We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical and elegant hotel”
Review of Pei Mansion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pei Mansion Hotel
Ranked #705 of 5,102 Hotels in Shanghai
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Historical and elegant hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

This is a wonderful, historical old home (build in the 1930s) which has recently been renovated into a boutique hotel with a luxurious and elegant feel to it. It is a combination of Colonial, with its lovely design and architecture and ancient Chinese with its traditional style Chinese furniture. The foyer is grand and stylish with deep pile carpet, lounges, tall ceilings which opens to a large, walled front garden in traditional Chinese style with gold fish ponds, wondering paths and little bridges. To one room off the foyer/reception is another room which houses an amazing spiral staircase, which gives testimony to the building’s grand “hey-day”.

The room we had (which wasn’t top of the line) was certainly big enough for us. It had lush carpets, a big and reasonably comfortable bed, TV, a large traditional writing desk, good air conditioning, a safe and cupboard space. The interesting thing was the safe wasn’t secured down within the cupboard. The furniture is period, dark wood, Chinese style with light fittings, bedroom and bathroom doors to match the style. The wardrobe had see-through doors with complementary robes and slippers. There was tea/coffee making facilities and complementary chocolates – a nice touch. Breakfast is served in the room and it was nice enough.

The bathroom was magnificent with the biggest and deepest bathtub I’ve ever seen in a hotel room. So big it had a step to be able to get in and out. The tiles were marble inlay and the bathroom had gold trim on a clear and frosted glass divider and a mirror the length of the bathtub. The shower fittings are up-market and complementary products were the lovely “L’Occitane en Provence” brand. The towels were thick and large. The toilet was both a toilet and bidet in one and has to be seen to be believed. Everything was clean and spotless. This room certainly made for a rich and lush feel to our stay.

The location is reasonably good and close to the city centre. If you’re after name-brand shopping then this is the area for you with just a short walk to the very up-market shopping area of Shanghai. We only stayed for 2 nights and therefore didn’t really get a feel for the area. We walked a long way to the train station but think we could have walked to one much closer. Travelling by train in Shanghai is easy and convenient. We mainly used taxis, particularly at the end of a long day of walking. The area is safe and in walking distance to Jing’an Temple.

We got our room for a very good price on-line so it was great value for money. I would certainly recommend this hotel. It is beautiful, elegant and takes you a step back in time to the early 1930s of Shanghai. It’s an amazing city and well worth the visit if you’re in China.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
14
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

+ large and luxurious room w/11' ceilings and wide crown moulding
+ huge bathtub w/jacuzzi jets
+ included breakfast delivered to the room
+ free WiFi in room
+ comfortable bed & pillows
+ beautiful "old school" architecture
— shower stall leaking in corner of marble base onto bathroom floor
— "Western" breakfast was not served hot, and had average taste
— ESPN signal was weak on TV
— no "view" out narrow window on 3rd floor
— Internet connection was slow
— no fitness center or pool
— bellman service was not attentive upon arrival
— lobby is fairly small

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyQuest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This gem of a hotel is THE best place to stay in Shanghai, especially if you are a western ex-pat. It is a one minute walk to eithe Hongqiao Big Bamboo Club or Malones Bar. These two places are arguably the best expat bars in China. BB has awesome steaks and cold beer of any description. If you've been on a business trip to China and need a bit of a readjuctment, stay at the Mansions. Book online and you can always get a much better deal than a walk up. It would also be a terrific place for a couple as the rooms are incredibly well appointed, more like luxury apartments. Honeymoon special I think! And if you are there on business not a honeymoon, don't even think about the girls outside the Manhattan Hotel next door!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Small hotel with alot of history. It is set back from the street so very quiet and well located for tourists and business folks alike. Rooms had that "old Shanghai" feeling. Staff was very accomodating and welcoming. Once we had asked for a dim sum place to eat, they not only told us but had the porter physically walk us to the place. If you want peace and quiet from a hectic day, this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggerbettertennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Pei Mansion Hotel is centrally located, about half-way between international airport (PVG) and domestic airport (SHA), the latter now with an adjacent new high speed rail station. We booked it because we do not like hotels in high-rise buildings with over 100 rooms. Our five nights at Pei Mansion were among the best experience we had on this trip. Hotel staff members are all friendly and helpful, especially Kelly Shan, who took care of delivery of my online orders to the hotel. Grand Deluxe King room is extra spacious and bathroom has jacuzzi featured bathtub. This is one hotel we would definitely book again for our next trip. Finally we should mention that this hotel is a historic building (see photo).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sywu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

From the personalized warm welcome to the smooth departure, this hotel experience was a total dream. A luxury boutique hotel, the rooms are beautifully decorated in the art deco style. The bathrooms are large and luxurious with enormous stall showers and jacuzzis. I would say that the best part of the experience was the warm and friendly staff. The minute I got out of my taxi, I was personally greeted by Martin, the director. He was extremely helpful in orienting me to my room and arranged a personalized tour of the city, complete with a spectacular lunch at a Cantonese restaurant in a five star hotel. Other staff members were friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. What more can I say? The hotel is located in a very interesting area full of spectacular shopping centers and great restaurants. The garden of the hotel is an important sight in itself. My only complaint is that I didn't stay long enough!

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

I have mixed feeling about this place--their focus is probably more on their private dining restaurant than on the hotel. There are limited hotel facilities and they serve breakfast in the (small) rooms. We did negotiate to have breakfasts in a meeting room that overlooked the garden, but had no service during the meal. It is probably best a charmer retreat for a couple--not for business if services are needed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#159 of 5,102 in Shanghai
202 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#51 of 5,102 in Shanghai
1,149 reviews
Jing'an
The Portman Ritz-Carlton, Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
Fenyang Garden Boutique Hotel
#151 of 5,102 in Shanghai
98 reviews
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#34 of 5,102 in Shanghai
586 reviews
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#153 of 5,102 in Shanghai
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pei Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pei Mansion Hotel

Property: Pei Mansion Hotel
Address: No.170 Nanyang Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #705 of 5,102 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pei Mansion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1934, the building was designed for the family of the famous architect I.M. Pei (Louvre Pyramid, Paris). The PEI Mansion with its lush garden, is a luxurious oasis set in middle of downtown Shanghai. With its unique historical heritage, the PEI Mansion captures the essence of old Shanghai, a period when this great city was considered the ‘Paris of the Orient’. The building design reflects this wonderful by gone era with its graceful fusion of Classic French and Asian architecture that made Shanghai one of the world’s most beautiful and elegant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Prestigia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pei Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing