We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Only average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai
Ranked #1,972 of 4,457 Hotels in Shanghai
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Whilst the price is reasonable this hotel is very ordinary. Close to our business was the reason we stayed, but I would hope to find something better next time. Hotel is under renovation so expect noise from early morning till 6pm. The free internet is very slow and frustrating but this is China!

Food was very average and Carlson Club not recognised.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    21
    22
    15
See reviews for
1
1
6
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

lack of english speaking staff

rooms are excellent & huge

atm machine at lobby , exchange machine at lobby easy to exchange with good rates.

small supper market at lobby , don't buy sim card its not worth & not working.

super market (family mart ) waling distance 5min.

Mc donald ( only NON veg) opp. to the hotel.

VEG pizza - papa johns pizza opp. hotel gate ( garden fresh)

expo center RMB 20 one way.

maglev very near to hotel just below RMB 20.

beware at maglev stn they will RMB 100+ for this property

don't choose RED taxi they are cheaters........

Indian resturant nr. to expo center RMB 20 one way (punjabi Indian cuisine) 02160751970 , average food & service with free wifi. Its bang opposite to Hotel Jumeriah

Room Tip: rooms at higher floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_huyj, Manager at Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Sad thing is,we still have 2 more nights at this place. You cannot have an international chain and no training & poor management. We are here for the ITMA FAIR & brought the kids along as we are stopping in Dubai on our way back. We were told that 4 people should not be staying in a room,that the kids should stay in a separate room. When I reminded him they were 7 & 15, unless it was a family room it was out of the question. I was offered an extra bed for an additional 150RMB & was asked whether I wanted breakfast with that - unless Casper the friendly ghost was joining us? There is no sense just madness. Did I mention wen I ordered a second glass of red wine it came in a smaller glass and please unless you are really desperate stay away !

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kandish2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

If you are planning to visit the Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, this is very convenience place to stay. The hotel is offering a shutter bus to the exhibition center for a RMB15 per person (one way). To take a cab most probably cost you RMB14-16. During exhibition period you might can't get a cab to there. You can try on the big bus no. 975 that only cost you RMB2.00 on your way back. The bus stop just next to the hotel. Try your luck if someone willing to tell you which stop you got to get off from the bus. There is a shopping mall just opposite the hotel, can't tell much on the shopping mall as we are too tired after visiting the expo. You can buy a prepaid SIM card just opposite the bus stop.
The room is clean and they upgraded me to a business room. Thanks to Mr Alex Hu.
Shower head a bit small should change to bigger one or difference design.
There are a few very good and cheap restaurants on the left just after the shopping mall.

Room Tip: High floor and facing back of the hotel, less noise from the traffic. Bring your own router as the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IreneLeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_huyj, Manager at Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Greetings from Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai! We value your feedback and appreciate your having taken time to share your perspective with us. I hope that you and your friends enjoyed the stay of our hotel.we would look forward to an opportunity to welcome you again so that we may deliver an excellent hotel experience. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me if we may be of further assistance. Thank you again for your time and thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My first trip to Shanghai, China and book this hotel had stayed in Ramada before and was not disappointed. Again a very good hotel for business travellers. Its near to Shanghai Exhibition Centre. By taxi it would cost hardly 15-17 RMB. Rooms are very much comfortable, with modern amenities and also equipped with internet. Wifi though was only available in the common lobby. Staff is also friendly, though english knowing staff is quite less. As its usual in China. My room was on 21st floor and enjoyed the view. Stayed in December last year and christmas was nearer. Breakfast was quite good and vide variety to choose from. The quality was also good.

All in all a good hotel with worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitesh_Nasit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#70 of 4,457 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Jinqiao
Ramada Plaza Pudong
Ramada Plaza Pudong
#151 of 4,457 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Century Park
DoubleTree by Hilton Shanghai Pudong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Radisson Blu Hotel Pudong Century Park
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Chateau Star River Pudong Shanghai
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Blue Horizon International Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai

Property: Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai
Address: NO. 938 Hunan Road, Shanghai 201204, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#336 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Pudong South Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing