We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Shanghai Stopover”
Review of Dorsett Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Shanghai
Ranked #71 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went to the Dorsett Shanghai during a 24 hour stopover between flights. It was perfect for our needs. They let us check in when we arrived, around 9 am. They let us have breakfast on arrival, as we would leave too early the following day. The room was nice (once we figured out how to work the curtain in the bathroom), there was complimentary bottled water, and the wifi worked. The TV had a few English channels.
As most reviewers have noted, the location right at the Metro door is perfect if you want to use public transport.
For us, the best part was the breakfast buffet, which was plentyful, varied, filling, and tasty. We even had room service for dinner, and we enjoyed that as well. We would definitely return if we are ever in Shanghai again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cork95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Dorsett Shanghai at your recent stay in Shanghai, the hotel is standing from across the celebrated 150millionsquare metre Century Park, offers a picture-perfect view of the park and accessibility to major business and leisure points in the city. Guest can take a 5-minute taxi ride to Longyang Maglev Train station, to reach Pudong International Airport in 8-minute ride.
We look forward to having you stay at Dorsett Shanghai once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Dorsett Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 460 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Dorsett's biggest attraction is the fact that you can get to and from it very easily. You can take the Metro from Pudong airport (line 2) and walk straight upstairs at the Century Park station to the side door of the hotel. Line 2 will also take you 10 minutes walk from the Bund (East Nanjing station). And if you are visiting the new Expo Centre fir a trade fair the hotel has a shuttle bus in the morning and it's a few stops down the line on the Metro back at night.
Rooms are OK but nothing special, wifi works, bar and restaurant are up to a standard but lack atmosphere. Staff very friendly and all do their job well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Century Park
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience at Dorsett Shanghai!
Our all day dining restaurant "Gusto on the Green" is overlooking the breathtaking view of Century Park, take delight in the fused flavours of east and west amidst the causal, yet elegant, surrounds of this distinctive cafe; guest enjoy the restaurant's peace and quiet, this is an ideal place for business association and/or friends gathering.
Chic and sassy, Fengshui Bar is a rendezvous of the "old and new", highlightes an antique Chinese opium bed-style seating and a bar built with multi-coloured glass that gives off a sensational spray of vibrant hues against a romantic atmosphere.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I have been there for six days and i'll recomend it, it is just one metro station(the metro station is just besides the hotel) from the maglev, it has a supermarket in front of the door and if you walk around you will find a lot of good local restaurants, massages house and a very nice neighborhood.
Some people complain here about the breakfast but i dont agree with them, you have vegetables, bacon and eggs, chinese dumplings, tufo soup, misu soup, potatoes, a lot of fruits, cereals, what else do you need?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElViajero40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your stay experience at Dorsett Shanghai!
We strive to fulfill every guest's special needs with our continue effort in delivering high quality service standard. We are inviting our guest to sign up hotel loyalty program "Dorsett Preferred Guest Program", as a member you may receive exclusive privilleges such as preferential rates and other fabulous perks.
We sincerely looking forward to welcome you back to Dorsett Shanghai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed six nites at this hotel. Good location. Close to park, subway station and supermarket
but very bad breakfast. Do not pay extra for room with breakfast. There is a good cafe shop next door with cheaper and better food and great coffee. Very bad restaurant services.
The room is clean. Comfortable bed and pillow but bathroom sink has mold. This is not a five star hotel, more or less like 3 and half star.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidh285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Dorsett Shanghai!
The hotel is opposite Century Park; metro line 2 Century Park Station exit 4 is adjacent to hotel rear entrance, supermarket and 24 hours convenience store is across the street from hotel rear entrance, as well as Ichido Bakery is located by hotel rear entrance area.
Please allow us to give you feedbacks on your comments made:
With the ongoing hotel rebranding promotion, we offer guest super value price - best available rate and Dorsett Package rate are including free Wifi and complimentary buffet breakfast in our all day dining restaurant "Gusto on the Green", the breakfast provides over 50 different kinds of warm and cold food/pastries/cheese/salads/egg station/fruit/drink in Chinese and western style cooking; restaurant is very propular and busy during rush hours but our customer promise is no guest needs to wait in line for table, timely food replenishment and coffe/tea service when guest is seated.
The bathroom sink is glass-built, our houskeeper is very concern on room cleanliness and high standard of room clean has been set in place.
We will continue to delivery customer promise of 5-star service and super value pricing to our loyalty customers.
We look forward to welcome you back to Dorsett Shanghai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed recently when we traveled for business. For the price, the room was generally spacious, with sufficient amenities. The service is pretty good (rooms cleaned promptly, concierge/front-desk gave reliable directions, reasonably accurate timing on transportation). Breakfast was decent and tends to be pretty packed in the late mornings. When we booked (fully prepaid) we got a deal that included free mini-bar (which was replenished, and was a nice touch). Checkout was OK (although the front desk did mention we'd need to wait for a few weeks before the security deposit hold-up would clear from our account--maybe it's common in China?). The bathroom is generally fine, except that bathtub has an odd design that would turn the bathroom into a lake as it's difficult to keep the water from leaking or splashing out (and with me clumsily stepping back into the wet bathroom floor with my socks on and ready to leave in a hurry was not pleasant) -- the hotel should look into that. The gym was mostly empty, with a limited selection of equipment, but covered the basic cardio/weights. It was nice they provided bottled water there, but would be even better if towels were made available.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park has a better view
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your stay experience at Dorsett Shanghai, your comments are well taken note and much appreciated.
Regarding security deposit, this can be done at Front Desk to release the security deposit provided that credit card holder provide us the credit card to process through the credit card POS machine; without the credit card we still can process via local bank service but this will take weeks to complete the whole process.
Regarding bathroom, we are working on different solutions to keep the water in bathtub, please bear with us for the time being.
The gym is mostly nice and quiet except the peak hours such as 7:00 - 8:00am and 6:00 - 8:00pm on weekday. Towels are available in female/male changing room including steam room, shower and toilet facilities.
Once again thank you for choosing Dorsett Shanghai and we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We loved the location of the hotel. So close to subway. Free breakfast in the morning was great. Service was good and efficient. We liked our room as it was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was very nice and bathtub just awesome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are so glad to learn of your wonderful stay experience at Dorsett Shanghai, and thank you for sharing with everyone. Our best available rate including free buffet breakfast, 24-hour free WiFi and boardband internet access in guest room to meet guest every need.
We look foward to welcome you back to Dorsett Shanghai in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Dorsett Shanghai is an excellent value for money hotel. It is located right outside the Century Park metro station and thus well connected to most places of interest in Shanghai. From the airport one can take the high speed Maglev train to Longyang station (RMB 40 one-way, 10 min ride) and then change to Line 2 to get to Century Park, although you could also take Line 2 directly from airport to Century Park, it takes around 1 hour and could be crowded depending on the day/time. If you plan to use the metro regularly, you can consider buying the one-day metro pass which costs RMB 18 and offers unlimited rides on any metro line, it can be purchased from the customer service centres at the metro stations (it is not available from the ticket vending machines).

I stayed in a city view deluxe room which was extremely clean and well-furnished as can be seen from the photographs. The room had a TV, fridge, kettle, clothing iron with stand, hair dryer, study desk with lamp, clock radio, wired internet (ethernet) connection (no wifi in the room), weighing scale, shoe brush/polish etc. The room is spacious and double bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is also spacious and well maintained. Breakfast was included in the room booking and consisted of many choices (from western to chinese/asian). There is a big supermarket (Century Mart) round the corner from the hotel. The staff are helpful, courteous and can speak reasonable English. The hotel was willing to store some luggage on the last day as my return flight was in the evening and the regular check-out time is 12 noon.

A couple of things to note: there is a large glass window separating the bathroom from the room, which is quite a strange design although a roller blind is provided for this glass window. Secondly, internet connection seemed to have intermittent problems (this seemed to be mainly for accessing gmail and youtube, not sure if this is due to China vs Google)!

You can book directly from the hotel website, a card is required to guarantee the room, you can pay by card or cash when you checkout. A deposit (~RMB 1500) would be charged at check-in which will be refunded at check-out, deposit can also be paid with card.

Overall, an excellent hotel at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srir0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your precious time to write great comments of Dorsett Shanghai and sharing your memorable stay experience and traveling tips.
24 hours free WiFi access is available for the entired hotel including public area such as hotel lobby, function room, restaurants and bars, as wll as all guest rooms. As part of our continuing effort to provide our guests with excellent facilities, the hotel lobby is now equipped with two computers with internet access for free use of guests from 6:30am to 12:00 midnight.
We look forward to welcome you back to Dorsett Shanghai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#19 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,082 reviews
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#94 of 5,111 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Shanghai

Address: No. 800 Hua Mu Road | Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China (Formerly Yue Shanghai Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $84 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the dynamic Pudong new district, Dorsett Shanghai is facing Century Park, a peaceful oasis in the city. The hotel uniquely fuses modern design themes with Chinese elements and luxurious interiors. Guest rooms are ideally designed for relaxing or working, with comprehensive facilities complemented by the highest level of quality service. Over 80% of the rooms have balconies that offer stunning views of the city and Century Park. The hotel is a 15-minute walk from Shanghai New International Expo Center and Kerry Parkside, and adjacent to Metro Line 2 (Century Park metro station), making cross-town meetings and leisure activities a breeze: Lujiazhui Financial Area, Shanghai Aquarium,Oriental TV Tower (10 min), People’s Square, Nanjing Pedestrian Street and The Bund (15 min), Jinan Temple (22 minutes), Zhongshan Park (28 min), Hongqiao airport and train station (45 min), Pudong International airport (40 min by metro and 10 min by maglev train) The award-winning Dorsett Shanghai hotel is owned and managed by Dorsett Hospitality International (HKEx Stock code: 2266), one of Asia’s fastest-growing hotel groups, with a growing portfolio of hotels in key cities around the Asia region and the UK. Dorsett Shanghai is a member of WORLDHOTELS First Class Collection, which counts some 500 unique hotels in 70 countries worldwide in its membership roster. An exquisite experience starts the moment you step into our lobby - drenched with natural light by day and bursting with energy at night, decked with lively, hand-painted furnishings and warmed by our staff's genuine desire to assure that you have made the right choice of hotel on your visit.Yue Shanghai Hotel offers 264 guest rooms and suites, uniquely designed with vibrant colour themes and furnished with all the essentials modern travellers require – for doing business, to experience all the amazing features the metropolis has to offer or simply to chill out and "get away from it all".Spacious balconies in more than 80% of the rooms and suites provide windows to various vistas – the exciting flurry of the city in motion and the awesome, sweeping view of lush greens, winding walkways and a sprawling man-made lake that make up the famous Century Park.As part of our continuing effort to provide our guests with excellent facilities,in every guest room and suite, the latest in communications and entertainment facilities and other essentials are available – complimentary use high-speed and wireless internet access; at hotel lobby we have equipped two computers with internet access available for free use from 6:30am to 12:00 midnight. Dining options offer a culinary treat of regional cuisines; quaint cafes to while away lazy afternoons while a charming Oriental-inspired lounge provides welcome respite after a day's work. The hotel offers a conference and banquet facility for an exclusive venue for business and social events; a range of vital business services, conveniences as well as venues for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing