We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the Best Indian Food!”
Review of KaiWen ChuFang

KaiWen ChuFang
Ranked #1,829 of 16,906 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Newport
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Some of the Best Indian Food!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

After 2 weeks in China, we were ready to try something different. This small restaurant on the second floor of a building across the street from the Hilton turned out to be a real delight. The manager was an Indian from Hong Kong and spoke perfect English. The atmosphere was intimate and the food delightful. It was the first time we had Goan Chicken and it was great. The garlic naan was tasty and the samosa's tasted like the samosas were as good as the street ones we had in AGRA. Dinner with Beer for two was around $50 USD.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tusenkatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    5
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lahore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food is good”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The place is centrally located, food is actually amazing. Its one of the authentic restaurants of indian food in Shanghai. I would recommend people to visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanishFIqbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ignore the negatives - this place is very special”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have eaten at Kaveen's for 7 years - at least 5 times a year - never been let down by the food or the ambiance - the management and team are first class. IT IS above a crappy bar and the TOILET is poor but what the hell - it is worth it. The curries are mind blowing and Kaveen makes ALL air India and ALL Indian cuisine out of Pu Dong Airport - they cant be that bad now can they. Add to this that they are opposite the Hilton Hotel in Jinang close to the Temple in a great french concession house... its a recipe for a great night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Indian in Shanghai”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have visited Kaveens kitchen on several occasions during the last 3-4 years.
Overall food is reasonably authentic (also made some Indian colleague happy) but a little weak in the flavoring for my taste. Portions are not huge but reasonable and filling.
Service is generally okay and once in a while the owner comes by to show some little tricks.
Beer is cold and that is nice.
Environment is a bit cramped and not very exciting.

In general it is an okay place to go to for some Indian in Shanghai. I wouldn't travel from far off in town to eat there but if I'm in the area it's okay. It is also not that expensive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zebbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dispelling incorrect reviews of this place”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have been going to Kaveen's kitchen for over 4 years, and every time my travels take me to Shanghai. For a vegetarian with a rather discerning palate for Indian food, I can't say enough good things about the place. First off, if you're staying at the Hilton, carefully cross the street to get to the other side - Shanghai traffic isn't very forgiving towards pedestrians!

I've tasted pretty much everything vegetarian in the menu and have no complaints about anything. In fact, when compared to the higher priced restaurants like Tandoor in the vicinity, the taste and value for food at Kaveen's is uncomparable. The owner Vic is very presentable, and does his best to accommodate all tastes. When I mentioned to him about the bad reviews his restaurant has been getting here, he was very gracious with the critiques, and said that it'd be difficult to satisfy every taste bud that visits the place.

I strongly disagree. I wanted my food cooked a spefic way with moderation in spices, and that's exactly what I got. My recent selections were Paneer Burji and Aloo Baingan. Traditionally, it's common to find the latter in a bath of oil. Far from it in this restaurant. Like the spice, the oil was in total moderation. The food had a very good flavour, and the service was non-stifling.

The place is small, but clean. The old French quarter where Kaveen's is located is an expensive real estate area, so don't expect an elaborate spread in space like in Tandoor. But definitely expect to spend considerably less and enjoy the delicious fare.

Place only takes cash.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KaiWen ChuFang also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to KaiWen ChuFang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing