We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Ranked #24 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Kobe, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel and location”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I just live this hotel. Not only is the crew attentive and the location perfect offering spectacular views on the Bund but the rooms are gorgeous, very Shangai Tang in the spirit, all new. Bathroom with rain shower and a huge tub, beds you do not want to leave, and a rooftop bar with terrace, really one of the best hotels I have been to in Shangai and elsewhere...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloranH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    304
    66
    23
    8
See reviews for
135
386
78
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We spent three nights at the Hotel Indigo and were delighted! The room was very clean and the bed extraordinarily comfortable. The location on the Bund was great for views from the room and walks to enjoy the area. The breakfast buffet was large and full of high quality choices, supplemented by selections from the menu. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1travelMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Really liked this ultra modern design hotel. My room and bathroom were tasteful designed and furnished with a large super-comfy bed. The breakfast choice was excellent and of a very good quality. Staff were friendly and helpful. There's a pool and gym if you feel so inclined. Finally, the location was great - about a 15 minute walk to Nanjing Road in one direction and Yuyuan Garden in the other. My favourite area of Shanghai was probably the Old French Concession. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blankko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a vacation trip. The hotel is just beautiful. Modern, with a traditional touch. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and the views of the huangpo river were breathtaking. A little further from the bund than some other hotels, but easy walking distance.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_au, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hi David1003,

Your review was well received by the Indigo team.
We really appreciate both your positive comments and your patronage.

very best from Shanghai

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from a three-night stay at the Indigo. This boutique hotel is located on the Bund with a stunning view on the river and the Pudong skyline. Location is fine, close (20+ min. walk) to where you'll likely go out: Peace Hotel / M on the Bund / Mr & Mrs Bund / Bar rouge. The hotel design is a big positive and rooms are decorated with taste in a NYC-loft-meets-traditional-China style. Where else would you take so many pictures of your hotel room? Positives (+): Service, breakfast buffet (Illy espresso please), bathroom with Toto toilets and rain shower, very clean rooms, once again stunning view, nice bar on the 30th floor, small swimming pool. On the less positive sides: Too firm, giant pillows (smaller, softer would be preferred); yes Wi-Fi is free but slow and some indispensable international websites are blocked; You keep missing the elevator as it lacks a 'dong'; Air-conditioning did not work properly (room too cold); finally staff added me to InterContinental's Priority Club Rewards scheme without asking me (thank you for the spam). Bottomline, this is a very good hotel in Shanghai, not too expensive, but more for leisure than business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyageur3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What more can one say that hasnt been said in reviews before.
Right from the start, the lobby was unusual and very attractive with lots of modern and retro artefacts. We were made most welcome by the lobby staff.
The suite gave us a river view across to Pudong - well worth the extra expense. The compfortable bed and interesting furnishings added to our delight. The bathroom was modern with a bath in the window, a separate rain shower cubicle and an amazing wc - heated seat and unusual but efficient electronic controls!!
We ate in both restaurants. The Char was delicious for special occasions. The restaurant on the 6th floor was well managed by the French maitre d' and was more reasonably priced. Julie has done a first class job as the chief chef.
The service throughout was excellent and friendly.
We found the location to be great within easy walking distance to shopping and ferry to Pudong.
Well done to everyone.
We will certainly come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a river view - we stayed in 1701 - brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I do not normally review hotels I have stayed at (whether +ve or –ve experiences). However, reflecting on hotels I have stayed at over the past 12 months, I find that the impression I had of the Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund was outstanding. It is the best Boutique Hotel I have stayed at for a long time.

The Hotel opened in 2010, but it was a bit too expensive for me on business travel to Shanghai. On this trip I was travelling together with my wife and we stopped in Shanghai for two nights for Chinese Valentine’s Day (August 23).

Most people on TripAdvisor have mentioned the great views that are indeed a wonderful feature of the Hotel. The Hotel is very close to the Huangpu River (on the bank) and from our river view room on the 15th floor we had excellent views up and down the river and straight across to the skyscrapers in the Financial District and Pudong area skyline.

We really enjoyed the unusual/unique décor of the hotel and the room. We spent the first 30 minutes or more looking at everything and taking photos of the room. There were many features you would expect:– 24 hour room service dining, large bed, separate bathroom, shower room (Rain Shower) and toilet, free high speed Wi-Fi that works well, plenty of conveniently located power outlets, large desk, satellite TV and the staff in reception, restaurants and bars were friendly, had a good level of training and spoke good English. Room size was very comfortable and had a bit of a small apartment feel. The bathroom facilities and oversized shower area with floor to ceiling views out across the river was a standout. My wife loved the room and the beautiful Shanghai decorations and artefacts. The hotel itself has plenty of interesting artwork and many people enjoyed the reception area.

Hotel facilities:- We used and enjoyed the 6th floor which had a range of offerings from great coffee and refreshments with a Café menu, to breakfast, lunch and dinner options, or areas to simply relax. The swimming pool on the 7th floor was a good size to actually swim and to watch the “river traffic”. The rooftop bar was really worth a sunset and/or early evening cocktail, although the cocktails were a bit disappointing and seemed very low strength alcohol. Again amazing views. The Char Restaurant had a pleasant atmosphere, very attentive and well trained service staff, reasonably good food and a good wine list. Unfortunately we found the Char generally too expensive for what it offered. The 6th floor was more reasonably priced.

Transportation appeared to be more of a problem than on the Pudong side of the river. Taxis were hard to find around peak hour and depending on the time of day taxis were reluctant to take you back to the hotel from the Pudong side of the river.

Overall it is the best Boutique Hotel I have stayed at for a long time, not unreasonably priced and well worth the additional cost for the executive level river view.

Room Tip: Higher floors with river view worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thirdwind_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
The Bund
Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
Lujiazui
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund

Property: Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Address: No.585 Zhong Shan Dong Er Road, Huangpu, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > South Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo’s first property in Asia Pacific opened its doors in December 2010. Sitting directly on the Huangpu riverfront, Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund assures not only spectacular views of both the historic Bund and dramatic Pudong skylines, but an upscale boutique hotel experience where the focus is on inspired service, fresh and vibrant design reflecting the local neighbourhood, and providing guests with an authentic taste of today’s Shanghai, where old and new converge. Featuring 184 rooms, including 23 suites, each individually designed room at Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund provides all of the creature comforts expected from an upscale boutique property, but they are anything but ordinary. Maximizing the spectacular views and combining traditional and modern Chinese design and bespoke pieces, each room provides an intimate haven and unexpected details – be it the walk in “shell shower” featured in a number of guest bathrooms, the oversized wet room with spectacular views, the reclaimed Shikumen brick feature wall or the hidden refreshment bar with individually designed tea sets. All Guests can enjoy the bund view at the public areas. Attention: The Shanghai Regulations on Smoking Control in Public Places took effect on March 1, 2017. Hotel can’t offer smoking room and smoking has been banned in indoor place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, IHG, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing