We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice museum, too small for a big city like Shanghai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Lab (MOCA Shanghai)

Art Lab (MOCA Shanghai)
Ranked #162 of 1,310 things to do in Shanghai
Attraction details
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A nice museum, too small for a big city like Shanghai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Moca, a museum of contemporary Chinese art, is nicely situated in the Peoples Park. Moca is a museum with a lot of pretense and respect. We had been there once walked along without us had in mind that this was a museum. A very nice museum with surprising and beautiful art. Unfortunately it was exhibited limited in size and the museum is not that big. We would have liked to seen more here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frans v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Small space, mediocre art”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

On the outside, the modern architecture and prime location in People's Park seemed to promise an interesting modern art collection, but once inside we found a surprisingly amateurish works--somewhat interesting, but not particularly engaging nor challenging. Maybe it's better to think of this space as a large gallery rather than a small museum--we assume the exhibits rotate, and the exhibit during our visit, "Existence" will likely be gone by the time you read this review.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoMuchToSeeAndDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A nice art gallery, don't miss the cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This art gallery (It's not a museam) located in the People's park is a short walk from Shanghai Art Museam. My advise is to check who exhibits, but if you don't want to pay and go thru the gallery, don't miss the cafe on the top of the building (3F, it has an access from outside also). The cafe is a very stylish place to have a short coffee break or even lunch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gulu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
211 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

The MOCA Shanghai (aka Museum of Contempory Art) in Shanghai's Peoples' Park, was very disappointing especially after a visit to the nearby Shanghai Museum of Art. It is small and quickly visited. Perhaps had I visited during a different special exhibition, I would have enjoyed it more, but other than the building's construction, and one represented artist, it offered little of value. It cost 30Y, or about $5 USD and offered two floors of art. Having been mentally prepared to enjoy this museum, I was quite disappointed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“nice little museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

When we visited, the upper floor had pretty safe and unexciting stuff, but the ground floor was stronger. Still, you're done in 20 minutes. If you're looking for more challenging art, and willing to do a lot of walking and brave the paint fumes, the gallery area around Moganshan Road (m97, etc.) will be more rewarding. But MOCA is a nice little building, has a quirky shop, and a plausible restaurant. If you're in the area and interested in art, look in.

Cab drivers have no idea about this place -- you're better off asking for the Shanghai Art Museum (which is next door), or just taking the metro and walking across People's Park (an interesting scene in itself).

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank chienandalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Lab (MOCA Shanghai) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Art Lab (MOCA Shanghai)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing