We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business travelers especially around Pudong Area”
Review of Dorsett Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Shanghai
Ranked #76 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for business travelers especially around Pudong Area”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was put up at Dorsett, Shanghai as I had an exhibition to attend to at the Shanghai New Expo Centre in Pudong area. The hotel is 10-15 mins walk from the exhibition centre and about 30 mins drive from the airport.

The rooms are nice and spacious, breakfast spread very good offering quality food. The best part of the hotel is that it is right on the metro line .. the station is doorstep away. Traveling to airport and to city centre is very convenient and quick. The park (Century Park) is right opposite the hotel and offers serenity to those who wish to enjoy nature.

Wi-fi is free throughout the hotel. There is no swimming pool though in the hotel. Overall an excellent hotel which is conveniently located.

Room Tip: Choose the park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aditya_manaksia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience, and the great comments of Dorsett Shanghai!
For guest convenience the hotel runs free shuttle bus to Shanghai New International Expo Centre and Zhangjiang Hi-Tech Economy Zone.

We look forward to welcome you back to Dorsett Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    235
    61
    7
    9
See reviews for
26
56
36
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was pleasure to stay with good wifi connection in rooms easy connectivity with metro line 2 and free shuttle service to fair ground and good spread in breakfast but repetitive....opposite garden is also good and nice tea shop in garden.....

Room Tip: take room in higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pushpakshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Dorsett Shanghai and sharing your comments of stay experience. Our Executive Chef thanks for your comment to enhance breakfast items rotation.
We look forward to welcome you back to Dorsett Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banjul
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I Stayed in a Studio Deluxe room on the fifteen Floor with a Park View, The room was what I expected, Clean , Comfortable , Quiet with Sound proof Glass large window that give a Beautiful View to the Park and Lake.as mentioned in the Trip advisor review the dining area is too small for such size Hotel, specially Breakfast you share tables with many people and sometime when you go to refill your Plate some one else take your seat !! very limited choice of English channels on the TV so you are stock to on News channel all the time... in General it was worth the money and enjoy the stay and the fantastic location.

Room Tip: Higher floors are much quieter and nicer View..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Dorsett Shanghai!
80% of the hotel rooms and suites have spacious balconies provide windows to various vistas, our Suites, Deluxe Park View Room and Deluxe Studio Room types are facing Century Park overlooking the sweeping view of lush greens, winding walkways and a sprawing man-made lake that make up the famous Century Park.
The all day dining restaurant Gusto on the green is propular for breakfast, we open Magnolia Room which is adjacent to Gusto on the green during breakfast peak hour to ensure that guests do not need to wait in line for table seating. We apologize for guests who are in the rush went ahead to the table seated on thier own, our manager are being reminded to eliminate the happenings in the future.
Our in-room TV entertainment, we have selected five most propular English satellite channels including HBO, Cinemax, CNN, Discovery, ESPN and local English channel STV for guest enjoyment. Once again thank you for your great comments on oue hotel stay and we look forward to welcome you back to Dorsett Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Booked 4 nights and stayed an extra night. If you do not want to be in the city centre or in a very large hotel then this is worth considering. Opposite Century Park and next to a Metro station and nice coffee shop for coffee/light meals. Short taxi journey into the city. Medium size hotel nice public areas, nice room, reasonable gym and good service. For the price I paid I thought it was excellent value for money. Would definitely go again. If you want lots of bars, clubs, restaurants right on your door step then this hotel is not for you.

Room Tip: Huamu Lu is very busy in the morning/evening I wonder of city facing rooms may be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Dorsett Shanghai and sharing your stay experience!
The convenience of metro line 2, Century Park subway station exit 4 is adjacent to hotel rear entrance; one stop to Longyang Maglev Train station which takes 8 minutes ride for Pudong International Airport; 4 stops (12 minutes) to Lujiazui Fancial Centre in Pudong or 5 stops (15 mintues) to the famous Nanjing Road in Puxi area, with the peak rush hours this is properly the best choice of transportation to move around Shanghai city.
Kerry Parkside Shopping Mall has more than 30 independent bars and restaurants which is within 15 minutes comfortable walk.
We look forward to welcome you back to Dorsett Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A very nice property!
Decent Room.
Nice location...
ITs next to Century Park metro station.
Quite convenient for public transport.
Business centre is good.
you get a Cab next to hotel 24 hours.
and next thing i remember is that
i was extending my hotel for one more night every night....
and i ended up spending 5 nights here...
lovely view of century park from the room....

Room Tip: chose the room facing Century park. lovely garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gauravjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Dorsett Shanghai and we are so glad to learn of your wonderful stay experience. Please check up our Preferred Guest Program for your future stays in Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked this hotel for a short stay and we needed to be close to the airport but not far away from the city centre. And it didn't disappoint.
From the airport, we took the Maglev, then one station by metro and in 30 minutes we were in the hotel. The entrance is just as you exit the metro station and it's great. You get can very quicky to the city centre as well as the airport.
The rooms were clean and quite big for what I was expecting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
This is our honour to having you stay in Dorsett Shanghai, the hotel location and accessibility are met with your satification. The breathtaking 140 million metre Century Park view from the hotel room which is a unique value plus of our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything about my stay was just great, everyone on staff was friendly and professional at all times.
My room had a view of Century Park which was wonderful and great to see all the activity from early morning and late evening. The bed was very comfortable and the bath was spacious with a tub and a double head shower.
Breakfast had an excellent layout and everything tasted good.
Housekeeping was very through and never disruptive, used the laundry service and everything was returned by evening crisp and clean.
Hotel is located at Century Park Metro Station Line 2 Exit 4 you do not even get wet during a rain storm getting from the Metro to the hotel. It makes getting around the city fast and economical.
A convince store is just outside the metro entrance which was good for water and snacks.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KiloBravo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience at Dorsett Shanghai!
Our design-led hotel stands as a landmark symbolizing chic and charm. A short trip from Century Boulevard, Pudong's main throughfare, and facing the picturesque Century Park, we are glad Dorsett Shanghai meets your preferences for the prefect combination of service, grace and comfort and yet ideal location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Shanghai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#13 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#90 of 5,059 in Shanghai
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Shanghai

Property: Dorsett Shanghai
Address: No. 800 Hua Mu Road | Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China (Formerly Yue Shanghai Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the dynamic Pudong new district, Dorsett Shanghai is facing Century Park, a peaceful oasis in the city. The hotel uniquely fuses modern design themes with Chinese elements and luxurious interiors. Guest rooms are ideally designed for relaxing or working, with comprehensive facilities complemented by the highest level of quality service. Over 80% of the rooms have balconies that offer stunning views of the city and Century Park. The hotel is a 15-minute walk from Shanghai New International Expo Center and Kerry Parkside, and adjacent to Metro Line 2 (Century Park metro station), making cross-town meetings and leisure activities a breeze: Lujiazhui Financial Area, Shanghai Aquarium,Oriental TV Tower (10 min), People’s Square, Nanjing Pedestrian Street and The Bund (15 min), Jinan Temple (22 minutes), Zhongshan Park (28 min), Hongqiao airport and train station (45 min), Pudong International airport (40 min by metro and 10 min by maglev train) The award-winning Dorsett Shanghai hotel is owned and managed by Dorsett Hospitality International (HKEx Stock code: 2266), one of Asia’s fastest-growing hotel groups, with a growing portfolio of hotels in key cities around the Asia region and the UK. Dorsett Shanghai is a member of WORLDHOTELS First Class Collection, which counts some 500 unique hotels in 70 countries worldwide in its membership roster. An exquisite experience starts the moment you step into our lobby - drenched with natural light by day and bursting with energy at night, decked with lively, hand-painted furnishings and warmed by our staff's genuine desire to assure that you have made the right choice of hotel on your visit.Yue Shanghai Hotel offers 264 guest rooms and suites, uniquely designed with vibrant colour themes and furnished with all the essentials modern travellers require – for doing business, to experience all the amazing features the metropolis has to offer or simply to chill out and "get away from it all".Spacious balconies in more than 80% of the rooms and suites provide windows to various vistas – the exciting flurry of the city in motion and the awesome, sweeping view of lush greens, winding walkways and a sprawling man-made lake that make up the famous Century Park.As part of our continuing effort to provide our guests with excellent facilities,in every guest room and suite, the latest in communications and entertainment facilities and other essentials are available – complimentary use high-speed and wireless internet access; at hotel lobby we have equipped two computers with internet access available for free use from 6:30am to 12:00 midnight. Dining options offer a culinary treat of regional cuisines; quaint cafes to while away lazy afternoons while a charming Oriental-inspired lounge provides welcome respite after a day's work. The hotel offers a conference and banquet facility for an exclusive venue for business and social events; a range of vital business services, conveniences as well as venues for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing