We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning vews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #18 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning vews”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel has got to be one of the more unique hotels that I have stayed at.

Was checked into room 1109 as recommended by the manager (who I must say is a great sales man). Absolutely stunning view. The room was spacious, and the bathroom was spacious too.

The rooftop bar overlooking the bund is a definate must. Not just for hotel guests but also for tourists.

One draw back: the concierge doesn't really know as much as they should know.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Gaurav K,

Thank you for your great comments about the hotel indigo shanghai ! We are delighted that you have enjoyed your room which was recommended by Jackson, one of our service star with great personality ! Your comments has been shared among the team during our staff gathering and it is absolutly encourging.

We also noted that your feedback about concierge service, our sincere apology that the service did not meet up our guest expectation. Rest assure that "be curious" is part of our hotel indigo service behavior to consistently help our guest exploring our neighborhood, we will definately look into it to ensure the improvment of our concierge service.

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back in many ocassions.

Philip - hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    297
    64
    23
    7
See reviews for
133
383
78
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Indigo, although we are not in the ultramodern (somewhat kitcht) decoration. Rooms were clean, albeit small and not that well designed. Breakfast, however, was outstanding and had a wide and magnificent choice of both oriental and western choices. The walk in the Bund is a pleasure and taxis are as cheap as readily availiable!

Room Tip: By all means request or even pay a little more for a room with a view to the river. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocolo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was in Shanghai for a brief business trip and stayed here for 2 nights. The magic of the hotel starts with the location: a 10 minute riverside walk to the Bund area, and excellent river views from around the hotel.

The rooms are sensational. Kitted out with all the latest electronics, they still retain character. A highlight is the shower and bath area: bigger than most hotel rooms in big cities! And with a TV...

The coffee shop served excellent food and had decent variety, both local and international.

However, the real highlight of the hotel is the Char Bar , on the 30th Floor. Great cocktails and wines. And the terrace offers an absolutely breathtaking view of the Shanghai & Pudong skylines. Magical!

Finally, the 7th floor gym and pool area. The treadmills overlook the river. And so does the pool, which is indoor. Though I do wish that the water was a bit warmed up!

Overall , an excellent experience and I'll certainly stay there next time I am in Shanghai.

Room Tip: Ask for a river facing room; but be prepared for loud foghorns! Alternatively, they have some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaideep400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Booked a favourable rate for this hotel and on arrival was prompted to upgrade to a corner Pudong view room across the Huangpu River. Accepted and at a total of £100 per night thought the upgrade was just about worth it. We were given 6 free drinks coupons for the Quay dining room on the 6th floor, which was a nice welcoming touch.

Room was a very good size with twin beds and very good views of the Bund from all rooms. Beds were very comfy and the bathroom had his and her sinks, a spacious bathroom with bath and high tech pressure shower. Complimentary products were of a high standard. The toilet was high tech with various bidet options and a heated seat!

Mini bar prices were high but at least one could remove items and chill ones own beer-sourced from a nearby "shop" on Waixiangua St. 600ml Tsingtaou beer at 3RMB. This is around the corner from the China bank on Dongmen Rd. where there is a 24hr ATM.
UHT milk is in the bar for coffee, but one can ask for real milk which is free.

On the fourth and fifth nights we were given complimentary "nightcaps" of brandy in the room which was a nice touch.

Bar and dining.
Char roof top bar has an outside area, which gives great views of the Bund etc and we visited here a couple of times. Drinks are expensive but the view is good. They have a happy hour -more later on this .
Another dining option is the uber posh Char restaurant-way out of my league so we did not visit.

Location
At the far South end of the Bund at the cross roads of Zhongshan South Road and Domgmen Rd. 15 minutes walk to Yuyuan Gardens, 20-30 minute walk up the Bund to East Nanjing Rd.

Transport
Bus stop nearby -Shi Liu Pu (Zhongshan South Road East Gate Road)
Buses 65 and 55 (2RMB) go to stop Zhongshan East 1st Road Nanjing East Road (Nanjing East Road the Bund) from which it's a 2 minute walk to the East Nanjing metro stop and start of the pedestrianised shopping area.

The expensive Big Bus tour also has a stop here £30 for 24hrs of hop-on\off. Covers a lot of Shanghai so if time is tight and you want to see ALL of Shanghai this may be for you.
Cheaper option is the City Sightseeing bus at £3.00

Dining
Quay is on the 6th floor and does Breakfast (150RMB) (didn't have) and also evening meals. Ate here twice and found the food to be good (as is the view) though small portions -but the service to be dire. Meals arrive at different times on cold plates and my partners starter + main were served together. Trying to pay the bill is tortuously slow. Eat somewhere else IMHO.

Drinks
Char bar
Good view, expensive drinks. Service was attentive and (mostly) friendly. One night went during the Happy hour as advertised in the room. Staff member tried to deny this when paying the bill-after several implausible excuses he flew off in a tantrum. The experience was rescued by JEFFERY and Aussie barman who smoothed things over and was very amiable.

Overall our best hotel stay in China with very good rooms, excellent views and (mostly) friendly staff.
Location is not perfect and dining options are a little disappointing but I would recommend this hotel and will stay again when in Shanghai.
Visited April 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Consider the upgrade to a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ourunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Good location as the hotel is located next to the bund! Outstanding design and spectacular view from the room. Huge room & huge bathroom/bathtub — utilize all spaces with many unique furnitures. The amazing scene from bathtub / bed definitely make you relax and calm from a busy day.

The breakfast served with very unique "bento box" and colourful cups, plates, bottle, it makes my day!

Very good services from the hotel staff especially the efficiency for cab arrangement.

I would like to suggest if the hotel can consider to change the chairs at business centre (not too comfortable to sit if you stay longer), but still love the design.

Just a little problem that we have encounter - internet connection, not very stable especially on the mobile.

Room Tip: Get the river view room and you won't regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_CSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We read all the reviews and then booked. We had 2 rooms both overlooking the river. Beautiful!!! The room decor was absoloutely charming. Chinese touches with a European flair the result was fantastic. Very modern but wonderfully incorparated with the decor. Scrupously clean . The bathroom itself was a marvel! The bathtub was in a space as big as some hotel rooms, all glass walls overlooking rhe river, a tv on the wall. You just loll around in your bathtub and watch the river come to life or rhe beautiful glittering lights in the evenings, reception area is rather small and does not give you an idea of what a treat you are in for! the wc brought much excitement
To our boys, fully automatic heated seats and much more!! The bar with an open terrace
Was the place to be after dark. Standing out on the terrace you got to see for miles across the
Bund and the other side. Quite an experience! Service was good and staff helpful. The only
Aspect of the hotel we found dissapointing , was the food. it could do with improvement.

Room Tip: The rooms over the water are an experience more expensive but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Due to my wife becoming ill on the cruise ship Volendam we had to disembark at Shanghai and rushed to hospital where my wife underwent an emergency operation ( gall bladder ) remaining in hospital for seven days. She was not allowed to fly for a further week . All in all my wife had not seen daylight for over two weeks.On reviewing trip advisor to obtain a suitable hotel where my wife could at least look out of a window and see something of the city , would at least salvage something of our holiday .I contacted the hotel directly and was put through to Helen the sales director and explained our circumstance. Helen could not have been more helpful and personally arranged our booking and told us to arrive at our convenience following hospital discharge. From the moment we arrived until we departed some five days later and without any fuss the care and consideration provided was second to none. The corner room on the 25th floor was fantastic and the views over the city and bund must be the best Shanghai has to offer.Having spent a week between a ships hospital and a cabin and a further week in a hospital bed - the hotel bed was the best ever ( not just saying but genuinely ) and such a relief for my wifewho was in some discomfort. Due to the nature of my wifes condition she was on a strict fat free diet. The exec. chef Julie from Australia and the restaurant manager Christine from France were always on hand to suggest and prepare appetising dishes having not eaten for two weeks.On the morning of our departure 5.30am two packed breakfasts were waiting for us at reception.

The hotel provided us with a wheelchair for the duration which enabled me to take my wife around and see some of the old and new Shanghai. Must also mention Smith the doorman who assisted with the wheel chair and his welcoming smile.


The location of this hotel is superb and the staff who provide the service are simply " the best ".

We wouild have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who appreciates quality and service.Thank you all for making our stay in Shanghaia memorable one.

Donald & Gloria

Glasgow ,Scotland

Room Tip: Higher floors ( corner ) looking up the bund and the river traffic are out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Donald & Gloria,

Very warm greeting from south bund shanghai ! Hope you all had wonderful trip home.

Thank you so much for your comments, team and myself are very delighted and encouraged especially for Helen, Julie, Christine and Smith. we look forward to having you back with us for another neighborehood experinece, and taking a trip to Highland, Scotland is something which we are all very much desire for.

Many thanks

Philip and the hotel indigo team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#8 of 5,069 in Shanghai
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 5,069 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing