), both were very good with a special mention to the wine sommelier of Scena, Julien, who was very kind and effective.
It's really a beautiful place to stay...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
222 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed for a weeked getaway from our Shanghai home, booked on club floor and enjoyed drinks and snacks. Friendly staff, let our children come for lunch in the club and swim without trying to charge extra. Late check out no problem either. Had an issue with some money that we thought had gone missing, dealt with very professionally and it turned out my wife had misplaced it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Safemach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had a great time dining at the Italian restaurant, service and food great, taking good care of the kids. Unique is the 180+ view from restaurant and outdoor lounge on 58th floor. All our guests were very impressed. A must during a good weather day with clear view conditions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The Ritz Carlton is one of the best hotels I have stayed in during my several trips to Shanghai since 2007. If you don't like heights, beware since this hotel is located on the top 18 floors of the Shanghai ifc South Tower, a 58 floor skyscraper in the Pudong area of Shanghai. I was upgraded to the club level and was very impressed with the club lounge located on the 49th floor complete with drinks, snacks plus the ability to order from the bar menu. In my opinion, the Flair restaurant and bar is a must see. Located on the top floor with an open-air seating area it offer excellent views of the Bund and Pudong area. I found the service to be of the high standard of other Ritz Carlton hotels around the world. If you get the opportunity to stay here I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try the Club Level or lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmhalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, OR
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I have recently been disappointed by Ritz service but did book here based on other reviews and want to thank those reviewers! This hotel is not only beautiful but the service is over the top. Arriving at the airport they had one person waiting for us outside baggage who took us to a waiting car. When we arrived at the hotel everyone knew our name took our luggage and we went directly to our beautiful doom, no lobby check in. He breakfast buffet was the best we experienced on our trip. The Chinese restaurant was delightful. My only hesitation is location based on what you want to experience. While there is a nice high end mall next to the hotel, if you want to walk and shop the hotels on the Bund are more convenient.

I do wish the Ritz in other location would still offer this level of service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
Four Seasons Shanghai Pudong
#3 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong
Address: No.8 Century Avenue, Lujiazui, Pudong New Area | Shanghai IFC, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#2 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#6 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#8 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#181 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the heart of Shanghai’s financial district and offering sweeping views across vibrant Huangpu River and historical Bund, The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong’s guarantees guests a memorable experience and an unforgettable Shanghai visit. Situated on the upper floors of a stylish 58-floor tower in Lujiazui at the very heart of modern Shanghai’s commercial center, the 5-star luxury hotel occupies a prime location with stunning views of the iconic Oriental Pearl Tower, overlooks The Bund and is just minutes from the historic Yu Gardens. The hotel’s location also affords rapid access to both Hongqiao International Airport and Pudong International Airport. A thriving business and retail center, Shanghai ifc mall above which the hotel is located provides access to some of Shanghai’s very best upscale shopping. Designed in elegant Art Deco style, the air-conditioned rooms come with large windows and a flat-screen TV. Modern comforts include a Blu-Ray DVD player, BOSE sound systems and Nespresso coffee maker. Club rooms also include access to 24-hour Club Lounge, where guest can enjoy 5 exquisite food and beverage presentations daily. The Ritz-Carlton Spa features a 24-hour gym, indoor swimming pool, relaxing massage treatments and a dry sauna. The hotel also conveniently provides a business centre, 24-hour room service and a 24-hour front desk. Scena Restaurant serves Italian dishes, while the Michelin-starred Jin Xuan Restaurant offers fine Cantonese dining. Other dining options include Flair, the highest rooftop restaurant & bar in China, and afternoon tea at Aura Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai, Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing