We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/22
Priceline
$181
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/06/22
Trip.com
$154
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com$180
Hotels.com$180
Travelocity$180
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,729)
Filter reviews
2,729 results
Traveler rating
2,254
352
73
28
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,254
352
73
28
22
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
871 - 876 of 2,729 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is absolutely worth the money! The views of the Bund are stunning from the rooms, the bar, the restaurants! The rooms are spacious and beautifully designed! The bedroom had a breathtaking view on the river and the bathroom as well! Taking your shower and overlooking the river is awe inspiring! The staff is always very helpful.

Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank DimitrisP742
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is absolutely superb. The standard rooms overlooking the river are absolutely amazing, and the bathrooms are incredible. Lovely Japanese style loos, with heated seats and all the trimmings, and floor to ceiling glass overlooking the river in the separate shower/tub area. The breakfast was one of the most eclectic I have ever experienced, loads of different things to try. Dinner in CHAR is fantastic, with with beautiful views looking right up the Bund, and of course the river and stunning lights on both sides. This is where the location of the hotel shines, as the whole of the Bund is there before your very eyes. The location is great - with a fantastic fabric market five minutes' walk away. The hotel recommended a tailor there, and the clothes we had made-to-measure were extremely good quality - $80 for a cashmere jacket, $20 for a shirt. And produced within 24 hours! A taxi to the main shops and 'fake' Market 580 is around $3, although you could walk (maybe 30 minutes) if you wanted to soak up the atmosphere. The decor of the hotel is quite 'out there' - very refreshing. There is a gorgeous infinity pool and gym (if you're that way inclined), and fabulous spacious relaxing areas with free iMacs, a library, and massage chairs. If we'd had more time there, we could have happily spent a day enjoying the facilities of the hotel. All in all, when in Shanghai, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room tip: Absolutely essential to have a river view room
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a real treasure on the Bund - amazing boutique style hotel - lieing in a full size deep bath with floor to ceiling glass looking out at the pudong and whampoa was an exhilarating event - and the beds........luxurious:)
Breakfast amazing - bugget plus cooked to order
Slightly away from main stretch of the bund but only a 5 minute walk
I remember walking by this when it was a ferry terminal - what a difference in just four years!!!!

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpd34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a very nice, modern hotel with excellent service. The front desk staff were extremely polite and efficient. Check in and Check out both happened very quickly with no problems. Service in the restaurant was excellent (although when I was there it seemed to be very quiet so you would expect good service).

Breakfast was a little unusual. Instead of having a full on buffet, they have cold items on the buffet and for hot food (bacon and eggs etc.....) you can order one dish from the menu. I can see why they have done this, to be able to serve fresh and hot food and reduce waste etc... but I still prefer the old fashioned way of being able to help yourself to everything so you can take as much or as little of whatever you want. I must admit though that both the food and the coffee was excellent.

The room was fantastic. Modern equipment but with an element of traditional Chinese as well. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was excellent. For gadget fans the toilet is something truly special and can offer hours of entertainment. I had a room on a corner, one side pointing towards the bund and the other away from the river. On this side of the hotel there is a very large and noisy construction site. I was on the 27th floor and could still hear noise from the construction site even through the double glazing. From looking at the pictures they are building some very tall sky scrapers and as they are still working on the foundations a fear this will be a problem for several years.

Now my big problem with this hotel, the location. It has a incredible view (although not the best in Shanghai) but in order to get this view they have had to sacrifice everything else. In the area immediately around the hotel there is nothing. A river on one side and construction site on the other. If you are like me and like to stroll around, this is not a good part of town to be. Yes, it is very close to the bund, but the bund is very very long and there is nothing exciting until you get to the other end. The closest metro station is 15 minutes fast walk away meaning your only real option for getting anywhere is to take a taxi.

I just wish that this hotel was located further down the bund towards the City centre because then it really would be one of the very best in Shanghai. But for me location is very important so I am glad I had the experience of staying there, but probably wont go back.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toasty11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai On The Bund, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Hi Toasty11,


A big thank you for taking the time to write some feedback on tripadviser. We appreciate your comments.
We understand that the location was not ideal for your shopping requirements but many of our guests enjoy the Yu Gardens area right next to the hotel - here you have a mix of very local (Like Din Tai Fong for great dumplings and xiao long bao)) and international restaurants and shopping (there is even a Marks and Spencer!) Heading South from the hotel there is the Cool Docks area with some in interesting boutiques and great restaurants.

With regard to the construction I am sorry that you could hear any noise - this is the first feedback we have had on this since we installed our additional double glazing 6 months ago. All of the noisy foundation work is now complete so the noise will be minimal.

Thanks again for your comments.

Very best

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a brand-new relatively small and high-tech hotel. The location couldn't be better: my wife was in the bath tub and could watch the lights along the Bund! The lobby is a veritable exhibit of conceptual art, some of it, ironically, with a strong anti-bourgeois message. The room is eclectic to the extreme, with every detail bearing a touch of eccentric design. Sometimes it's a little too much: there are armchairs with three legs, and I managed to fall out from one of them. Four-legged chairs have a purpose. Service, beds, temperature control in the room, everything was absolutely perfect. Breakfast buffet was just one of the best we ever had at a hotel, and very stylish, too. A la carte menu is included, though we did not need it. Lunch was a different story: overpriced and very mediocre. Be aware of the eateries along the Bund promenade: they cater to tourists, and both food and service are terrible.

Room tip: Higher floors will have better views. Ask for a room overlooking either the Bund, or the river.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comfytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews