We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Loved it, best Hotel In Shanghai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pei Mansion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pei Mansion Hotel
Ranked #1,447 of 4,670 Hotels in Shanghai
Australia
2 reviews
“Loved it, best Hotel In Shanghai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

This gem of a hotel is THE best place to stay in Shanghai, especially if you are a western ex-pat. It is a one minute walk to eithe Hongqiao Big Bamboo Club or Malones Bar. These two places are arguably the best expat bars in China. BB has awesome steaks and cold beer of any description. If you've been on a business trip to China and need a bit of a readjuctment, stay at the Mansions. Book online and you can always get a much better deal than a walk up. It would also be a terrific place for a couple as the rooms are incredibly well appointed, more like luxury apartments. Honeymoon special I think! And if you are there on business not a honeymoon, don't even think about the girls outside the Manhattan Hotel next door!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
13
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Small hotel with alot of history. It is set back from the street so very quiet and well located for tourists and business folks alike. Rooms had that "old Shanghai" feeling. Staff was very accomodating and welcoming. Once we had asked for a dim sum place to eat, they not only told us but had the porter physically walk us to the place. If you want peace and quiet from a hectic day, this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggerbettertennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Pei Mansion Hotel is centrally located, about half-way between international airport (PVG) and domestic airport (SHA), the latter now with an adjacent new high speed rail station. We booked it because we do not like hotels in high-rise buildings with over 100 rooms. Our five nights at Pei Mansion were among the best experience we had on this trip. Hotel staff members are all friendly and helpful, especially Kelly Shan, who took care of delivery of my online orders to the hotel. Grand Deluxe King room is extra spacious and bathroom has jacuzzi featured bathtub. This is one hotel we would definitely book again for our next trip. Finally we should mention that this hotel is a historic building (see photo).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sywu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

From the personalized warm welcome to the smooth departure, this hotel experience was a total dream. A luxury boutique hotel, the rooms are beautifully decorated in the art deco style. The bathrooms are large and luxurious with enormous stall showers and jacuzzis. I would say that the best part of the experience was the warm and friendly staff. The minute I got out of my taxi, I was personally greeted by Martin, the director. He was extremely helpful in orienting me to my room and arranged a personalized tour of the city, complete with a spectacular lunch at a Cantonese restaurant in a five star hotel. Other staff members were friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. What more can I say? The hotel is located in a very interesting area full of spectacular shopping centers and great restaurants. The garden of the hotel is an important sight in itself. My only complaint is that I didn't stay long enough!

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

I have mixed feeling about this place--their focus is probably more on their private dining restaurant than on the hotel. There are limited hotel facilities and they serve breakfast in the (small) rooms. We did negotiate to have breakfasts in a meeting room that overlooked the garden, but had no service during the meal. It is probably best a charmer retreat for a couple--not for business if services are needed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

What a rare find. My brother in law is a Chinese national living in Beijing. He recommended this hotel having stayed on business. It opened in April 2010 having been extensively and lovingly restored to its former glory. It is a protected monument originally belonging to a very famous Chinese family. The first owner, the grandfather of the World famous Architect Pei, was a former Governor of the Bank of China.
The house is filled with beautiul furniture and our room was simply one of the best I have experienced. This is not a hotel with amenities such as swimming pools, public areas etc....its more like staying in a family mansion. our bathroom was larger than most hotel rooms and had a double jacuzzi, double width shower and the worlds most amazing toilet. Once we worked how to use the japanese style toilet we could not stop talking about it...they are fantastic...you will be astonished !!
You would have to pay double for this luxury in Europe....and trust me Shanghai is far from cheap!!!
TIP: You must vist the terrace bar...New Heights Floor 7 at No 3 The Bund at night....one beer with that view will convince you that the Chinese will become the biggest economy in the world.

Stay here if you are visiting Shanghai !!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smthoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

I was on a rather stressful business trip in (a very crowded) Shanghai for three days and wanted to have a place to disconnect when getting out from my meetings. At the Pei Mansion, I felt good like at home, because it's only the size of big house, and at the same time, I felt I was in a very special place. The mansion is just absolutely gorgeous inside. I don't know if everything is original there, but you feel like back in the beginning of the 20's century, with this very cozy atmosphere and an extremely rich design, a mix of European and Chinese arts of the finniest taste (at least, I myself loved it!). I liked that they try to personalize every single side of the house. These tiny details make the difference with the standardized hotel chains I use to stay at.
The service was ok, nothing to complain about, but I did not really solicit them a lot so I can't judge that much of their efficiency.
I did not try the restaurants, but the offer seemed quite mouthwatering. However, you'll find plenty of good restaurants in the area. Some international and some local ones.
In one word, I would say that this hotel has character, and that's the main reason why you'll want to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bernardo0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
URBN Hotel Shanghai
URBN Hotel Shanghai
#43 of 4,670 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#58 of 4,670 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#42 of 4,670 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#164 of 4,670 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Le Sun Chine
Le Sun Chine
#486 of 4,670 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#30 of 4,670 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pei Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pei Mansion Hotel

Property: Pei Mansion Hotel
Address: No.170 Nanyang Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,447 of 4,670 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pei Mansion Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1934, the building was designed for the family of the famous architect I.M. Pei (Louvre Pyramid, Paris). The PEI Mansion with its lush garden, is a luxurious oasis set in middle of downtown Shanghai. With its unique historical heritage, the PEI Mansion captures the essence of old Shanghai, a period when this great city was considered the ‘Paris of the Orient’. The building design reflects this wonderful by gone era with its graceful fusion of Classic French and Asian architecture that made Shanghai one of the world’s most beautiful and elegant cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Pei Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing