We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friend's id will be recorded and informed to local police NSS.”
Review of Dorsett Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Shanghai
Ranked #71 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

friend's id will be recorded and informed to local police.
snobbish people. night shift has terrible attitude. not professionally trained. no one was welcoming guests at counter. bellboy sits behind high counter and receptionists hides in staff room and fell into sleep maybe. even worse, all your friends are not allowed to visit you in room unless identification or passport is presented, recorded and informed to local/national police as KGB. not worthy price. recommend four-points sheraton hotel nearby.
finally, yue is not a hotel in a normal sense. its configuration is more like a condo.

Room Tip: if a 4-star chinese hotel has no professional managerial team which look upon staff training, you m...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elanor96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest, this is a PSB law, visitors go up to hotel guests' room after 11:00pm must register at hotel Front Desk. Our night shift staff may have failed you in explain well the local law, we could understand your disappointment of our staffs, who they were trying to do their job correctly. Yue Shanghai Hotel has been rated at good level 4-star hotel from many travellers who stayed with us and we will continue the fine service standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Dorsett Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 460 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

After a stay in a not-so-nice Hotel in Shanghai a few weeks ago, I didn't want to make the same mistake again. I used booking.com so didn't have to pay before I arrived.
4 of us stayed in 2 twin rooms, it was really reasonable and we all really loved the Hotel - was really easy to find - located right next to Century Park underground station. Check-in was painless, rooms were clean and decorated in a contemporary style. Breakfast was included and tasty - not too early too.
Staff were helpful - we had a friend get lost on way to Hotel as the underground stopped running earlier than she'd expected 10.30pm; I had to ask someone to explain to taxi driver where the Hotel was located.
Hotel isn't exactly central - but the underground is so cheap and convenient, taxis are very cheap; so it really isn't an issue getting around.
A lovely cafe right next to Hotel made the whole weekend even more enjoyable.
I'll be back the next time I return to Shanghai (very soon).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for selecting Yue Shanghai Hotel. We look forward to having you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

After check-out, we requested the hotel staff to help us keep our luggage as we still wanted to walk around the city for a while. However, the staff just left our luggage on the public aisle without taking it into the store room. After that, a 'beautiful lady' approached and he just left our luggage UNATTENDED. We waited for more than 10 minutes and we finally asked to see the manager but the other staff responded to our request with unfriendly attitude. Frankly, I have never lived in such a hotel with extremely poor service!! Also, every time you want to go out to the balcony, you need to tell the hotel staff to open the door for you. It is very therefore very possible that some security faults happened before!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Our apology for your unpleasant check-out experience which ruined your entire impression of the hotel. We take in your comment very seriously as this was not our hotel service standard.
Service defect happen every now and then in all category hotels, we have done a good job in staff retention to ensure consistent high level guest service, our hotel is being rated "good level" service standard since we open in 2010, we continuous making improvement to provide the utmost guest stay experience.
The hotel location offers great value enviornment, right opposit the famed Century Park. We keep the guestroom window close as per hotel basic service standard; guests request for balcony window open we are happy to satisfy guest request with a friendly reminder to keep the window close at night in order to keep the bug away.
We look forward to having you stay in our hotel once again, we deserve an opportunity to show you the truely Yue Shanghai Hotel stay experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Really nice hotel convenient to Shanghai International Exhibition Centre with Hotel Bus to Expo in morning. Nice breakfast with mixed selection of cold & hot European style and Chinese/Japanese mix as well. The reception desk was always helpful and the Conceige/Tour desk really had good English and great knowledge over the City even booking our return Hispeed Train Tickets to Haining. If you want to try a mix of foods there are 2 centres nearby or better take the Shanghai Metro to Lu Jia Zui about 4 stops from hotel Century Park Station and go to Super Brand Centre (50 + restaurants and many more shops) also short walk to see the Bund from the Pudong side - magnificant at night. Tip buy a Public Transport Card (stored value for Rmb 100.00) and use the Shanghai Metro to explore parts of the city

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timtam0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for sharing your stay experience and the realization of concierge team service effeciency. Your travel tips are good helping hand to the guests who plan to stay at Yue Shanghai Hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us on your future trips to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good little boutique hotel, with its best feature being the train station it literally is above! Great to get out and about Shanghai quickly. Also, being right across the park is a nice escape from the general business that China can be from time to time.
Room I was in was getting a little dated but it was clean and completely functional. If you can get a corner room you'll get a great 270 view on the balcony and a nice big bathroom. Breakfast is fine. Didn't try lunch or dinner at the hotel, but why would you with Shanghai to explore.

Room Tip: Fairly obvious, but the view over the gardens is superb.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZhelterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for sharing your stay experience at Yue Shanghai Hotel. We do guest room maintanence each year right after Christmas holiday; we have a care program to do room condition check every 90 days to ensure the newest room condition at all times. You may have stayed in our best sell corner room type which we have scheduled to do touch up in August. We appreciate your good introduction of our hotel superb enviroment by the Century Park and the convenient access of taking metro line 2 which Century Park station entrance 4 adjacent to hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

this is the second time of our stayed, same as the first time, very convenience location and with great value. well decorating and comfortable bed, spacious deluxe room and open view (even city view only). very good in housekeeping, polite and nice attitude staff. standard breakfast, only a bit problem of the bathtub design.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonoramak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you for once again selecting Yue Shanghai Hotel. Our Executive Chief thanks your comment on the breakfast, we ensure the breakfast variety meets all guest's nationallties. The bathtub trendy design is different from the norm, therefore water resistence bell installed along the edge of bathtub platform. Our Deluxe Studio Room, bathroom with five features including a walk-in shower to meet guest choice and comfort. We look forward to welcome you back to Yue Shanghai Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I spent four nights in Yue Shanghai hotel visiting Mobil Asia Expo.
First of all I liked the excellent location: 10 minutes walking distance to the Expo, just above the metro station (line 2), and near to the beautiful Century Park.
The buffet breakfast was rich (Eastern and Western food), and the staff was friendly. I was happy with my clean room as well, it was not too big not too small.

I would recommend this hotel for business trips.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for selecting Yue Shanghai Hotel, indeed our hotel location is in the proximity of Shanghai New International Expo, to ensure extra comfort and convenience to guests, hotel provide free morning shuttle bus service during exhibition at 08:15 / 08:45 / 09:15. Advance room reservation will always enjoy great value room package rate. We look forward to welcome you back to Yue Shanghai Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#19 of 5,111 in Shanghai
1,082 reviews
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#94 of 5,111 in Shanghai
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Shanghai

Address: No. 800 Hua Mu Road | Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China (Formerly Yue Shanghai Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $84 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the dynamic Pudong new district, Dorsett Shanghai is facing Century Park, a peaceful oasis in the city. The hotel uniquely fuses modern design themes with Chinese elements and luxurious interiors. Guest rooms are ideally designed for relaxing or working, with comprehensive facilities complemented by the highest level of quality service. Over 80% of the rooms have balconies that offer stunning views of the city and Century Park. The hotel is a 15-minute walk from Shanghai New International Expo Center and Kerry Parkside, and adjacent to Metro Line 2 (Century Park metro station), making cross-town meetings and leisure activities a breeze: Lujiazhui Financial Area, Shanghai Aquarium,Oriental TV Tower (10 min), People’s Square, Nanjing Pedestrian Street and The Bund (15 min), Jinan Temple (22 minutes), Zhongshan Park (28 min), Hongqiao airport and train station (45 min), Pudong International airport (40 min by metro and 10 min by maglev train) The award-winning Dorsett Shanghai hotel is owned and managed by Dorsett Hospitality International (HKEx Stock code: 2266), one of Asia’s fastest-growing hotel groups, with a growing portfolio of hotels in key cities around the Asia region and the UK. Dorsett Shanghai is a member of WORLDHOTELS First Class Collection, which counts some 500 unique hotels in 70 countries worldwide in its membership roster. An exquisite experience starts the moment you step into our lobby - drenched with natural light by day and bursting with energy at night, decked with lively, hand-painted furnishings and warmed by our staff's genuine desire to assure that you have made the right choice of hotel on your visit.Yue Shanghai Hotel offers 264 guest rooms and suites, uniquely designed with vibrant colour themes and furnished with all the essentials modern travellers require – for doing business, to experience all the amazing features the metropolis has to offer or simply to chill out and "get away from it all".Spacious balconies in more than 80% of the rooms and suites provide windows to various vistas – the exciting flurry of the city in motion and the awesome, sweeping view of lush greens, winding walkways and a sprawling man-made lake that make up the famous Century Park.As part of our continuing effort to provide our guests with excellent facilities,in every guest room and suite, the latest in communications and entertainment facilities and other essentials are available – complimentary use high-speed and wireless internet access; at hotel lobby we have equipped two computers with internet access available for free use from 6:30am to 12:00 midnight. Dining options offer a culinary treat of regional cuisines; quaint cafes to while away lazy afternoons while a charming Oriental-inspired lounge provides welcome respite after a day's work. The hotel offers a conference and banquet facility for an exclusive venue for business and social events; a range of vital business services, conveniences as well as venues for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing