We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great snack food but not often”

Yang' s Fry-Dumpling(Wujiang Store)
Ranked #10 of 16,893 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Jing'an
Edmonton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great snack food but not often”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

It's worth checking these out for the experience of trying deep-fried dumplings, but I was not blown away by them. It's fast food or snack food at most. I prefer steam dumplings myself.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank QuinceM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    166
    41
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Fresh made dumplings, juicy and hot. What can you get with ¥6 for 4 dumplings. Best value as a trial for local snacks.
Also tried the tofu rice noodle soup but disappointed

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcbella113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Must go. Don't be shy. It is THE comfort food.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have been a fan since 2005. This is THE ONLY place I would visit every time I am in PVG, rain or shine. This is the best food I had in China for decades. I mean China in general. I pray they keep the operations forever. It would be devastating if they are gone one day. You know, you close the business and retire when you make enough money. Or they sold their business and the original recipe is lost.
These pan fried pork buns are very very affordable, full of favor (magic ingredients), prepare well (Crispy bun bottom , soft bun outside and juicy filling inside), always consistent (no disappointment so far) and convenient (many branches around Shanghai). I even influenced/trained most of my friends and colleagues (Italian, German, French) to start searching for this place for a quick bite.
You will see a line outside the restaurant very often. Be patience. Don't speak Chinese? No problem. You point at the buns onsite and just tell them how many you want. One is about a small fist size. 6 is always a good number :) Don't know where they are? No problem. They have a location map on their website. Ask your Chinese friend to help you out. Or if you are curious enough, browse the website youself. http://www.xysjg.com/
In short. Try it. It's a very very satisfying local experience. I always make this recommendation to my friends, coworkers, business partners, even STRANGERS.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SL65-Cora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious snack”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Its really tasty and cheap, have never eaten this kind of snack in other part of Asia, it is really juicy inside the pan fried bun, if you have never tried it before, I'd say it is a must try! we also ordered a sour and spicy noodle it was also not bad but not the main course of the restaurant. Be careful when you start eating the pan fried bun it's really hot inside!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good dumplings if you want them fast”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Good dumplings if you just want a snack. Was walking around nanjing road when I found this restaurant as it was recommended to me by my friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yang' s Fry-Dumpling(Wujiang Store) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Yang' s Fry-Dumpling(Wujiang Store)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing