We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #23 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is worth the price for its view (dude, we had a floor to ceiling window in our HUGE shower). The restaurant is supposed to be amazing, but we didn't get the chance to try it. All in all, even if you can't afford it, at least drop in to the lobby to see the cool design and art installations.

Room Tip: Of course, a bund view is the best. I can't remember which room type we have, just ask for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

The design, the service, the detail, the comfort, the quality - all fantastic.
The indigo team strived to deliver a unique quality experience, and they delivered.
The baileys by my bed, the pancakes for breakfast, the great coffee in the cafe - brilliant.
I am in total praise of this hotel.
My room overlooked the river and historical bund strip.
The bed was super comfortable and the design if the room mixing old and new shanghai.
The bathroom with spa shower, bath and great views.
The staff. What can I say. Thank you to all for a great stay.
Will tell all and definitely be back.

Room Tip: Corner river room view. Well worth the upgrade price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice boutique hotel with nice facilities and English speaking front desk. The room is comfortable and equipped with most amenities for a business traveller. From your room, you will get a nice view of the river, both day and night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruximodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed there for my honeymoon last November 2012, the boutique concept is totally well applied.
Location very close to Yu Garden, Financial District, Nanjin Rd.
Staff speaks very good english and concierge very kind and helpful an oustanding job.
Breakfast is just the best quality, affordable fees and exceed the expectation.
Decoration makes the guest feel very comfy in a very modern-chic environment
Every two nights we had in our room a sorprise note and small gift such as snacks or coctails.

I was not in the CHAR restaurant but its terrace offers one of the best view of Shanghai City.

Rocio- Mexico

Room Tip: Choose a river view room, is amazing to see how the traffic never stops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rociobe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The styling is unique and tied in with the look and feel of nearby Yu Yuan. The hotel is very comfortable with large rooms and bathrooms overlooking the Bund and Pudong. Locals say the restaurant enjoys some of the best views on the Bund, personally I found the dining room oppressive, in the style of a traditional steak house. The cafe/breakfast area was much brighter in keeping with the quirky styling of the rest of the hotel. A nice experience if you're looking for something a little different from traditional high end hotels.

Room Tip: North side rooms look over the Bund and Pudong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerChinaexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

the location, hotel decor and hardware are all good. Generally speaking this is a very good hotel at a reasonable price. However, I'd like to share the following shortcomings that I experienced during my stay -
1) the car park is pretty far away from the hotel building, but I guess not many guests drive anyway
2) the restaurant on 29F is pretty expensive but the food is very average. The beef was really good though
3) power went out in the toilet for a while, electrician came and fixed it within 10 mins
4) operator had an appalling attitude. This was NOT acceptable.

Whoever the female operator was, she needs to be fired. For good

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheEdgeWithYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My 4th stay at this property. Very consistent throughout all my stays. Check in is a great experience with personalized service. One of the few IHG properties that acknowledge my platinum status.Leo at the front desk is excellent. Rooms are very comfortable. Bathrooms are very well appointed with an all the options toilet. There is no executive lounge per say as all rooms have access to a lounge type floor with a wonderful full breakfast. The river view is simply amazing. My only beefs about this hotel is the lighting in the bathroom could be a bit brighter and the seating area of the suites do not have a couch that one can sit comfortably. I look forwards to my next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDX16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#30 of 5,159 in Shanghai
609 reviews
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,504 reviews
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#53 of 5,159 in Shanghai
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $201 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing