We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #32 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I adore the funky fun decor, the shower room, and the atmosphere in this hotel! The bar is amazing and the food at the restaurant is the best western cuisine in China in my opinion. I've stayed 3 times and will stay every time I go to Shanghai.

Room Tip: River views are excellent and ask for a higher up floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 761 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nice achitecture. As mentioned by other reviewers the decoration is a mixed bag - interesting and different though.

Good size room, clean, well equipped though air con was way too hot at 25C (in winter that is) and strong.

Staff excellent.

Not a big buffet selection at breakfast but an effort on quality. Relaxing. Not the cafeteria feel of some hotels.

Nice relaxing lounge with views on level 6. Again above average effort.

About the location: great for views. Can go for a walk along the bund river. However, still a fair way from any shops, especially the better ones.

Free internet with reasonable speed by Chineese standard. However couldn't VPN to our head office - I doubt that's the hotel's fault - had the same thing in other hotels in China.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 997M2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a hotel definitely worth staying at ,, the views and rooms are very very good.
Bath is perfect and big also with view and internet access is free.

The food though is very average.

i just paid 100 usd for very simple street type food for my wife and i.
Indigo manager needs to seriously jack up the food menu.

Being trendy and fashionable is not a priority in a hotel,, food is .
We wanna see big juicy steaks etc plus larger servings

getting a plate of ice cream where u need a magnifying glass to see it is not cool.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andywhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hello Andy,

Many thanks for your review and delighted that you enjoyed the hotel.
Executive Chef Julie was concerned about your comments regarding our food. I know she spoke with you about this and I am glad that we were able to clarify some of your concerns. We do in fact have a very good beef dish on our QUAY cafe menu but for the best grill selection in Shanghai we recommend CHAR our restaurant at top of the hotel where we serve an unparalleled selection of Australian prime beef cuts.

Hope to see you at CHAR or Hotel Indigo again soon

Very best


Bruce and the Hotel Indigo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I just live this hotel. Not only is the crew attentive and the location perfect offering spectacular views on the Bund but the rooms are gorgeous, very Shangai Tang in the spirit, all new. Bathroom with rain shower and a huge tub, beds you do not want to leave, and a rooftop bar with terrace, really one of the best hotels I have been to in Shangai and elsewhere...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloranH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We spent three nights at the Hotel Indigo and were delighted! The room was very clean and the bed extraordinarily comfortable. The location on the Bund was great for views from the room and walks to enjoy the area. The breakfast buffet was large and full of high quality choices, supplemented by selections from the menu. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1travelMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Really liked this ultra modern design hotel. My room and bathroom were tasteful designed and furnished with a large super-comfy bed. The breakfast choice was excellent and of a very good quality. Staff were friendly and helpful. There's a pool and gym if you feel so inclined. Finally, the location was great - about a 15 minute walk to Nanjing Road in one direction and Yuyuan Garden in the other. My favourite area of Shanghai was probably the Old French Concession. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blankko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for a vacation trip. The hotel is just beautiful. Modern, with a traditional touch. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and the views of the huangpo river were breathtaking. A little further from the bund than some other hotels, but easy walking distance.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank David1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi David1003,

Your review was well received by the Indigo team.
We really appreciate both your positive comments and your patronage.

very best from Shanghai

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#52 of 5,222 in Shanghai
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Bund
Wanda Reign on the Bund
Wanda Reign on the Bund
#4 of 5,222 in Shanghai
150 reviews
Hongkou
Hyatt on the Bund
Hyatt on the Bund
#53 of 5,222 in Shanghai
2,196 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
InterContinental Shanghai Jing'An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 5,222 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $185 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing