We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Dorsett Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Shanghai
Ranked #69 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Dorsett Shanghai. We watch the fireworks from our room on the 19th floor. The room was a bit small but very well appointed. The bathroom was lovely with mood lighting. There is supermarket very close to the hotel and the underground is just next to it. Only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that the first lady we spoke to at reception got it wrong with our reservation and was very abrupt. But her colleague was very nice when I ask to change our room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isa086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 469 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Located really close to the Maglev, so we chose this hotel due to our late arrival time, and weren't too disappointed. Check-in was a bit of a mess, and it took them about 10 minutes to find my reservation. I had to make a few suggestions, and ended up sending them my voucher via email and settling it in the morning. The hotel is literally on top of the metro station (1-stop from the Maglev) which is incredibly convenient.

Breakfast was fine, but we were here on a Chinese holiday, which meant that it was excessively crowded and noisy. There were some staff roaming around, but they were way too busy and understaffed. Food was fine, albeit limited because there was just too many people. Fruits were nice, though.

The room was fine, too. Kings were unavailable, so we had to settle for two singles, which were fine. On the other hand, the bathroom was just weird. The shower leaked water onto the floor (poor design) and the counter lit up green, but just looked dumb. Sticking to basic design would have served them much better.

All is fine here. If you get a good rate, it's good for sleep and breakfast. I wouldn't recommend it for much longer than that, unless you want to stay in a bedroom community right next to Century Park. We just happened to be staying in the hotel during the fireworks, which were right in front of us. They were huge and awesome, so close that they shook the building and set off car alarms.

Room Tip: Park views are better, but "city" view was fine too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manh_attan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very cheap "5-star" hotel on top of Century Park subway station - exit 4 leads directly to the hotel without any exposure to the elements. The experience fell apart with a nasty mouldy bathroom that looks more 3-star. The bathroom has a window wall and the curtain definitely needed a major scrub-down or replacement. Water was leaking when the shower turned on but luckily there was a drain in the room so it won't flood. Reception couldn't seem to get its act together to check-in but eventually got us going. They're many notches away from an international-brand luxury hotel. Breakfast was included and had a decent selection of both Western and Chinese choices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkg2009hkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

5* hotel opposite Century Park. Chose this hotel because it was easy to get to and had a great off-peak accommodation/breakfast offer through Agoda. Easy check-in/out process by attentive staff. Excellent location - was in my hotel room within 60mins of aircraft touchdown at Shanghai-Pu Dong Airport! First room I was given was on 6th floor, street-side, with a large amount of traffic noise coming through. Changed to 17th floor on other side, which was very quiet. Room was very well equipped with everything you would expect from a 5* hotel. Large very comfortable bed, office desk, mini bar with small range of drinks, room safe, coffee/tea facilities, bathroom consumables, bathrobes, etc. Only criticisms were that the room was a little smaller than is usual for 5* and I couldn't lock the balcony sliding door to fully secure the room. On checkout, I was told housekeeping would have come and locked it if I had asked; not really good enough. The breakfast was very good, but not as extensive as in Chinese 4* hotels that I have stayed in.
Location was main benefit of this hotel. From Terminal 1 at Shanghai/Pu Dong, walk towards T2 until you get to Maglev station. I bought a return Maglev ticket with a 24 hr Metro pass for RMB85. From the end of the Maglev line (7mins at 301 km/hr), swap to the Metro (subway line 2) and take one station to Century Park and use Exit #4. The signs above where the train stops point towards the next station. As you come up the stairs on Exit 4 the door to the hotel is on the left. The whole trip is really well signposted and easy to follow. Getting into the city is also easy on the same subway line. Supermarket/department store across the road on the side street and heaps of local eateries on back street - try the satays! Would definitely stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was probably the best hotel we stayed in China, the bed was big, comfortable, good decent breakfast (not great), and the subway downstairs which is very convenient. Lots of good toiletries.
Although, I really like the hotel, if you are coming to Shanghai as a tourist I would recommend to stay near Nanjing Street and take taxis as they are really cheap. This hotel is around 15 minutes from Nanjing Station by subway, so not that convenient for a tourist.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imolinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is sitting right on top of the Century Park Metro Line 2, which is very convenient both to go to the town center and to the airport. It's at a 15 minute walking distance from the New Exhibition Centre and ideal who visits or attends a fair. The rooms are quite big and comfortable. The only negative observation we make is the quality of the breakfast. It's about the worse we have ever had in China in a hotel of this class. We didn't dare to try to 4th floor dinner restaurant. No SPA, no swimming pool.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CriticallyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Dorsett is well served to both international airports by Metro and there is a station just under the hotel stop name "Century Park" ..you pay only 7 RMB to reach to the hotel in almost same time you pay to cab about RMB 140 from both airports.The staff speaks English ,wifi is free and excellent and breakfast is adequate spread .There is a shuttle bus to Expo Centre in the morning hours and on return you could take an official shuttle bus .The taxi fare from within expo ground to the hotel is less than 20 RMB .A family mart around the corner and a bigger Century Mart right opposite is well stocked with all requirements including display items you may need at Expo .Money is changed at almost same rate as airport .Two blocks down there are many places to eat ..nearest McDonald quite far-actually in Expo Centere ..But Kerry Park Mall midway between hotel and expo has many choices to eat and shop .

Room Tip: Front facing park are excellent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrim_gsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#19 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,092 reviews
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#92 of 5,146 in Shanghai
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Shanghai

Address: No. 800 Hua Mu Road | Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China (Formerly Yue Shanghai Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $83 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the dynamic Pudong new district, Dorsett Shanghai is facing Century Park, a peaceful oasis in the city. The hotel uniquely fuses modern design themes with Chinese elements and luxurious interiors. Guest rooms are ideally designed for relaxing or working, with comprehensive facilities complemented by the highest level of quality service. Over 80% of the rooms have balconies that offer stunning views of the city and Century Park. The hotel is a 15-minute walk from Shanghai New International Expo Center and Kerry Parkside, and adjacent to Metro Line 2 (Century Park metro station), making cross-town meetings and leisure activities a breeze: Lujiazhui Financial Area, Shanghai Aquarium,Oriental TV Tower (10 min), People’s Square, Nanjing Pedestrian Street and The Bund (15 min), Jinan Temple (22 minutes), Zhongshan Park (28 min), Hongqiao airport and train station (45 min), Pudong International airport (40 min by metro and 10 min by maglev train) The award-winning Dorsett Shanghai hotel is owned and managed by Dorsett Hospitality International (HKEx Stock code: 2266), one of Asia’s fastest-growing hotel groups, with a growing portfolio of hotels in key cities around the Asia region and the UK. Dorsett Shanghai is a member of WORLDHOTELS First Class Collection, which counts some 500 unique hotels in 70 countries worldwide in its membership roster. An exquisite experience starts the moment you step into our lobby - drenched with natural light by day and bursting with energy at night, decked with lively, hand-painted furnishings and warmed by our staff's genuine desire to assure that you have made the right choice of hotel on your visit.Yue Shanghai Hotel offers 264 guest rooms and suites, uniquely designed with vibrant colour themes and furnished with all the essentials modern travellers require – for doing business, to experience all the amazing features the metropolis has to offer or simply to chill out and "get away from it all".Spacious balconies in more than 80% of the rooms and suites provide windows to various vistas – the exciting flurry of the city in motion and the awesome, sweeping view of lush greens, winding walkways and a sprawling man-made lake that make up the famous Century Park.As part of our continuing effort to provide our guests with excellent facilities,in every guest room and suite, the latest in communications and entertainment facilities and other essentials are available – complimentary use high-speed and wireless internet access; at hotel lobby we have equipped two computers with internet access available for free use from 6:30am to 12:00 midnight. Dining options offer a culinary treat of regional cuisines; quaint cafes to while away lazy afternoons while a charming Oriental-inspired lounge provides welcome respite after a day's work. The hotel offers a conference and banquet facility for an exclusive venue for business and social events; a range of vital business services, conveniences as well as venues for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing