We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but problems with locations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Ranked #115 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The good thing about this holiday inn is that it has a very fast internet connection which is good for those of us who like to work in our rooms. The service was average, the hotel insisted on charging me an extra night for a reservation that I had made without a credit card guarantee and for which the hotel never sent me a confirmation number. I had stayed at another holiday inn in Pu Dong, do too a mixup with poor communication from the hotel. The hotel also has a very bad odor in the lobby that smells like sewage and at times it made its way up to our room on the 12 floor. There also was a digital alarm clock that was too bright and never was set to the correct time. The most annoying thing about this hotel is that no Shanghai taxi driver knew where the hotel or its street was and each time we had to call the hotell and have the hotel tell the taxi drivers how to get there. The breakfast was ok with good coffee but it is mostly western dishes with just a few chinese breakfast dishes. It did not have a bathtub either only a shower, but did carry cinemax and hbo.

Room Tip: Always remember to request a nonsmoking room in China and try to avoid one that smells like the lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harring10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 195 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel Rooms are extremely nice and comfortable and the rooms facing the park give a nice view. The staff is very efficient and fluent in english. The Breakfast quality was good but it was quite expensive. I was charged RMB 116 whereas if I had the ordered the same in my room the charge would have been RMB 98. This was pointed out to the hotel management. Otherwise the concierge service, the assistance at the reception was very good.

On the Swimming Pool floor the Hotel should install some exhaust fans as the moment I stepped out of the lift, there was the typical chlorinated swimming pool smell even though it was quite a distance away from the lift.

Otherwise good hotel for business travellers. There is no Spa and Internet is not free.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kunal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

First business trip to China took me to Shanghai from the 27th to the 31st of August. Having heard so many 'fantastic' stories about this huge country, I entrusted my stay there with a popular chain like Holiday Inn and what a stay it was.
The room was huge, decor was fabulous, internet was free, breakfast spread was generous, staff were very accomodating and, surprisingly, English-speaking. Tried the restaurants, no complains. Sports bar located on the third floor was a nice, quiet place to relax after a long day and the staff there, Cici, is quite competent despite being the only staff there.
Taxis are not a problem and the popular mass transit system is a 13 minute walk away.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank valentinegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was a good hotel, one of the better we stayed in. The lobby bar was great and we hung out here at night. Shanghai is unlike any other Chinese cities and by far the nicest. Reminded me of Singapore or a small Hong Kong. Hotel location is ok. Across the river from all the new areas and a distance to the Bund. Breakfast was good with lots of American dishes. Booked with Wendy Wu Tours (through my travel agent), which was amazing. I wouldn't go to China with anyone else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangocatpurring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at hotel after my 15 hour flight from US - rooms are great, lots of space. Staff was friendly and attentive. The airconditioner in the room didnt get the room very cool, but was acceptable. This is the nicest Holiday Inn i have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This new Holiday Inn was like almost any other Holiday Inn in the world, but being China, of course, it is vast. Check in was reasonably efficient and staff had a decent grasp of English.

However, for a new property, some of the finishing was already looking a bit shabby. Bits of trim were loose, the window was all but seized up and the cold & hot water pipes were connected the wrong way round on the bathroom sink!

A note in the room said that he pool was out of action till May 10th, but in the end was still empty on the 12th... disappointing.

The WiFi was poor in my room, but they provided a plug in router which solved the problem. It was a good price and the breakfasts were extensive and good quality.

I'd probably stay here again, it's not central, but cabs are cheap and plentiful and there are a few restaurants nearby to satisfy desire for Western food!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocoda-Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Jin Xiu Holiday Inn hotel is located on line 2(green line)-subway station Jin Xiu.From there ,you take subway exit number 2.If you decide to walk ,it is about a 15 to 20 minutes walk.If you decide to take the taxi,it will cost you around 14 rmb.The hotel is located in a very quiet place.Appropriate if you don’t want noise around.But if you are on sight seeing,then don’t expect great views.Though the river nearby does offer a nice view.But the place as such is very peaceful,not noisy at all.Near the hotel,just a few mins walk away,u will get a “plaza” with starbucks,85 deg café,Papa Johns’ pizza and KFC ,if ever you are opting for dinner outside the hotel.The rooms have been designed for self comfort.Very nice,spacious,the bed so soft and the best was the bathroom.Reasonably big ,allowing you to enjoy ur hot bath.Only problem –internet is not free in the rooms and quite pricely charged(0.8 yuan per min).Breakfast at the “Oasis Café” is ok.The coffee is great.Not so big variety for (110 rmb/person).Buffet dinner is also quite limited as long as the choice is concerned.But the cheese and walnut cake compensate it all.The swimming pool was closed and will be closed till end of april.All staff speak English,even the waiters…Overall nice stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saspire2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#141 of 5,146 in Shanghai
233 reviews
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Chateau Star River Pudong Shanghai
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
#118 of 5,146 in Shanghai
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Shanghai Pudong
#112 of 5,146 in Shanghai
580 reviews
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#69 of 5,146 in Shanghai
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu

Address: No.399 Jinzun Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200125, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#68 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#109 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $78 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu is conveniently located in the heart of a fast developing commercial complex in Pudong, the hotel offers easy to Kangqiao Industrial Zone and Zhangjiang High-Tech Park. The hotel is only 10 minutes away from the Shanghai New International Exhibition Center and 10 minutes away from 2010 EXPO site , only 30 minutes from Pudong International Airport and Hongqiao International Airport as well. Metro line 7 & 13 are within walking distance. Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu is committed to high quality service as well as high-value hotel experience to develop loyal customers. We are the first choice among the international brand hotels for business travel and exhibitions in Pudong area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing