We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West
Ranked #140 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Hotel is reatively new. But the common parts were dark (lights were off) and very cold there was also little regard to no smoking in the hotel and restaurant!!
The rooms were fine and warm. Some of the front desk staff need a little more training in people skills.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Az0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Director of Sales & Marketing at Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your positive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate such feedback. We all do hope when you visit Shanghai again in the future, you will once again stay with us at the Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West.

Best regards,
Alan Chang
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 152 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2010

We booked this hotel through our travel agent. It was bit difficult to locate/reach the hotel from Shanghai airport (May be because it was my first time in China). Little out of city, but really peaceful.

The morning breakfast was more than a delight and we enjoyed. The food quality as well as taste was excellent. Only problem is the hotel staff need little more English knowledge to interact with clients.

Overall it was a pleasant stay and high quality hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rakesh_rp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Director of Sales & Marketing at Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your positive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate such feedback. We all do hope when you visit Shanghai again in the future, you will once again stay with us at the Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West.

Best regards,
Alan Chang
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

.... althoug the location is NOT excellent. But that's why the value is good. In the city centre of Shanghai it would not be possible. The neighbourhood of the hotel by the way is worth seeing. It's what most tourists would not see when they come to China: lower tier suburban living. As a westerner you'll be really outstanding in the streets. but give it a try, to to the shops and restaurants...
There is nothing to complain about the hotel itself. Everything is new (August 2010), staff is a bit cool, but professional. The girls at the bar and restaurant are of good will (welcome drink should be coke, sprite water ecc. but I asked for a juice and it was ok) Fitness, pool, spa, all good. It even smells new, and the style is also quite simplistic... like that.
Only negative point were the costs for printing in a4. I can't remember exactly but for about 20-30 pages I payed a sum that the people on the street could make a living with for a few weeks. Thats exaggerated.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnxj, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments and endorsement of our Hotel. We are pleased that your stay has exceeded your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Thanks so much for visiting Holiday Inn Shanghai West.
The Team
Holiday Inn Shanghai West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Not you atypical Holiday Inn. Room is clean and big, good size bath, modern amenities i.e. IPOD/IPhone docking station, and aircon is quiet. It's somewhat located out of middle of nowhere, but I can deal with the brief cab transfer to the neareast subway station (East Xujing on Line 2), and the station is about 5 stops away (20-30 minutes subway ride) from the CBD. Remind you that a night stay at Shangri-la is twice of this place and that was pre-expo.

The only drawback is that internet access through cat-5 cable costs up to 20 bucks per day. Understand everyone wants to make ends meet, but surely can use other means.

It's about 10 to 15 minutes car ride to Hongqiao Airport.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redsoxnationfareast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Director of Sales & Marketing at Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your positive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate such feedback. We all do hope when you visit Shanghai again in the future, you will once again stay with us at the Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West.

Best regards,
Alan Chang
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

the hotel is a bit far from city center from Shanghai, we chose this hotel as we need to take a flight from Hongqiao airport, and certainly no hassel of city traffic jam whatsoever. Hotel itself is perfect, nice rooms, comfortable bed, towel.

Depends on how much you can get for hotel stay and where you are going in Shanghai, this could be on my top list of htoels to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishermmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Director of Sales & Marketing at Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your positive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate such feedback. We all do hope when you visit Shanghai again in the future, you will once again stay with us at the Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West.

Best regards,
Alan Chang
Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alvin Y, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai New...
#2,102 of 5,206 in Shanghai
72 reviews
Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao
#130 of 5,206 in Shanghai
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai New International Expo Center
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
Holiday Inn Shanghai Jinxiu
#113 of 5,206 in Shanghai
203 reviews
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
#116 of 5,206 in Shanghai
556 reviews
Sofitel Shanghai Hongqiao
#86 of 5,206 in Shanghai
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West

Address: No.2000 Huqingping Road, Qingpu District, Shanghai 201702, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#71 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#89 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#127 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $84 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, an international 4 star hotel is located at 2000 Huqingping Road, Xujing, Qingpu District, only 8 minutes’ drive from the National Exhibition and Convention Center (NECC) as well as East Xujing Station Metro Line 2, 15 minutes’ drive from Hongqiao International Airport as well as Hongqiao Railway Station, 20 minutes’ drive from Sheshan National Park as well as Happy Valley, 30 minutes’ drive from Shanghai South Railway Station, 45 minutes’ drive from Zhujiajiao Ancient Town as well as Oriental Land, 60 minutes’ drive from Pudong International Airport. The hotel is surrounded by various amenities and malls within 5-15 minutes’ drive, including Bailian Outlets Plaza, Mega Mills, Carrefour, Yintao Golf Club, Decathlon and B&Q. Four major expressways nearby enable it to be a great link to Zhejiang and Jiangsu provinces. The hotel offers its guests regular complimentary shuttle bus to&from East Xujing Station Metro Line 2 as well as NECC. Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West is operated by world-leading InterContinental Hotels Group and it is equipped with an All-day dining Restaurant, Crossroads Pub, Lobby Lounge, Chinese restaurant, Japanese restaurant, Business Center, Indoor swimming pool, gym and Spa, which gives guests a taste of global delicacy without stepping out. The hotel offers also laundry service, currency exchange, tickets service and so on; the neighbouring office building holds a convenience store, Italian restaurant and chafing dish restaurant. The hotel provides 400 elegantly designed rooms and suites; a 480sqm of pillar-free ballroom and a 635sqm of grand ballroom together with 6 function rooms can accommodate up to 1,600 people meeting, partying, training or other activities at the same time. The hotel’s graceful environment, complete amenities, courteous service and convenient transportation make it an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai West Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing