We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Care to be different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #13 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Care to be different”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A wonderful weekend stay at the Indigo Shanghai! Enjoyed the great view at the Char Bar, the service is exceptional and the view is breathtaking, unwind with a a bottle of white wine and great food....this is life!!

Upon departure, I left my mobile in the room, the bellman (trainee) by the name of Tony has shown so much care as if he was the one who lost the mobile phone. He accompanied me all the way back to the room and ensured that I received any necessary help to recover my phone.
It has been a long time since I last met such great service! Well done!

Thanks for completing my great stay!

Best Regards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rant197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Randall T,

Thank you very much for your comment on the tripadvisor, we are very delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. In deed, indulgence ourselves with a glass of wine at our Char bar with breathtaking view, That is on the top of the world!

Also, thank you so much for your compliments to our Tony, we were just sharing your comment with Tony and his team member, everybody was so proud of him and he has been very well recoginzed by hotel, somemore the good news is that Tony will become our full time team member in coming month because his passionate, enthusiastic as well as his dedication towards the business.

Very much appreicated again, Tony and all our team member are look forward to having you back with us soon !

Philip, Tony & the hotel indigo team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    290
    61
    22
    7
See reviews for
132
379
75
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Trip Advisor guest reviews deliver again! Having decided on a short 3 night stay over a long weekend. Hotel Indigo, at a reasonable rate led the way, with offerings of stunning views of The legendary Bund and Iconic Pudong skyline on offer...

Although I booked a city view room expecting the anticipated jaw dropping skyline, I was slightly disappointed to learn on arrival that we had a different view. Lo and behold it consisted more of a construction site than anything else. However, to be honest, that didn't really matter. Why? Because, I wasn't planning on doing much sightseeing from my room. The views are everywhere, from the 6th floor Quay lounge where a sumptuous breakfast buffet is laid out (one hot meal each morning allowed) to Char, the open air terraced bar at the top of the hotel. It was a sight to behold and more.

Whilst, there maybe issues for some regarding the location, it is about a 15-20 minute brisk walk to the nearest Metro station at YuYuan Garden, which itself, is worth a visit in your stay. However, it's worth strolling down the promenade of The Bund, all the way back to the Hotel Indigo. It's stunning during the day and a night. Of course, you can easily hail a taxi and head off to your attraction.

As for the hotel, the room was superbly decorated, all the modern amenities. A special note to the comfortability of the bed. That was 'oh so good'. A touch of class in every area of the hotel, check out the lavatory. Very Japanese-like. There's a gym, indoor swimming pool, restaurant and bar as forementioned. Service was efficient and effective. The management seemed to be on top of the taxi issue outside the hotel. They no longer let those taxis waiting come to pick up guests. We didn't have any issues getting to our nearby destinations.

Hotel Indigo now has my attention when I seek foreign adventures. A truly wonderful and long lasting memorable experience.

Room Tip: A room with a city view is the one to avoid due to ongoing construction. Definitely pay extra and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Gavi19,

Thank you very much for your generous comment about the hotel indigo shanghai on tripadvisor, your detailed and vey professional review is a great encouragement to all our team member as we knew all our efforts has been recoginzed and paid back.

Thank you again, we look forward to having you back with us soon !

Philip- Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Loved the interior of the hotel and the design of the rooms. Bed was really comfy and the view of the bund, stunning. The location though, is a little further down the main stretch of the Bund so you'll have to walk quite a bit to get to the hotel. Personally, I don't think this is the most convenient location but if you're here on business and zipping around in cabs, that shouldn't be a problem. Breakfast was amazing - the spread was quite limited but you get to choose a hot set meal from the menu and altogether it was great. I love the library/lounge areas where you can hang out in the evenings with friends or even a quick meeting. The dining area at night is really cool too as you get a nice view of the Bund. One thing though, while service was impeccable, I must say it was quite discrimitory... I had a Mainland Chinese companion with me and at breakfast, it was really obvious the difference in attitude when treating foreigners vs locals. They were extremely polite and attentive to foreigners like me who spoke English, but the moment they turn around to face my colleague, the tone changed and the attitude was condescending. It was quite obvious across all the staff - from check-in to dining. At check-in I was served a shot of juice but my companion was completely ignored even though it was clear we were together. I wasn't happy with that but I realize that this is not necessarily just a problem in this hotel but in many places in China where there seems to be preferential treatment for "laowais". Hope this changes over time. Overall though, a great hotel for business.

Room Tip: Choose the room that faces the bund. Gorgeous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thislittlemmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear M S,

Thank you very much for your comment on the tripadvisor, we are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us in general especially with the room and the dinning experience.
But we also felt sorry for you and your companion that you felt being treated differently.

Intercontinental hotel group as our mother company is the leading internation hotel group in the world as well as in the great china region, while we are celebrating our great achivement in China in the last 20 years, every team member in our company is convinced the importance of chinese market especailly our chinese cumstomer, Hotel indigo shanghai share the same understanding as 50% of our business is contributed by our chinese cumstomer, and this understanding has turned into be our brand hallmark as well as our service culture.

Our apology again for the harmful feeling you and your companion had, personally being a local Chinese manager, I felt even worse than anybody else, but the good part is that i strongly believe this is going to be changed eventually in China.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback!

Philip - hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Location on the Bund is simply fabulous, but the hotel itself is just unique. True to the Indigo style to adapt to the local surroundings, the hotel has so many distinct details, it is just outstanding. I loved it. Loved my room, the rain shower has amazing view over the bund, coffee and tea was available, the breakfast room is unique with views, the bar with terrace on the top amazing. The daily amenities in the room give just the little extra. It was simply superb!

Room Tip: Had a bund south view room, the bund north would have been even better I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAdorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zicron Jacob, Hefa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything, starting the check in via the location ending with the outstanding suite we were upgraded to....
what a hotel, what a place , the bar, the pool = everything was perfect . we will come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
191 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The situation of this hotel is just perfect for the view, though a bit outlying (but usually taxi is cheap. The only problem is that taxis waiting outside the Hotel assume that you are going to airport and if you ask for something closer, they seem angry and sometime they tend to extend the trip or forget to resume the meter). Other than that, the view of the bund and Pudong are amazing. The hotel is next to the Bund (actually it's the only one directly on the Bund). Breakfasts are very good and the staff very nice. we enjoyed the pool after dark as the view of Pudong is great. The bar has a terrace with a view. If you can, reserve a room with a bath and shower "with a view". Having a bath while looking Pudong by night, is quite an experience.

Room Tip: The room we were has a great view and an amazing bathroom. It was the 1111.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernatchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Bernatchez,

Thank you very much for your patronage of the hotel indigo shanghai, and thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, we are very delighted that you had enjoyed your room, the breakfast experience, the pool and our terrace bar, especially with your compliments to our service staff which is extremly encouraging.

Very sorry to hear about the taxi issues and appreciate that you've brought this to our attention. Myself and our secruity manager have started to look into this immediately to ensure our guest with inspiring experience inside the hotel as well as outside the hotel.

cheers

Philip - hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The coolest place on the bund. period. We absolutely loved the Hotel Indigo, from the incredible rooms with showers overlooking the new city to the sky pool, amazing cocktail bar / restaurant and quite simply the best breakfasts we've ever had. Cannot recommend this highly enough, loved it in every way.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for the room with a view of the new city skyline, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jono C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,032 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 5,032 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing