We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value,great place”
Review of Dorsett Shanghai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Shanghai
Ranked #76 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
hong kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great value,great place”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

this is the second time of our stayed, same as the first time, very convenience location and with great value. well decorating and comfortable bed, spacious deluxe room and open view (even city view only). very good in housekeeping, polite and nice attitude staff. standard breakfast, only a bit problem of the bathtub design.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonoramak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for once again selecting Yue Shanghai Hotel. Our Executive Chief thanks your comment on the breakfast, we ensure the breakfast variety meets all guest's nationallties. The bathtub trendy design is different from the norm, therefore water resistence bell installed along the edge of bathtub platform. Our Deluxe Studio Room, bathroom with five features including a walk-in shower to meet guest choice and comfort. We look forward to welcome you back to Yue Shanghai Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    235
    61
    7
    9
See reviews for
26
56
36
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I spent four nights in Yue Shanghai hotel visiting Mobil Asia Expo.
First of all I liked the excellent location: 10 minutes walking distance to the Expo, just above the metro station (line 2), and near to the beautiful Century Park.
The buffet breakfast was rich (Eastern and Western food), and the staff was friendly. I was happy with my clean room as well, it was not too big not too small.

I would recommend this hotel for business trips.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utak13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for selecting Yue Shanghai Hotel, indeed our hotel location is in the proximity of Shanghai New International Expo, to ensure extra comfort and convenience to guests, hotel provide free morning shuttle bus service during exhibition at 08:15 / 08:45 / 09:15. Advance room reservation will always enjoy great value room package rate. We look forward to welcome you back to Yue Shanghai Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed 2 nights (19th & 20th June 2012) recently as i was attending an exhibition at the New Shanghai International Expo Center.

Location wise, this hotel is very good. The New Century Park MRT station is just below the Hotel. From the Pudong International Airport, i took the magnetic train to the Longyang station.
It only took 10mins and 50RMB. (10RMB discount if you show your actual day air-ticket)

After which, it is only a 5mins taxis ride to the hotel. (About 14 RMB)
I booked a Yue Deluxe package but was upgraded to a suite as the rooms are full.

I must say that the design, cleaniness and comfortable bed is a big attraction.
Breakfast is a mixture of Oiental and Western.

There are no WiFi in the room, only LAN cable connection.

There are not much shops around the hotel as it is mostly residential apartments. There is a 24HR Family Mart next door and a Hypermart just across the street.

For the price i am paying, US$184 for 2 nights. I have no complaints. Very good and convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the New Century Park has a better view. when taking cab, let driver know it is at junc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray_9476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Yue Shanghai Hotel and taking the time to share of stay experience with us. We provide free use of in-room internet access, free wifi is available in hotel public area covering hotel lobby; all restaurants and bars; conference rooms; Club Floor guestrooms on 19/F to 21/F.
We look forward to having you stay at Yue Shanghai Hotel on your future visits to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I liked much the location of the hotel. You may go to subway inside of hotel directly!...
If you be there for trade fair, it's just 10 minutes by walking. Only 5 subway stops away to like Nanjing Lu or People's Squre. You can reach also Pu Dong Int. Airport by same subway line.
Rooms are not so big even could be say small a bit but enough. Wireless is only at the loby and the bar. Cable int.possible at the rooms. English or European TV channels are insufficient.
Breakfast generally Chinese style it could be imrpove for European style also. Because, the visitors ratherly more than the Asia visitors.

Room Tip: Ask the staff possible wi-fi rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guzelil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments on areas which require further improvement. Currently we have 9 satellite international TV channels which are commonly watch; Wifi is available in hotel public areas, all restaurants and bars; Club floor guestrooms on 19 - 21/F. We serve daily buffet breakfast, a combination of Chinese, Asian and European food selections, we will ensure guests from different nations have a good varierty food items at their choice. Thank you once again for selecting Yue Shanghai Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Very good Metro connections and airport connection.
Good breakfast, large rooms and nice decorations, close to century park.
Good sleeping quality
Problems with drainage in the bathrooms, also by rain water comes into the room at the 20-th floor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris H, General Manager at Dorsett Shanghai, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your stay experience at Yue Shanghai Hotel. Regarding the bathroom drainage problem, it work properly. The defect was shower curtain did not work sufficiently to keep the water inside the bathtub, water spill out caused wet floor.
Thank you for mentioning the rain water flow inside guestroom from the balcony, we had fixed it out right away on the date of your departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I chose the Yue because this time it was significantly cheaper than the Kerry hotel adjacent to the fair, where I had stayed before. The hotel is smaller, effectively closer to a "boutique hotel" to Asian standards. With a very late arrival in the day, I was lucky to be upgraded to large suite with an interesting white deco.

The Yue is next to a subway station and rapidly accessible from Pudong airport. It is also next to a beautiful park, making it a relatively quiet location but for the large road between the park and the hotel (only light traffic at night though).The hotel itself, the service offered, the amount of restaurants etc...clearly don't match those of the Kerry but for half the price it was a really good alternative if you're on a tighter budget or have a small team to lodge. If the weather allows you can walk to the exhibition center (about 15 min) ; they also have a free shuttle service.

Service was OK, my room was very clean and everything worked well. The main restaurant closed early (11PM) and there is nothing around but a small 7/11 type supermarket. The bar is cosy but small and had limited choice of snacks after hours.

The breakfast was just OK and again no match to the Kerry, which also offers the promity of a modern "mall" with restaurants and shops that the Yue doesn't offer.

I would prefer the Kerry when the prices are attractive, but I would not mind staying to the Yue either if visiting the expo center.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Love this well lighted, conveniently located hotel. All their staff speak good English. Thier bed are very comfortable. Excellent location for those going to the New Shanghai Expo, they have free shuttle services n the morning. The coffee/bread shop in the ground floor (access is outside the hotel) serves quite good selection of bread. Their is also a convenient store located right at the back of the hotel. Their is a direct access to the hotel from the rail station (line 2), so very convenient if you need to go to other places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivethreezero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Century Park
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
Kerry Hotel Pudong Shanghai
#13 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
The Eton Hotel Shanghai
#90 of 5,059 in Shanghai
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Shanghai

Property: Dorsett Shanghai
Address: No. 800 Hua Mu Road | Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China (Formerly Yue Shanghai Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the dynamic Pudong new district, Dorsett Shanghai is facing Century Park, a peaceful oasis in the city. The hotel uniquely fuses modern design themes with Chinese elements and luxurious interiors. Guest rooms are ideally designed for relaxing or working, with comprehensive facilities complemented by the highest level of quality service. Over 80% of the rooms have balconies that offer stunning views of the city and Century Park. The hotel is a 15-minute walk from Shanghai New International Expo Center and Kerry Parkside, and adjacent to Metro Line 2 (Century Park metro station), making cross-town meetings and leisure activities a breeze: Lujiazhui Financial Area, Shanghai Aquarium,Oriental TV Tower (10 min), People’s Square, Nanjing Pedestrian Street and The Bund (15 min), Jinan Temple (22 minutes), Zhongshan Park (28 min), Hongqiao airport and train station (45 min), Pudong International airport (40 min by metro and 10 min by maglev train) The award-winning Dorsett Shanghai hotel is owned and managed by Dorsett Hospitality International (HKEx Stock code: 2266), one of Asia’s fastest-growing hotel groups, with a growing portfolio of hotels in key cities around the Asia region and the UK. Dorsett Shanghai is a member of WORLDHOTELS First Class Collection, which counts some 500 unique hotels in 70 countries worldwide in its membership roster. An exquisite experience starts the moment you step into our lobby - drenched with natural light by day and bursting with energy at night, decked with lively, hand-painted furnishings and warmed by our staff's genuine desire to assure that you have made the right choice of hotel on your visit.Yue Shanghai Hotel offers 264 guest rooms and suites, uniquely designed with vibrant colour themes and furnished with all the essentials modern travellers require – for doing business, to experience all the amazing features the metropolis has to offer or simply to chill out and "get away from it all".Spacious balconies in more than 80% of the rooms and suites provide windows to various vistas – the exciting flurry of the city in motion and the awesome, sweeping view of lush greens, winding walkways and a sprawling man-made lake that make up the famous Century Park.As part of our continuing effort to provide our guests with excellent facilities,in every guest room and suite, the latest in communications and entertainment facilities and other essentials are available – complimentary use high-speed and wireless internet access; at hotel lobby we have equipped two computers with internet access available for free use from 6:30am to 12:00 midnight. Dining options offer a culinary treat of regional cuisines; quaint cafes to while away lazy afternoons while a charming Oriental-inspired lounge provides welcome respite after a day's work. The hotel offers a conference and banquet facility for an exclusive venue for business and social events; a range of vital business services, conveniences as well as venues for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing