We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool interior and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #13 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool interior and great service”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you want a great hotel near the Shanghai/Pudong exposition centre this should be your hotel of choice. There are others close by, but this one has the best interior design and is attached to the subway station. The restaurants are great and the lobby lounge has a very cool ceiling video/entertainment system - made me feel I was really in a contemporary Chinese location. Rooms are large and nicely appointed. I found the service in the restaurants and the spa to be very good - strong English skills and very polite helpful. The new Gen Manager personally ensured my special meal requests were carefully attended to - nice touch. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Allan J,

Thank you for staying with as at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate you highlighting the many aspects of your stay which exceeded your expectations.

I will definitely share your feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    173
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
43
38
26
511
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A truly wonderful hotel experience. The rooms are large and well appointed and the location is perfect, but it is the service that really makes this hotel stand out. From the Manager on down no request is too much trouble. The staff really seem to care about the guest and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrimeTimeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear PrimeTimeV,

Thank you for posting your review concerning your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai, on Trip Advisor.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel so much, and that you felt such a positive review was in order. We are happy to have had an impact on your visit to Shanghai. Your words will not only motivate our colleagues, but inspire the entire team at Jumeirah Himalayas to continue providing the best service experience.

I will be sure to share you kind feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. And, once again, thank you for your comments and support.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed again in 2013. The hotel service in general as well as the room etc remain very good! The staff are very helpful and the rooms are reasonable size and have an ipod dock, large television selection etc. All in all if you have work at the Shanghai Expo Centre this hotel is probably the best that you can get and most convenient for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear surfindia,

Thank you for taking the time to share, once again, your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had another enjoyable stay with Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai, and that you were pleased with the service and facilities. I appreciate you recommending Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai very much, and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was my first visit to the Jumeirah Himalayas in Pudong, Shanghai and my six night stay was exceptional. It's truly a world-class hotel and I will return. While the property is situated a 10 minute taxi ride from the CBD of Pudong, it's worth every minute to stay at Jumeirah Himalayas.

My room on the 18th Executive Floor was exquisite - offering a soothing oriental decor - with a separate office enclosure on the window which I very much enjoyed working from.

The management and staff, to a person, were helpful in all regards and assisted me with my business agenda and travel arrangements in China. I could name many of the staff by name but just know that they are all extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

The breakfast buffet was excellent and enjoyed each and every morning! The fitness facility is also spacious and has all the necessary equipment. I did not swim but noted the pool to be an excellent facility.

I have been to Shanghai three times in the past eighteen months and this will now be my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: 18th Floor Executive Rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear jdece,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful and detailed review concerning your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai. We appreciate your feedback and support.

I am very pleased to read that you were happy with your stay and that you will choose us again for future visits. I have communicated your feedback to the team in the hotel to cascade down, and all are very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.

Thank you once again, jdece, for your support, and I do look forward to welcoming you back to the Jumeirah in the near future.

Sincerely
John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel has THE BEST service of any hotel in the world. They go out of their way to ensure everything is perfect for you. For example, I arrived in Shanghai from the U.S. very late one night and one of my shampoo bottles had exploded in my luggage, soiling the silk blouse I needed to wear to a wedding rehearsal dinner the next day. The head of the cleaning department immediately came to our room (even though it was in the middle of the night), inspected the damage, gave suggestions on how he could clean it, and had the blouse cleaned to perfection by the next morning (basically, had it done overnight in a couple of hours). The day of the wedding, the zipper on my dress broke and within minutes, the Jumeirah had a staff member in my room, helping me to fix my dress so I'd make it to the wedding on time. It could have been an incredibly stressful trip with all the ridiculous mishaps but the Jumeirah staff made everything great. The upper management there always sends us a welcome gift/letter and makes time to have drinks with us when we stay there. I can't think of any other hotel who goes so far out of their way to make their guests happy. Incredible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jinga34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Jinga34,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai. I would like to thank you as well for ranking the hotel one of the best amongst the many hotels around the world you have experienced.

I have communicated your feedback to the entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration, in particular for the housekeeping colleagues who helped you during your stay, but indeed to all our colleagues who care about the experience our guests have when they are in the hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely,

John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is everything you would expect from a 5-star-+ establishment. I love the decore, spaciousness, and attentive staff. The breakfast buffet was particularly awesome!

Shanghai has many luxury hotels. -Most are closer in-town, in what I like to call the "get Shanghai'd" district... notorious for hustlers, less than honest cabbies and "here let me help you" scams.

The Jumeirah is located out near SNIEC (Shanghai New International Expo Centre). Which is also next door to a very nice, new mall. Its also served by the Huamu Rd Subway Station. This part of town, in my opinion is lovely, and less congested. People seem more friendly and things are more spread out. There are plenty of restaurants, bistro-bars, etc. all within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Lazinator,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

We are delighted to read that enjoyed your stay at Jumeirah Himalayas so much, and thank you for such a positive review of the facilities and service. It is very gratifying to know that we met and perhaps even exceeded expectations on a variety of issues. I am particularly glad that you enjoy this part of the city – it is growing at a very fast pace, but gives a different feeling altogether to the more crowded parts of town. Perhaps on your next stay you may also enjoy a little exercise or relaxation in Century park - a huge sanctuary just one block from the hotel.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Jumeirah Himalayas in the near future.

Sincerely,

John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel is classy and modern, a little dark for my taste. Staff is attentive and rooms are spacious and nice, the best is that it is located steps away from the convention centre. Dinning is pricey and I would recommend yo include more western options in the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivonne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, General Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Ivonne33,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel.

I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to know that the rooms and their facilities and our location provided such added value for you.

Thank you, as well, for your recommendation regarding your breakfast experience. I will pass your feedback to our Executive Chef to review.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Jumeirah Himalayas, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely,
John Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#14 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,055 reviews
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#74 of 5,069 in Shanghai
441 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai

Property: Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Address: No. 1108 Mei Hua Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai is perfectly placed for business and leisure. Located in the heart of Pudong, the hotel is directly opposite the Shanghai New International Expo Centre and close to the green expanse of Century Park. Metro line 7 is accessed directly from the basement of the Himalayas Centre, allowing easy citywide connections. The Maglev train station is just a short walk away for speedy seven-minute transfers to/from Pudong International Airport. Construction of the Himalayas Centre started in 2006 under the direction of world-renowned architect Arata Isozaki, who also created the Barcelona Olympic Stadium and Los Angeles MoMA. Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel opened in March 2011. Inspired by Chinese cultural elements and traditional feng shui principles, architect Arata Isozaki designed the landmark Himalayas Center, where Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel is located. A three-dimensional Urban Forest comprising dramatically sculpted columns defines the central section of the Himalayas Centre. It also carries an important loading capacity function and provides an arresting entrance to the Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel. Tien Shu Patterned Walls Wrapped around the base of the two towers presents a conceptual interpretation of ancient Chinese characters from the Tien Shu by Cang Jie. Special windows have also been custom made to subtly insert between the characters allowing light to flood the hotel interiors. The Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel tower is constructed in the form of the Yu Cong, an ancient Chinese ritual object formed from an outer square representing earth, and inner circle representing heaven. The cylindrical atrium stretches 14 levels through the centre of the tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jumeirah International, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing