We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”
Review of Tairyo (DongFang) - CLOSED

Tairyo (DongFang)
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
1 review
“Terrible!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The lamp was not cooked as it should, they used dirty tools, staff was unfriendly.
Not going back there again!

Helpful?
Thank tornm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Bargain For Teppenyaki!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Tairyo is one of those all-you-can-eat teppenyaki restaurants for a set price. There is a good selection of decent quality beef and seafood teppenyaki. Plus, sahimi, sushi and all sorts of other things to choose from. You can't leave the place not feeling completely stuffed. The only problem is that they tend to overdo it on the butter seasoning.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My daughter and I visited this Tairyo for the first time, although we've eaten at other branches in Shanghai and generally had a good experience. However the first impression as we entered was the smokey atmosphere! We did not opt for the all you can eat option and selected some popular dishes instead. The sashimi was average - not very fresh while the beef was full of grizzle. At the end when we wanted to pay, they tried to charge us for the all you can eat option! We won't be going back to this particular branch!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“All you can eat...teppanyaki”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

All you can eat and select from the menu including drinks for Y 168
freshly cooked on the hot plate in front of you, starters include excellent sushi and sashimi, deserts freshly flambed bananas..yummy! Service efficient and friendly...although limited English spoked there are pictures to point at...all in all a fun evening with great value

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank aloisw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best teppanyaki in town”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Classic! Need to book in advance though. All you can eat and drink, ask for the chef's selection menu if you hesitate.

Helpful?
1 Thank hoolioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tairyo (DongFang) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing