We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 3 out of 5”

Sushi Boutique Hotel Shanghai Waitan Center
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sushi Boutique Hotel Shanghai Waitan Center
Ranked #1,408 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My 3 out of 5”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My sister and I arrived in Shanghai almost midnight so we assumed that the metro stations were already closed. So we have no choice but to use the taxi. But if you're arriving in Shanghai during normal hours of train operation, i'll suggest to buy an all day pass for 16-18 yuan/pp ( can't remember exactly because my sister was the one who paid for it) and head to East Nanjing Road and take exit 6 once you've reached the mentioned stop. From there xianggang road (street for the hotel) would be at least 10mins walk including the time that you have to check for the street names. Staff was super friendly and very helpful. They will try to communicate to you in English as much as they can so ask them as much as you want. The Bund is nearby the hotel so take some time to walk around the area to familiarize yourself. We're given room 6319. Its the furthest room on the 3rd floor, so wifi connection was really hard because the router is located few feet from the elevator. Room was ok for a twin bed. Adequate space. Quiet during the night but theres a construction for a building just outside your window so expect drilling and all sorts of noises as early as 6ish in the morning. No restaurant or fitness center so its n/a.

Room Tip: Near the elevator as they have better wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnValeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    32
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
12
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in a triple room for three nights. We would barely recommend this hostel to other travellers.

The staff was overall friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious, although there was a big window with a curtain from the bathroom to the bedroom, so you could show off to your roommates while you're showering or taking a dump if you wanted to.

The corridors were rather worn and smelly and there was no obvious common area for hanging out or eating your own food. More like a hotel, actually, but there was no restaurant.

The shared bathrooms on the top floor were adequate. There were laundry machines, but the clothesline was outside the window and a bit awkward to hang your clothes.

Location is good, close to the river and shopping streets. The information email they sent contained lots of useful information about how to get to the hostel from different locations. It's still a bit of a walk from the closest metro station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked 3 rooms at the Dock Bund for a mini break in Shanghai with friends. Before arriving at the hostel we received communications from the Reception staff with top tips on cheapest ways to get to the hostel, a map of the local area and tips on how not to get ripped off by taxi drivers, this was very useful. We found the hostel with no problems and were able to check in early when we arrived which was much appreciated. Our rooms had en suite facilities, they were clean with basic amenities (hair dryer, TV with English news channel, adapter and extension leads), the showers were fantastic and beds comfortable. On our floor there was free Wifi which was very handy for us. The hostel is just a short walk (10 minutes) from East Nanjing Road metro station and the main shopping street, it's also located a short distance (5 minute walk) from the Bund. Surrounding the hostel are convenience stores and restaurants. We found the reception staff to be friendly, helpful, welcoming and very attentive. A couple of the staff were English speaking and went completely above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. I was very impressed with the customer service and would not hesitate in staying here in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriztine3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Staff is friendly, the room are spacious, we did not get replace any amenity or clean our room while we stay there. Location is great 8 minutes from main attractions, restaurants and a supermarket. Room was clean, bed was Asian style hard.

There are restaurants close to the hotel on the main avenue. The one on the corner is almost double compare to the one 2 mts away, which has better selection and with a picture menu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Jinjiang Metropolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Off Bund
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,509 of 5,059 in Shanghai
55 reviews
The Bund
The Peninsula Shanghai
The Peninsula Shanghai
#8 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bund
Fairmont Peace Hotel
Fairmont Peace Hotel
#7 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,902 reviews
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#177 of 5,059 in Shanghai
128 reviews
The Bund
No photo provided
Hanting Express Shanghai Sichuan...
#2,519 of 5,059 in Shanghai
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sushi Boutique Hotel Shanghai Waitan Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sushi Boutique Hotel Shanghai Waitan Center

Property: Sushi Boutique Hotel Shanghai Waitan Center
Address: No.55 Hongkong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (Formerly Nanlin Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,408 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Hotel Class:2 star — Sushi Boutique Hotel Shanghai Waitan Center 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sushi Boutique Hotel Shanghai Waitan Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing