We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service and food at Grill Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #19 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,370 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and food at Grill Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The service here is excellent - friendly and attentive without being overpowering. I enjoyed the Caesar salad, which was light and tangy, as well as the apple and ginger sorbet, which was like a wave of fresh air for the tongue. The beef was good, and well presented. I selected the traditional strawberry panna cotta - it was not too bad, though a little sweet. All in all, it was a delightful lunch and I will certainly be back for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Orator11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the Shanghai Restaurant Week menu in the Grill Room.

It will be my pleasure to share your comments with my colleagues, including the chefs, as they will no doubt be delighted to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Grill Room in a very near future.

Sincerely,

John Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    158
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
41
36
26
450
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed at the Jumeirah in Shanghai multiple times on business. I love the truly Asian feel of the hotel, unlike other hotels I have seen that could be anywhere in the world. The reception area is beautifully ambiant with its dim lighting, candles, serene music, and motion lit ceiling, which mimics the sky. The staff are welcoming and friendly, the food is great, and the rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. I will return to this hotel whenever I am back in Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Jody D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback with regards to your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

I am delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the facilities and services in the hotel. Our team is very focused on extending the highest level of service to our guests and I am so pleased that the results are apparent. I have passed your feedback onto the rest of the team – they will find it very motivating

Once again, thank you for making Jumeirah Himalayas your destination of choice in Shanghai, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

John Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed there for two weeks on business. From outside you can not guess how great the hotel can be from inside
a wonderful lobby, nice music playing through the day. The breakfast is good, well i felt a lot of repeat as i stayed for 2 weeks which was long. Having diet restrictions with beef and pork an fish had to struggle a bit.
Request them to add some vegetarian indian cusine on their menu for breakfast if possible atleast when they have few indians visiting
just opposite Kerry Hotel and Mall with lot of food options, the Metro stop on line 7 is just opposite to the hotel gate easy to go to shanghai mueseum metro stop for shopping, even puxi by metro wont be too far
Please take the Maglev train from shanghai airport get down catch a cab sharing the mandarin address to taxi drivers only at the taxi stand and travel to the hotel in less than 45mins ( well depends on time of day but yes cheaper and much faster than taxi for sure go for it)
i did it on my way back to airport and was suprised to see how fast this was
just remeber to carry your e-ticket along for a 10 RMB discount which then cost you 40 RMB
i was upgraded to club room which was excellent asked for room far from lift which helped
the hotel staff was helful to arrange a charger for my laptop which i missed back home for the whole trip
Even the fitness room and spa was good calm
i would love to stay there again pretty soon

Room Tip: Chose room away from the elevator with the outer area view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameya_sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Ameya_sw,

Thank you for staying with as at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your business trip. Your comments, particularly on the state of the room, the Lobby Lounge experience, and our location are indeed heartwarming. I do note your comments regarding your breakfast experience and I apologize for any inconvenience.

I will definitely share your feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

John Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel is very elegant, lots of attention to design details. The food is also very good, several restaurants to choose from, and the breakfast buffet is rich.
Personally I found the hotel lobby a little too dark, it has an impressive Tibet-like design mixed with modern elements, very special.
Room was very spacious and luxurous. Only two minuses: the shower system is a little weir: the showerhead is fixed in the ceiling so no way of adjusting direction etc... ; and second: though the laundry service was quick, I wasn't very pleased with the result: my shirts didn't look very well ironed and smeeld not good. That's why I didn't give an "excellent" rating

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Mr. Ben D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments concerning your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai. We appreciate your feedback and support.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the food in general, and the breakfast buffet. I do note your comments concerning the shower system and the laundry services, and I apologize for the inconvenience. I will pass your comments to the head departments, and I would hope that you will not encounter such a problem again in the future.

Thank you once again, Mr. Ben D for your comments and for your support, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Jumeirah in the near future.

Sincerely,

John Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed in this hotel twice in 2012. From outside it looks like a bigger replica of the Qibla (the religious place for muslims), black color and squared. The district where it's located, is quiet and nothing much of interest around. There is a park nearby to relax and the closest shopping area is about 2 kilometers away (there are some small shops in front and an expensive mini-mall across the street). The metro station is in the corner of the hotel (Line 7 Huamu Rd Station). A taxi to The Bund with no traffic, costs around 80-90 yuan and takes about 20 minutes, with the metro is 5 yuan and takes 40 minutes or so.
The reception, lobby area and corridors are very dark and unpleasant, it looks illuminated by emergency lights after a blackout. The staff at reception is fairly polite and not very patient when asking for indications to go to the city, however the porters are friendly.
The rooms are big and in general, they're in well condition: the bed is big and comfortable, there is a widescreen tv (with many asian and chinese channels, not really a variety), the internet is free and there is a coffee station. Unfortunately, the AC works only with the room key, so when you're outside and you want to come back to your fresh room after a summer day, you need to wait about 2 hours until the AC unit finally cools the air again (by default the temperature is set at 23°C)
The bathroom is big and mostly clean, however the glass doors and windows have no curtains or enough opacity if you want privacy; the 2 times I stayed, there was not enough toilet paper (1 half roll only in both occasions when I got the room, it seems to be the standard) so I had to ask housekeeping for the paper, twice. The toilet room had the wall dirty/stained in one occasion. Be careful with the shower as it tends to flood the bathroom
The room service is average and overpriced (compared with a restaurant/hotel of similar features in China). The food is kind of dull and no fork was offered when I asked for chicken in 2 occasions (how will I eat chicken with a spoon or sticks?). The beer costs 50 yuan (same one, outside in the convenience store is 5 yuan). The waiter is only smiling if you give him a tip, if you decide not to give a tip, smile disappears and he runs away slamming the door.
For the price I paid, I felt it overpriced and I could get a better value and location in Shanghai, so is not a very good deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear CaTiLo

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback from your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

I am saddened to see that we were unable to satisfy your expectations on so many levels. Perhaps a different style of hotel, in another part of the city, may be a more exact fit with your needs on future visits. Should you chose to stay with us again at some point, however, I would welcome the opportunity to meet you personally, and to have the chance to change your impressions.

Once again, CaTiLo, my apologies that you have not enjoyed your experience with us.

Sincerely

John Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This place is first class all around and cannot be beat if you have business in that part of Shanghai. The location is not bad for other parts of town, but you will need to travel 15+ minutes by taxi if you want to get to the touristy areas.

Rooms are fantastic. Service is excellent. Hotel is very nice overall with great facilities. It's still somewhat new and some services are still coming on line, but I would highly recommend this place. Breakfast buffet is good, but not great. Workout area is huge and well equiped.

I will definitely stay here whenever I have business in the Zhangjiang Hi-Tech Park.

Very, very nice hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Wolfgang86,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments concerning your recent stay at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai. We appreciate your feedback.

I am very pleased to see that you were happy with your stay, and that you would choose to stay with us again in the future. We do strive to deliver the highest standard of service, and I am very pleased to see this reflected in your feedback. Our ongoing goal is to keep improving both in terms of the service level, and the product itself, and I hope that you will see this development on each visit you make.

Thank you once again for recommending our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Jumeirah in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The rooms are five-star quality. Comfortable beds and bathroom. Free wi-fi.
Good location in Pudong, near the Expo centre, with a metro stop nearby.
They try hard, but I think the service staff (check-in, housekeeping, and restaurants) still look like they are not experienced. Few I asked had only been there for 2 months.
Would only stay if I had a good competitive rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Azran 1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Jumeirah Himalayas Shanghai.

I am pleased to read that our room facilities and location met your expectations. I note your comments about the level of experience of the service staff in certain areas. For all new staff we do have intensive training, on an ongoing basis. Certainly I agree that it does take time to bring newcomers up to the standards expected of them.

Thank you once again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Jumeirah in the near future.

Sincerely,

John Roberts
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#11 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#69 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
#13 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
Grand Hyatt Shanghai
#21 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai

Property: Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Address: No. 1108 Mei Hua Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai is perfectly placed for business and leisure. Located in the heart of Pudong, the hotel is directly opposite the Shanghai New International Expo Centre and close to the green expanse of Century Park. Metro line 7 is accessed directly from the basement of the Himalayas Centre, allowing easy citywide connections. The Maglev train station is just a short walk away for speedy seven-minute transfers to/from Pudong International Airport. Construction of the Himalayas Centre started in 2006 under the direction of world-renowned architect Arata Isozaki, who also created the Barcelona Olympic Stadium and Los Angeles MoMA. Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel opened in March 2011. Inspired by Chinese cultural elements and traditional feng shui principles, architect Arata Isozaki designed the landmark Himalayas Center, where Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel is located. A three-dimensional Urban Forest comprising dramatically sculpted columns defines the central section of the Himalayas Centre. It also carries an important loading capacity function and provides an arresting entrance to the Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel. Tien Shu Patterned Walls Wrapped around the base of the two towers presents a conceptual interpretation of ancient Chinese characters from the Tien Shu by Cang Jie. Special windows have also been custom made to subtly insert between the characters allowing light to flood the hotel interiors. The Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel tower is constructed in the form of the Yu Cong, an ancient Chinese ritual object formed from an outer square representing earth, and inner circle representing heaven. The cylindrical atrium stretches 14 levels through the centre of the tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing