We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“truly special chinese deco spot in shanghai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pei Mansion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pei Mansion Hotel
Ranked #1,839 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“truly special chinese deco spot in shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

everything in the hotel is pefctly kept. that makes this place a truly special chinese deco spot in shanghai. Perfect location in the middle of everything but once you enter the door you are in a different world. lovely garden and pond.
the staff dont speak english that well but they will try their best to help.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clody17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
13
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were very welcomed by the front desk upon arrival. The gentleman who showed us the room introduced us to the history of the old house and the family. If you are interested, he will be happy to explain the structure and stories behind which was like staying in a museum with a tour guide!

Only down side was the first room we were given, there was a pair of used slippers by the bed. Inititally I thought is part of the service but they were dirty.... not very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We loved the charm and history that has been maintained in this beautiful boutique hotel. The friendly staff and the level of service from them created such a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The room had an old world charm with a luxurious bathroom. The location was very central to the shopping centres and train station. It was truly an oasis with lawn, water feature and fish pond surrounded by the bustle of this busy city. We highly recommend Pei Mansion Hotel to anyone travelling to Shanghai for business or pleasure.
Terry & Colleen McCleery

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed several hotels with 5stars, Pei Mansion was the wonderful hotel I have ever stayed in. I love the design of it. Such attention to details; the luxury and elegant lobby is a really work of art. The room I stayed in gave me tending feelings. I love the comfortable bed and great bath. The conveniently location and great service also left me an indelible impression. Overall is one word: Great! I would like to stay here again if I go to Shanghai. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great service and good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selina W, Manager at Pei Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thanks for you nice reviews,.Located in the bustling downtown Shanghai, the garden of Pei Mansion was built after the Suzhou gardens, just like a heaven of peace. The Mansion’s main building is all with Art Deco style. Hope to see you next time .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We couldn't have wished for a more beautiful stay in Shanghai. PEI Mansion, with it's magnificent history, elegant design and a staff that could not do more to make us welcome, was a genuine joy. Thankfully this beautiful boutique hotel has retained it's architectural detail, fine wood work, high ceilings, lavish bathrooms and lovely furnishings. There is an energy and style about the hotel that reflects the charm of 1930's Shanghai with a modern day standard of service. This was truly an unforgettable experience no 'new' trendy hotel could match. My brother, sister-in-law and I visited and would welcome the opportunity to return to this little jewel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selina W, Manager at Pei Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thanks for your good reviews and we will try our best to give every guest a nice stay. Waiting for your next coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

What an amazing hotel. Small and very well staffed. A wonderful spiral staircase with the shape of a Dragon all the way down. Top floor room has a large walk out balcony, large enough for a party of it's own. Excellent location just off the main shopping street. I will be returning to Shanghai next March and will definitely book at the Pei Mansion.

Room Tip: Loved the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btwatsvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selina W, Manager at Pei Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
The Dragon Stairs was first bulit in 1934. It is one of the logo of this building. Mr Pei want to pass lots of information from this stair to his family members. Thanks for your detail reviews and see you in March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Pei Mansion is a small hotel in an old mansion in the center of Shanghai. The location is great - walking distance to Jing'an Temple and Nanjing West Road (shopping district). Taxis to the Bund are around 30 RMB. The rooms are clean, neat and have a Jacuzzi.

What made this hotel exceptional for us was the service. Staff was extremely attentive since the very beginning. I lost some money on the floor of the entrance hall and they brought it to the room immediately. Before we left it was raining and rush hour, so it was very hard to get a taxi. Subsequently two staff members went to different streets to stop a taxi for us to get to the airport and finally managed to do so. We recommend this hotel to everybody who prefers a nice, small hotel with great service to one of the multinational chains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selina W, Manager at Pei Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Service is everything for a hotel. And thank you for your really really good reviews . We are always at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#154 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Le Sun Chine
Le Sun Chine
#445 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#37 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#42 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#61 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#145 of 4,966 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pei Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pei Mansion Hotel

Property: Pei Mansion Hotel
Address: No.170 Nanyang Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,839 of 4,966 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pei Mansion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1934, the building was designed for the family of the famous architect I.M. Pei (Louvre Pyramid, Paris). The PEI Mansion with its lush garden, is a luxurious oasis set in middle of downtown Shanghai. With its unique historical heritage, the PEI Mansion captures the essence of old Shanghai, a period when this great city was considered the ‘Paris of the Orient’. The building design reflects this wonderful by gone era with its graceful fusion of Classic French and Asian architecture that made Shanghai one of the world’s most beautiful and elegant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Pei Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing