We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice gardens, would be better at the right time of year.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Botanical Garden

Shanghai Botanical Garden
Ranked #87 of 1,310 things to do in Shanghai
Attraction details
Toronto
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice gardens, would be better at the right time of year.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Gardens are nice, however is a little dry in the summer months.

Great if you want to see lots of lotus flowers!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank melbourne505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    48
    19
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stunning Spring gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were unsure about visiting these gardens as the TA reviews were not so positive, and in fact there was only 1 original English review. Nevertheless, we decided to go ahead, and what a fabulous day we had. It was a day after Labour Day, so the gardens were quiet, and with gorgeous weather, clear blue skies, and temperatures in the twenties, everything was perfect.
We paid 40 RmB, which included entry to the Bonsai garden(Penjing Garden) and the conservatory.
We started at Entrance gate 4, and were immediately greeted with huge beds of different coloured petunias, pansies, agapanthus, and then beautiful hanging baskets in full bloom.
Our next stop was the Penjing gardens. Not normally a huge fan of bonsai specimens, but these gardens were a revelation. The layout was so tasteful and it was such a peaceful, tranquil setting. (A great place for our picnic lunch.) We followed the simple directions to make for the various gardens and saw delightfully huge peonies, magnificent roses, azeleas of all colours in abundance - the camera was working overtime. Light classical music played out in several areas, and whilst this may seem a bit tacky, it did somehow add to the relaxing atmosphere.
After several hours trying to absorb the magnificence of the displays, we finally went in to the conservatory and there found orchid displays rivalling those of Singapore, albeit on a smaller scale.
To find the gardens, take the metro line 3 to Shilong Lu station. Leave the platform, go through the little subway, and make for the pedestrian bridge over the main road. Continue straight on this road and in about 10 minutes you reach Entrance gate 4 for the gardens.
Clearly Spring is a great time to visit, and apparently it's best to avoid weekends. If you enjoy gardens, then this will not disappoint.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank IanandDorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Garden Wrong Entrance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have just spent a very pleasant day wandering about this park which had a superb display of Azaleas in flower. It is spacious and it would take days to walk every path. If you want a nice day surrounded by greenery and open space in Shanghai it is the place to be but probably not at the weekend or if you are a plant specialist seeking to widen your knowledge.

WARNING most of the Garden maps on the inernet including the one on my IPad are wrong. There is no longer a West Entrance to the Garden! There is now a North Entrance ( no 4) . This is less than ten minutes walk from Shilong Road MRT station on line 3. From the station cross the pedestrian bridge over Shilong Road and walk down Dongquan Rd, the Garden is at the end. Once again Shanghai can change faster then the map makers. I found this out the hard way!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Mallyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Nice park but poor Botanical Garden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I am a tree nut and going to Botanical Gardens around the world is one of my most enjoyable experiences. I have been to 60-70 gardens around the world. This garden is a well kept and spacious but seriously lacks variety in tree species. There is a definate lack of identification or labeling of the species they do have. Very limited shrubs or ground covers. Nice large indoor green house. A pleasant walk but if you are looking to learn about the local trees or vegatation you will be dissapointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 525DennisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Plains
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice visit... nicely manicured and a good day to be outdoors. Go when its not so hot or not so cold... as in any trip in summer shanghai its really too hot be outside.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ji R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Botanical Garden also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing