We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Impressed from the moment we arrived at the hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #17 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Fantastic! Impressed from the moment we arrived at the hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

All the staff were very welcoming even on a very late arrival and a quick tour to the bar on the top. The service was efficient and courteous catering for our every need. The room decor and view were so amazing, we enjoyed our lovely walk along the bund. This is the real place to stay in Shanghai, a must stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AprilG238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    282
    57
    22
    7
See reviews for
127
364
70
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I love this hotel, it has a wonderful boutique feel that sets it apart from standard chain hotels. Definitely ask for a river view room. I was fortunate to get a room that looked straight up the Bund, the view was great. The room itself was excellent. A good size, and great bed. But room 1011 need a better desk facilitry for business work with yuour PC.
But a out standing bath room with a nice look over the bund.
But the individual design is fantastic, and the staff is also outstanding, and it is difficult to find one of the staff there is better than other ones, all do a fantstic job. I had a business meeting there plan by the hotel fantstic.
I can recomend this hotel.

And the GM Christoph Zbinden now how to manage a hotel so customers feel happy and do not want to leave the hotel-:)
It is one of the best spots in the city to have the Skyline view of Shanghai, and do not for the the bar on 30 level

Room Tip: Rooms to the river outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BjarneViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here only for one night but was really impressed. The rooms are stylishly decorated in an old "boutique" style with some cool furniture. The view from the river side room (when there is not too much smog) is incredible.

The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel, it has a wonderful boutique feel that sets it apart from standard chain hotels. Definitely ask for a river view room. I was fortunate to get a room that looked straight up the Bund, the view was great. The room itself was excellent. A good size, with a useful desk, fantastic bathroom and great bed. But what sets it apart is the design, giving the feel of an individually designed room rather than another 'cookie cutter' hotel room. It is rare to stay in a hotel room that makes you want to spend time but I was disappointed to leave here after only one night.
The rest of the hotel continues the theme, being comfortable with an individual feel. The breakfast was excellent and enhanced by the great view of the Pudong district whilst eating. Also had a good dinner here.
The location was great for an evening walk along the Bund. It is about 20 mins walk to the other end. We also had a morning walk to the Old Village and Yu Gardens which were less than 15 mins away and well worth the visit.
All of the staff in the hotel were excellent and added to the ambiance. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel to all travellers.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with some friends coming form the US. From all aspects it is a top-notch hotel in the world -- room quality, service, decoration and ambience. It is not only an international hotel, with people from Europe working at the concierge, but also integrates many traditional Shanghai elements. Apart from all aforementioned, the bar on the top is really the best reason for staying here. It is one of the best spots in the city to have the Skyline view of Shanghai, both Pudong and Puxi. You can spend a whole evening here. Having said all that, it actually was a bit painful to get a taxi at the hotel during rush hours. And it is quite far from the metro and major commercial area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Finding a human-sized hotel in Shanghai is quite a challenge, but for a 150+ rooms hotel, Indigo on the Bund felt more like a boutique hotel as anything else. Very relaxing, high-quality decoration and very friendly staff made us feel at home from the moment of arrival. We arrived early and the room was not ready yet, so we were offered a complimentary breakfast at the Quay restaurant (great food, great views, open kitchen set-up) and after 30 minutes we were picked up and brought to our room. That's what you call service!
We picked Indigo at first for the view and design. We stayed in room 2709, which is called 'room with a view', and that is exactly what it is. Incredible sights of both the Bund and Pudong sky-line. We loved the design of the room, both modern and Chinese, and quality of finishing and bed is superb.
The gym and pool are very quiet and with (again) great views and high quality finishing. The Char-bar terrace is a must, even if you're not staying in the hotel.
With all these incredible views on this booming city, you do feel on top of the world.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeterH099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear PeterH099-

Boutique is what were are all about here at hotel Indigo and sharing the special touches with our guests which keep them coming back time and time again is what honestly makes what we do so enjoyable. First to understand what a seasoned traveler as yourself looks for in their stay and then making certain we do everything we can to ensure that we surprise and delight you whenever possible.

I am glad to read that you not only enjoyed the fantastic views from your room but also had the pleasure of enjoying the same and some amazing drinks in Charbar as well.

We wish you a very happy holiday season and look forward to welcoming you back again in the new year.

With warm regards

Christoph
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Wow. What a hotel. From the first email I sent the hotel, to the last I recieved after returning - this is one of the best.

Service is fantastic - got upgraded to the insane 2120 room with views over Pudong and the Bund. Night cap was certanly a blessing. The design is uncomparabale, the breakfast is fabulous, Quay serves fantastic food all day... What else can you ask for?

Will never stay anywhere else when in Shanghai. Never!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#5 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing