We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pei Mansion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$216
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
$121
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$123
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
$99
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$140
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$298
$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$340
$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
33
14
15
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
14
15
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharming hotelwalking distancestar hotelroom servicejacuzzifurnitureelevatorbusinesslobbyshangai
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 67 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

+ large and luxurious room w/11' ceilings and wide crown moulding
+ huge bathtub w/jacuzzi jets
+ included breakfast delivered to the room
+ free WiFi in room
+ comfortable bed & pillows
+ beautiful "old school" architecture
— shower stall leaking in corner of marble base onto bathroom floor
— "Western" breakfast was not served hot, and had average taste
— ESPN signal was weak on TV
— no "view" out narrow window on 3rd floor
— Internet connection was slow
— no fitness center or pool
— bellman service was not attentive upon arrival
— lobby is fairly small

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyQuest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This gem of a hotel is THE best place to stay in Shanghai, especially if you are a western ex-pat. It is a one minute walk to eithe Hongqiao Big Bamboo Club or Malones Bar. These two places are arguably the best expat bars in China. BB has awesome steaks and cold beer of any description. If you've been on a business trip to China and need a bit of a readjuctment, stay at the Mansions. Book online and you can always get a much better deal than a walk up. It would also be a terrific place for a couple as the rooms are incredibly well appointed, more like luxury apartments. Honeymoon special I think! And if you are there on business not a honeymoon, don't even think about the girls outside the Manhattan Hotel next door!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Small hotel with alot of history. It is set back from the street so very quiet and well located for tourists and business folks alike. Rooms had that "old Shanghai" feeling. Staff was very accomodating and welcoming. Once we had asked for a dim sum place to eat, they not only told us but had the porter physically walk us to the place. If you want peace and quiet from a hectic day, this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biggerbettertennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Pei Mansion Hotel is centrally located, about half-way between international airport (PVG) and domestic airport (SHA), the latter now with an adjacent new high speed rail station. We booked it because we do not like hotels in high-rise buildings with over 100 rooms. Our five nights at Pei Mansion were among the best experience we had on this trip. Hotel staff members are all friendly and helpful, especially Kelly Shan, who took care of delivery of my online orders to the hotel. Grand Deluxe King room is extra spacious and bathroom has jacuzzi featured bathtub. This is one hotel we would definitely book again for our next trip. Finally we should mention that this hotel is a historic building (see photo).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sywu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

From the personalized warm welcome to the smooth departure, this hotel experience was a total dream. A luxury boutique hotel, the rooms are beautifully decorated in the art deco style. The bathrooms are large and luxurious with enormous stall showers and jacuzzis. I would say that the best part of the experience was the warm and friendly staff. The minute I got out of my taxi, I was personally greeted by Martin, the director. He was extremely helpful in orienting me to my room and arranged a personalized tour of the city, complete with a spectacular lunch at a Cantonese restaurant in a five star hotel. Other staff members were friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. What more can I say? The hotel is located in a very interesting area full of spectacular shopping centers and great restaurants. The garden of the hotel is an important sight in itself. My only complaint is that I didn't stay long enough!

Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews