We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
159
292
70
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
292
70
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews century park metro station park view century mart expo center pudong airport family mart trade show convenience store small gym convenient location free shuttle egg station short stay hotel room the room was nice decent size
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 542 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2018

For the business traveller to Shanghai this hotel is in an ideal location. Just up the steps from the Century Park train station, on the same line as the line from Pudong airport so it's very convenient and easy to get to. The staff were attentive, spoke good English and the room servicing was clean and unintrusive. I was here for an exhibition at the nearby Shanghai New International Expo Centre and it is an easy walk from the hotel to the centre or 2 stops with a change of train. Breakfast was good but not great (would have liked some muesli) but at least had options that I could pick from.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Del E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for recommending Dorsett Shanghai! The hotel is located in the heart of the dynamic Pudong New District, Dorsett Shanghai is facing Century Park, a peaceful oasis in the city. The hotel uniquely fuses modern design themes with Chinese elements and luxurious interiors. Guest rooms are ideally designed with comprehensive facilities complemented by the highest level of quality service. Over 80% of the rooms have balconies that offer stunning views of the city and Century Park. The hotel is a 15-minute walk from Shanghai New International Expo Center and Kerry Parkside, and adjacent to Metro Line 2 (Century Park metro station)Lujiazhui Financial Area, Shanghai Aquarium,Oriental TV Tower (10 min), People’s Square, Nanjing Pedestrian Street and The Bund (15 min), Jinan Temple (22 minutes), Hongqiao airport and train station (45 min), Pudong International airport (40 min by metro and 10 min by maglev train) Dorsett Shanghai hotel is owned and managed by Dorsett Hospitality International, one of Asia’s fastest-growing hotel groups, with a growing portfolio of hotels in key cities around the Asia region and the UK. Dorsett Shanghai is a member of WORLDHOTELS Collection, Hotel offers 264 guest rooms and suites, uniquely designed with vibrant colour themes and furnished with all the essentials modern travellers require.Spacious balconies in more than 80% of the rooms and suites provide windows to various vistas – the exciting flurry of the city in motion and the awesome, sweeping view of lush greens, winding walkways and a sprawling man-made lake that make up the famous Century Park.As part of our continuing effort to provide our guests with excellent facilities,complimentary use wireless internet access. Dining options offer a culinary treat of regional cuisines; quaint cafes to while away lazy afternoons while a charming Oriental-inspired lounge provides welcome respite after a day's work. The hotel offers a conference and banquet facility

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

What's good-location, right at subway stop, close to Kerry Parkside and exhibition center;the view, if you're lucky to get a room facing the Century Park,absolutely amazing, as if you're somewhere out of town,moreover,there is a running track around the garden, so feel free to seize the opportunity.Very friendly sservice, nice staff
What's bad- room cleaning was very very cosmetic,I guess they don't know what is a vacuum cleaner. Even at the breakfast, when you sit by the window, you ll observe some serious dust at the porches right next to your nose. The furniture seem to be modern, but actually old already. Breakfasts are just one big disappointment,very basic. I mean you'll find smth anyway, but not even look foe cappuccino or fresh bread, buns or anything else but egg station and Chinese food.Moreover, too small to fit everyone, so people have to sit in another room, walk back and forth
Gym-outdated, horrible
So I really have mixed feelings about my stay there, so maybe for the money it cost I shouldn't complain,but still..if they claim to be a world class hotel then they should at least keep up with the standards

Stayed: August 2018, traveled on business
Thank Antanina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Dear Guest,
We are so sorry to learn of your stay comments, our hotel positioning in 4-star standard, room clean, hotel location and staff service are the top scoring given by our guests. We are so sorry to say it's not necessary to under mind the hotel staff effort put to do our job well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff, rooms ok but no hot water and very weak WiFi.
They refused to refund me or partial refund given I had to find somewhere else to take a shower.
Would not recommend this hotel. There are much better places for the same money.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled on business
Thank Theoriginaldixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Dear Guest,
The hotel hot water running system is in normal operation, we suspect you were staying at other hotel, NOT Dorsett Shanghai, our hotel located at No. 800 Huamu Road, Pudong New District, facing the breathtaking Century Park, and the metro line 2 Century Park subway station exit 4 stands right next to our hotel side entrance.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Pros:
- Right above Century Park metro stop on Line 2 (which was a great line for sightseeing)
- Short metro ride to Hua Mu metro stop which has tons of restaurants and shopping
- Very close to a convenience store (FamilyMart), grocery store, bakery, and Starbucks
- Fantastic view of Century Park from our own balcony
- Great service (staff mostly proficient in English)
- Very good breakfast
- Hot water kettle
- Comfortable bed

Cons:
- Very humid in the room (nothing wet dries; be sure to put your towels in the tub to get new, dry ones)
- Strong mold/mildew smell in the room
- Some bugs (probably a side effect of the balcony and the park)

Note: I was unsettled by a review that said they were worried about people seeing into the bathroom. In our room, there was a window into the bathroom, but there is a curtain which you can easily lower for privacy.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CultureShockKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your previous time to share your recent stay experience at Dorsett Shanghai!
We will continuous to uplift the overall hotel service quality standard.
June is a raining month in Shanghai and we do remind guests to keep the balcony window closed to keep away the flying friends and the humidity leaking into guest room.
Thank you a million times for "THE NOTE".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Dorsett is ok for a short stay. The rooms are not big, but clean.
There is a direct entrance from the metro. Gym not really well equipped, so not for intense workout.Price is acceptable.
They offer a business center with PC. When I wanted to print out some pages, the person at the reception told me, the center is already closed, it was 9:40pm. Later I found out, it's open until 10pm. So it was actually a lie.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gegaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Thank you for your feedback!
Most of the guests prefer to pay a small premium for room upgrade to Deluxe Park View for a spacious room size and wonderful view of Century Park. Gym Room equipped with basic workout equipment as the biggest attraction is a great run within 30 mins on the outdoor 5 km jogging track around the Century Park.
We did an investigation on the BC issue actually our staff do not lie, it was the caused of our trainee who did not communicate properly, guest could get work done by contacting our 24 hours service provided by Front Desk staff or Service Centre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews