We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
Ranked #1,289 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Location from the Bund and Nanjing Road was perfect. Both very close. The wifi is a bit complicated to get onto, but it was free. The staff was helpful when we needed them. The only thing I did not appreciate, as a travelling family, was the card put under our door for an escort service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    32
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
12
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

it was clean and very well placed a few minutes walk from the Bund and from Nanjing pedestrian road. If you're looking for a cheap, clean place in a convenient location- this one fits the description (it's on Xianggang rd, not on Hongkong rd).
Internet a bit slow and the staff lack a lot in term of services, but at least they speak English.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RalucaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

small and cozy, value for money thanks to the great location which is very near to the bunch.
local food nearby is good and cheep.
the staff can speak English and friendly.
the double room is small but warm and clean, even in winter.

Room Tip: try the private room with double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThuyNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

(1) The reception girl is pretty "cool" - she never smiles, never says even a single extra word.
(2) Room is not cleaned (family room).
(3) Wifi is slow, and the configuration is pretty complicated.
(4) The floor in toilet is very wet.

前台那位姐姐,我想要么我欠了她20万,要么她这个月的大姨妈太过猛烈,要么我长的太不像洋人,那脸叫一个臭啊。姐姐 我试过了,笑一下或者多说个你好真的不会死哦!全世界也住个不少低端酒店或者青年旅舍,无一例外都是被很友善的staff服务,上海这家是我见过最“冷”的。但是前台那位姐姐对洋人的态度却温暖很多啊,满脸菊花绽放啊。。。

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank liuxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

A very average hostel. Good location for the bund and east Nanjing road. Staff are ok, but will not go out of there way to help you. Room was not bad, quite clean, but smelt of smoke. Hard to write more here, but overall not a bad place. Make sure you take the trippy underwater train to the other side of Shanghai. Definitely recommend having a few beers before you go, as this would add to the fun :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ap_0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Dock Bund hostel in a double room with attached bath. The room was clean, tidy and came with toiletries and other random items (matches, slippers, tea).
The staff was friendly and spoke English well.
The location is great for seeing the sights and easy to access the metro. The hostel is easy to find and we'll sign posted.
We were in room 6303 and the wifi did not reach the well. If you are going for Internet, look for a room closer to the other end of the hall by the wifi box. Upstairs is a common room where you can sit and have better Internet service. The room had a view of the neighboring business storage, but it stayed dark in the morning which was good for sleeping in.
I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suttonase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My sister and I arrived in Shanghai almost midnight so we assumed that the metro stations were already closed. So we have no choice but to use the taxi. But if you're arriving in Shanghai during normal hours of train operation, i'll suggest to buy an all day pass for 16-18 yuan/pp ( can't remember exactly because my sister was the one who paid for it) and head to East Nanjing Road and take exit 6 once you've reached the mentioned stop. From there xianggang road (street for the hotel) would be at least 10mins walk including the time that you have to check for the street names. Staff was super friendly and very helpful. They will try to communicate to you in English as much as they can so ask them as much as you want. The Bund is nearby the hotel so take some time to walk around the area to familiarize yourself. We're given room 6319. Its the furthest room on the 3rd floor, so wifi connection was really hard because the router is located few feet from the elevator. Room was ok for a twin bed. Adequate space. Quiet during the night but theres a construction for a building just outside your window so expect drilling and all sorts of noises as early as 6ish in the morning. No restaurant or fitness center so its n/a.

Room Tip: Near the elevator as they have better wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnValeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#186 of 4,971 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Hongkou
Broadway Mansions Hotel
Broadway Mansions Hotel
#154 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Swatch Art Peace Hotel
Swatch Art Peace Hotel
#328 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,433 of 4,971 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
The Bund
Bund Garden Hotel
Bund Garden Hotel
#714 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel

Property: Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel
Address: No.55 Hongkong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (Formerly Nanlin Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,289 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Shanghai Dock Bund Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing