We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home from home in shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai
Ranked #5 of 661 Shanghai B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful home from home in shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Had a fantastic 3 night stay here in Sept 2012. Jessie the manager and the housekeeper went the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible, including getting up ay 4am to make us a packed lunch for our early flight.
On the other mornings it was wonderful waking up in our large comfortable bed to the smell of our bacon and eggs cooking, going downstairs and sitting by the window to watch the world go past as we sipped our nespressos and savoured our breakfast. The WiFi was good and strong, and Jessie responded quickly to any questions we had via email. The stylish accommodation is in a 1930s period house in the former French concession, an ideal location for wandering around the shops and bars. All in all the perfect place to stay in shanghai.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatkathydid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    30
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
47
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

b4 my trip, i was choosing between this and another B&B which had an extremely good deal. it was a tough choice but i finally decided on magnolia becos the french concession area appealed to me. and i didn't regret my choice.

i stayed in the red room overlooking the road but it was quiet enough for a light sleeper like me. got wake up calls every morning from a bird in a cage kept by a neighbour (just outside the bathroom). housekeeper is a lovely friendly woman who helped me to carry my luggage up the stairs even tho i had not asked (contrast this with my experience in another B&B in nice where the owner just flatly refused).

1 good thing abt this place is its fairly flexible. i had to cancel 2 nights' stay at very late notice but I did not have to pay any additional rate unlike with other hotels.

Room Tip: red room is good for solo travellers. otherwise can b rather tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMF29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This made a perfect 1st stay in China. The B&B is in the middle of the French Concession which makes a perfect surrounding. We stayed in the red room, which is quite small(the smallest room in the B&B) but was very clean and had a good standard of bathroom. The breakfast was very good, we had the Chinese option but the Western options looked good too. The information provided the B&B on the surrounding area was very welcome.

Miranda booked our onward train travel to Taishan and from there to Beijing. This was invaluable and most appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jejoslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Perfect Place to be in Shanghai if like to feel the atmosphere of the Good Old days. Perfect surrounding. You have your own balcony and can breath the City. The breakfast room is small but cosy and you feel like at home

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We enjoy very much our stay in Magnolia - The place is clean and the rooms are simple but very nice. The breakfast was also a very pleasant moment. The staff is very nice and always available for help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laetitia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Magnolia is in a quiet section of the French concess, close to restaurants and subway. The owner and the housekeeper are helpful and very kind. Good bathrooms, wifi in rooms, fully functioning AC, and excellent breakfasts - coffee and toast and scrambled eggs. Would recommend with enthusiasm and will return here when visiting Shanghai. The rooms are a bit small, but since you will be out and about in glorious Shanghai not a probem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This intimate B&B was a quiet and convenient stay within the French Concession district of Shanghai. The owner of the B&B was very well versed in English and helpful in answering questions. She provided a phone for use while in Shanghai, which can be very useful.

It is located about a 3 minute walk from Line 1 or 7 of the subway system, and about 10 minutes from line 10. The neighborhood has many wonderful restaurants nearby.

Breakfast was good but sparse, lacking any fresh fruit. But, there are a number of markets just outside the door where you can purchase fresh fruit very reasonably and bring back to eat for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoMoreTuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Former French Concession
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
#31 of 4,319 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
Former French Concession
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
Donghu Hotel (Donghu Road)
#805 of 4,319 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#135 of 4,319 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#6 of 4,319 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Former French Concession
Mansion Hotel
Mansion Hotel
#175 of 4,319 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai

Property: Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai
Address: No.36 Yanqing Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 661 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic French Concession in a 1930’s structure on a small street, Magnolia Bed & Breakfast offers its guests a view into that famous era. Building and design elements from the Shanghai Art Deco period have been renovated and refurbished with an eye towards contemporary comfort. All the 5 rooms are individually designed to provide guests with everything you need for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Bed & Breakfast Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Magnolia Bed And Breakfast Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing