We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful decoration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #24 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very beautiful decoration”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I really enjoyed the style of this boutique hotel, excellent services, beautiful room ( a bit small tho), amazing panorama swimming pool and gym equipment. Many attentions to sustainable development that I appreciated as well.

Close to the bund and not so far from downtown. If you come to visit Shanghai I don't recommend you this hotel, there are some better located (too many traffic jam near the bund and difficult to get a taxi) but if you need to stay in town for a few nights en enjoy your hotel, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    304
    66
    23
    8
See reviews for
135
386
78
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was my first time to Shanghai and now I can't imagine staying at any other hotel there. Because of the location along the Bund a lot of great places were just within walking distance. The staff was extraordinarily friendly and knowledgeable of the area. After a long day of exploring the area, the Char (the restaurant / lounge on the top floor) was a great place to have dinner and a cocktail and take in the sights of the colorful skyline. I literally spent hours up there. The room was immaculately clean and also had an amazing view of the bund. I can honestly can not say enough good things and I shall be staying here on future trips to Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kohathite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Kohothite-

The entire team here at Indigo are so pleased that not only did you elect to stay with us on your first trip to Shanghai but that you enjoyed it so much that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your return to this great city.

Thank you for your kind words and be certain I will share them with the entire staff as they take so passionately their desire to make each guests stay a memorable one.

We hope you have a safe and pleasant trip back home and look forward to seeing you back in Shanghai and the hotel Indigo again soon.

With warm regards
Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Indigo is the only hotel that is right on the Bund so the views are incredible. I had stayed in a 5 star hotel that is right on Nanjing Road prior to the Indigo and truly wish we had stayed at the Indigo for the whole duration of our trip. The amount of detail that went into the design of the hotel was very clear - our room was full of local artistry and chic furniture, all with a modern touch.

The rooftop bar was fantastic, as well as their restaurant Char. I can go on forever about this hotel, it would be a shame if you didn't stay here!

Room Tip: Definitely request one that has windows facing the Bund!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needtravelevrywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dresden, germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful views of the river traffic along the Bund. Eggs Benedict as part of the breakfast buffet was heavenly. Top notch service, intriguing lobby, quiet location amid the hubbub that is Shanghai. You are a little removed from the Metro, and it is a bit of a walk to anything else is weather is an issue, but nothing a cab ride can't solve. Very efficient staff. We stayed three days during Tomb Sweeping holiday and enjoyed every moment of pampering.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtjwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My parnter and I stayed for one night and we couldnt be happier. We had the Premier room overlooking the bund and it was gorgeous. Big soft bed, decorated so you knew you were in china, fantastic amenities. The bath even overlooked the incredible view. The staff members were wonderful too, helping us with our bags, helping us with directions and even just chatting to us about how we were finding china. They are over staffed but that works in favour for anyone staynig there because whenever you need something there will be someone there to help you within a few minutes. I really couldnt say enough nice things about this hotel. The bar upstairs was breath taking being able to see all of the lights across Shanghai and the pool and gym have equally breath taking views. Hotel Inigo is a bit expensive compared to other places but it is 100% worth it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view - you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, in the Bund area and in easy reach of the shopping, old Chinese and the ultra modern financial district. The Indigo is modern and spotlessly clean. Jackson, the Assistant Front Office Manager went an extra mile to check us into a room at 9 am after our long flight. We did not expect to have a room at this time, but he rescheduled planned maintenance and upgraded us to ensure we did have one to go to. The breakfast was very good and we ate in this restaurant most days. We would highly recommend this hotel. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyTraveller009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Having visited Shanghai multiple times and even lived there for a few months, I can confidently say that the Indigo Bund offerred a truly impressive experience. While the location is in a still developing area (Shanghai develops fast so this will be moot shortly), it still positions you very well for easy access to major sites besides the Bund, which is at your doorstep, such as Yu Yuan Gardens and the Old City. With taxis being incredibly inexpensive, I would not sweat location for a moment.

The rooms offer a great level of charm from the local areas but are finished with modern luxury and comfort, which makes coming back from a long day on the Shanghai streets a wonderful experience.

Stay at the indigo and have a drink at the rooftop bar, and dinner at their restaurant Char.

Room Tip: Request a Bund View Suite if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lower750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai_Indigo, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Lower750-

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us here at the Indigo. We enjoy and pride ourselves on doing all we can to make you feel at home and share the many local insights we have uncovered.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to Shanghai soon and am certain will have even more tips and experiences to share with you.

Safe Travels -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing