We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Close to Hongqiao” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West
Ranked #166 of 4,454 Hotels in Shanghai
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Close to Hongqiao”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple of times because it is convenient to the Hongqiao train station. It's much better than the Holiday Inn Express which is about a half mile down the road and rather sparse. The room was very clean. There was a bit of mold in the shower and it did not drain very well otherwise everything was fine. The desk staff are very nice and their English was appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3CTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnxj, Public Relations Manager at Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your experience. In order to offer guests warmer living experience, we are constantly updated and improve the facilities and equipment. In this process, there may be some details was not perfect. We are very willing to listen to your valuable suggestions and timely to improve the shortage place. At last, thank you again for your detailed review and it really help us improve service. Looking forward to hearing from you next time.
Best Regards,
The team
Holiday Inn Shanghai West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    66
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
6
7
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Holiday Inn Shanghai West is well situated for the business traveler that is not planning to stay in Shanghai. I travel mostly to cities within about 500km of Shanghai and this hotel is always my go-to base of choice. It is situated about 15-20 minutes from Hongqiao Airport (SHA) and the new Hongqiao Railway station, so I can get to most cities from here easily.
The hotel is relatively quiet with an excellent and responsive staff eager to please. There are all of the things you would expect from a Holiday Inn, as well as a Family Mart convenience store on the property.
The rooms are standard fare for Holiday Inn in China. Large comfortable rooms with all of the amenities. The glass top desk is a nice touch, and includes a very comfortable office chair. The bath was well equipped, although the spartan complimentary toiletries make it clear you are in a mid-market hotel, not the high-market hotel the rest of the surroundings imply.

In short, this is my favorite choice when I am not visiting the city center of Shanghai, and just passing through. It saves at least an hour exiting Pudong, and is close to all sorts of transportation.

Room Tip: I suggest a room on the back of the building. The hotel is located at a busy intersection and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vzqk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnxj, Public Relations Manager at Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments and endorsement of our Hotel. We are pleased that your stay has exceeded your expectations,
I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Thanks so much for visiting Holiday Inn Shanghai West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a great place to stay. Maybe it is not the newest hotel or on the bund, but it's people and service are what keeps me coming back. The rooms are very nice and the food is just fine. They will make how ever you ask. This hotels staff knows how to provide top notch service

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnxj, Public Relations Manager at Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments and endorsement of our Hotel. We are pleased that your stay has exceeded your expectations,
I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Thanks so much for visiting Holiday Inn Shanghai West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

very nice n' equipped rooms,
very good air conditioned (a must in the humid city)
all you need for business n' pleasure
just a few minutes from Hongqiao airport
but yet out of the busy nosy life as shanghai can be

very recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank consultant c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnxj, Public Relations Manager at Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments and endorsement of our Hotel. We are pleased that your stay has exceeded your expectations,
I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Thanks so much for visiting Holiday Inn Shanghai West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
257 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Its close to Hongqiao airport and train station. It's a new hotel. I ordered a club room and received a regular room after complaining they upgraded me to a unimpressive junior suite.
The pool ceiling and walls were moldy and the chunks of paint were peeling off very repulsing check in and check out took ages.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mashgiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnxj, Public Relations Manager at Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments and endorsement of our Hotel. We are pleased that your stay has exceeded your expectations,
I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Thanks so much for visiting Holiday Inn Shanghai West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I liked this hotel. It's close to subway and there's things to do walking distance. Clean American style.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mwar1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnxj, Public Relations Manager at Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and endorsement of our Hotel. We are pleased that your stay has exceeded your expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Thanks so much for visiting Holiday Inn Shanghai West.
The team
Holiday Inn Shanghai West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

holiday inn shanghai is in a very central location of the city. the shanghai metro station is 5 mins walk from the hotel. there are supermarkets and supply store around the hotel. one can hail a cab or a bus right outside the gate of the hotel. all the major tourist places and shopping malls are within 15mins motorable distance even in peak traffic hours.

the hotel is a of very good standard like many other holiday inn chain. the rooms are of decent size. the toilets are compact with hot & cold water supply. the water prehssure could be worked upon though. the buffet breakfast spread is quite extensive with lots of choice and variety. the service of staff is very courteous and warm.. over all a very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: please specify 2 separate beds if travelling with a colleague for business as they may give you a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donzajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai New...
#2,313 of 4,454 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
G-Luxe Hongqiao Shanghai
#177 of 4,454 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Holiday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao
#135 of 4,454 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Howard Johnson Hong Qiao Airport...
#1,929 of 4,454 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Holiday Inn Express Shanghai Jinsha
Changshou Road
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
Holiday Inn Shanghai Vista
#91 of 4,454 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West

Property: Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West
Address: No.2000 Huqingping Route, Qingpu District, Shanghai 201702, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#64 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#89 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#146 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hoilday Inn Shanghai Hongqiao West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shanghai West Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing