We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dining Room at Park Hyatt Shanghai

Dining Room at Park Hyatt Shanghai
Ranked #231 of 16,842 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lujiazui
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautiful tasty food with a great selection of western and Asian food. Clean and tidy with amazing views across shanghai.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Char369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    50
    25
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Worth a visit..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you want a great view over Shanghai, and an interesting toilet experience, come here! We dropped in on the off chance of getting a table and were lucky to get a (limited time) table by the window, so we ate good food with a fab view over night time Shanghai. I wouldn't say the food was anything to write home about, and the wine was good but very dear. But it is the best view in Shanghai (until the Bamboo Shoot is complete I guess!). Now the toilets are worth a visit :-). I won't spoil the surprise but don't leave without going!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank king_alfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Probably 80% of the money pays to the brand and location. Atmosphere is above average but the food variety and quality is merely at par.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great view from Pudong side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

When we entered the Park Hyatt hotel from the ground floor, the place was dark and mysterious, with lovely pieces of contemporaty art pieces here & there. Once up to the restaurant, the views were simply stunning. Fortunately the skies were clear and we could see into the extensive developments of Pudong, but the real highlight was over the river towards The Bund. Also has a stunning close view of the Jinmao building and the latest tall building under construction next door. Ordered from the set lunch menu, and the food was okay, slightly above average in quality and taste and not terribly expensive. The dim sum set consisted of good variety of items to try, the baby abalone set was delightful and the salmon set had a creamy delicous mashed potato side dish. I personally really enjoyed visiting the bathroom very much - do try the electronic gadgets for a uniquely different and high tech soothing experience (perhaps a little known secret when visiting this restaurant!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GourmandV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHP_Zuidervliet
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very disappionting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've been here once before exact same place and almost the same seats and previously it was a great experience. This time it was a very different story.

To begin we had a reservation for 6 people, we asked for a table next to the window but at arrival they positioned us in the back against a wall so you have pretty much no view. I would understand it if it was busy but at arrival (and throughout the whole ordeal) there were not more then 2 other tables taken. After talking with the manager they did manage to change the table albeit instead of using 3 tables they used 2 so we had to sit a bit crowded.

Then the food itself, last time it was a la carte, this time this was not possible and only a brunch-set available. Again, if it was busy, I could understand but it was empty. The brunch menu was alright but for a park hyatt not to exciting.

The food itself was quite lengthy with different flavors and a variety of tastes. In general not bad but still in general not great either. For drinks (again on the brunch menu) was a large set of drinks but nothing to great (great orange juice though). Compared to the a la carte it was as previously mentioned just a big disappointment and my friends were more then unhappy about it. What bothered most is that while European/French food can take some time for a bunch of small bites it took more then 2 hours, small refills took quite some time except for the bill they were very fast. We ended up paying 500 Rmb pp for a mediocre lengthy lunch.

To top it off when we departed there were no taxi's available and we had to wait. Not coming back here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JHP_Zuidervliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining Room at Park Hyatt Shanghai also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Dining Room at Park Hyatt Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing