We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Motel 168 - Location is good but reception staff should be honest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban
Ranked #665 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Motel 168 - Location is good but reception staff should be honest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on April 7, 2013 due to its close proximity to Century Avenue Line 2 Metro. However while checking out on April 8 I got stuck in Shanghai traffic & could check out by 1.30 pm. The reception staff charged me 50% of 1 day tariff for my 1.30 hrs. delay in checking out & also he did not issue me the receipt for this 50% amount. As I had to catch my flight, I could not stay there to insist for the receipt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euroasia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    51
    24
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
1
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Being at the airport this was the ideal place to stay due to a early morning flight. The staff cannot speak English and the front desk service was really very bad. There was no sugar or coffee so this really isn't a coffee table for western visitors, clearly only for Asians, its a huge disappointed for me as thinking a huge international airport hotel would cater for English speaking people on a visit. The holding deposit was not return in 24 hours and has cost me double for this room and phone calls, don't pay on your card you wont get the money back easily. Pay cash and get cash back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimD732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

terrible staff. they dont know 1 word english. cleaning terrible. just good thinks there is internet in room and metro is not far from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TunaTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

To star with, the reception staff need to re train in customer service. They need to smile and no doubt to act in a poltie manner.

The room. Absolutly filty. the green carpet did not look green anymore it looked more
like black carpet. The coffee table was far outdated and filty. The bathroom ? the shower head was falling apart , Around the shower cubical it needed not a clean but a spring clean with stron cleaning agents to remove the scum sround. it was filty all around.
Dust and dirt under the bed. ( I moved the bed to collect an item I droped on the filty carpet and could not beleive the filth under the bed.
I have taken picture of waht I have described above. This is an unhealthy place to stay not even for 30 minutes. The hotel is too busy turning around people with no regards to their wellbeing . The breakfast. RMB it was cheap and nasty. Could not eat it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Nanquan Hotel
#680 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Embassy Suite Hotel Shanghai
#1,617 of 4,324 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
World Expo
Home Inn Shanghai Pudong Nanpu Bridge Tangqiao Commercial Plaza
Home Inn Shanghai Pudong Nanpu B...
#1,169 of 4,324 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 Days Inn (Shanghai Lujiazui)
#353 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Lujiazui)
#340 of 4,324 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
World Expo
Hanting Hi Inn Shanghai Expo Pudong South Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban

Property: Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban
Address: NO. 1758 Pu Dong South Rd, Shanghai 200122, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #665 of 4,324 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 168 Shanghai Pudong South Road Babaiban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing