We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shabby but good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

A great place to start a trip to China. Wonderful location, right in the heart of authentic Shanghai with not a shopping mall in sight, nor many annoying tourists.

Amenities were efficient and unintimidating to Westerners, though the shower was up to no good.

Great restaurant across the road: do try the BBQ pigeon, and the jellyfish is a must. Stay away from the hand held devices or the steamed halogen tongue.

Staff were friendly, though a little concerned about the violent bank robber whose most wanted poster leered menacingly at reception. The air con worked well too, and the water was warm.

Room Tip: Choose the room with working air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    94
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
15
49
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My first time to China and this was the best place to stay! We were there for Chinese New Year and it even snowed! Stayed in the dorm rooms and met with a great bunch of people who we celebrated with at a neat by club. The staff are friendly and the food at the restaurant cheap and delicious. Walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trizzia710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Everything was perfect!! Room really spacious and staff really nice. Also very very clean! Only problem the location is in a road which smells bad sometimes..but it's not an issue!! Overall, really nice hostel for visiting shanghai!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fede_Ita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

This is a cheap hotel rather than hostel, so don't expect a sociable experience, but it is good value (23 pounds a night for a double ensuite) and well located, and the staff speak English and are helpful.
There is a quite nice roof terrace that serves a reasonable breakfast of toasted fried egg and salad sandwiches, coffee and orange juice for an expensive 45 yuan (4 pounds 50). It is probably the best breakfast option on the street as no free breakfast is provided. The aircon was noisy and there was a lot of noise from outside despite the fact we were not on the street side. Wouldn't be my first choice if I were to return to shanghai, but you could do much worse.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatkathydid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Located near People's Square and Shanghai's main street East Nanjing Road, most sights are within walking distance. The rooms were big, inviting and clean, and the free drinking water was a nice touch - this is trully more of a hotel than a hostel. The shower head could use a fix, though. Staff were helpful, and the rooftop bar is a good hangout spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's our first hostel in china so I don't know if it's better than standard or really that poor. We came from Laos and Thailand and always have been very happy with hostels. This time not! We arrived in the middle of the night, had a reservation for a 6 dorm, had to go in a double (ok, not that bad). We had toilet paper, tv, tooth paste and tooth brush, soap in the room and i heard that they got cleaned every day. Next morning we wanted to move in ours for the next three nights but they told us that there's only a 8 dorm left, although we booked about 4 months in advance!!! So we didn't have a chance ... The 8 dorm never got cleaned, the bathroom was horrible dirty, we didn't get toilet paper, two people were staying there because of internships so they thought ehty had all rights. People just didn't care about sleeping time, turning off the lights or being quiet in the morning. It was horrible to sleep. In Vientiane we stayed in a 16 dorm and everybody was caring about the others, such a big difference ... The sheets were clean, the beds hard, not always wifi connection, smelly in the whole hostel. Stuff was nice but also kind of weird. We asked them in advance to book train tickets for us because we didn't know how it is in china. They charged 62 rmb serving fee and it was just a reservation. We had to get the tickets by ourselves at the train station. So just go there by yourself, at the main station there's an english speaking counter. Works pretty well.
Location is good!
Food at the restaurant is ok, but ask for the second menu card, not the one with snake head soup. Tis one is just expensive and the stuff is not good at all. Staff at the restaurant seemed to be annoyed by guests, they don't speak english at all.
If you wanna go to another village try to get as many information as possible, also use the Internet. They told us to do it by ourselves but they didn't tell us how hard it is to get tickets in the other villages or any information (the garden village we have been to was just another big city, don't think that you are in a small village with only about 100 people living there)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed at The Phoenix for 4 nights with a friend in mid-July 2012. We had a private ensuite room, and it felt more like a hotel than a hostel. The staff cleaned our room every day (without us requesting it) and everyone that worked there spoke good English. The restaurant on the ground floor was great and inexpensive. In general, I liked the location due to all the food nearby, the proximity to major tourist sights (i.e. the Bund, Yuyuan Garden, markets), and the fact that the general busyness of the area meant there were always taxis to pick us up and taxi drivers understood where we wanted to go when traveling back to the hotel. The staff also let us keep our bags there for a few hours after checking out but before we left for the airport. They also did laundry for us.

The rooftop area is okay. There is an outdoor section with picnic tables and an indoor section where the actual bar is located along with some chairs/couches, a few computers that are free to use, an acoustic guitar, etc. We didn't really see too many people up on the rooftop so I wouldn't expect to meet a ton of people there but it was still a nice addition.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
Zhongshan Park
Rock & Wood International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)

Property: Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)
Address: No.17 Yunnan Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 292 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix) 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing