We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL - GOOD LOCATION - GOOD SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #49 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL - GOOD LOCATION - GOOD SERVICE”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

For my wife and me this was our first time travel to China and I was concerned about the hotels in Shanghai. I had made arrangements with the hotel to pick us from the Airport. On the day of the arrival I had a driver and an English speaking person had come to the airport to pick us. As we arrived at the hotel there were 4 people waiting at the door to invite us and a nice girl took us to the reception area. After the registration we were taken to our room by 2 people. I had taken an executive Suite - what a huge room and a separate room for sitting and for business work. We travel all over the World and have stayed in different hotels but this room was big with big bath room.
The restaurant was nice with good food. The executive floor had it own breakfast area and also check in and out desk. For our sight seeing in Shanghai I had asked the hotel concierge to arrange for a car & driver and an English speaking tour guide.
Mr. Stockton Chen the concierge was very helpful to make all the arrangements for the everyday sighting seeing trip. The driver and the tour guide were very helpful in showing the city of Shanghai and taking us to nice restaurants. We had a wonderful stay in Shanghai and in Grand Central Hotel. I would go again to stay at this hotel. I highly recommend this hotel. Excellent service, good location and good food

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tornto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    346
    51
    15
    18
See reviews for
161
264
54
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Let's be honest: In Paris they would make four hotel rooms out of the room I had at the Grand Central.
If, what I had was a standard room (I think it was), their suites must be the size of Paris. Well, big anyway.
Okay, so: Huge rooms, huge bathrooms (I have stayed in hotels where the room was the size of the bathroom at the Grand Central!), huge wardrobe (walk-in even).
Everything's there.
Lobby the size of a football field (can you sense a theme here), breakfast was very nice, big buffet.
I didn't try any of their other restaurants.
Bottom line: You want grand. They give you grand!

  • Liked — Huge rooms. I mean seriously huge rooms
  • Disliked — Stupid bathroom soap wrap
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GulfWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Excellent service, very nice rooms, security and great location. The restaurant is still finding its way... I would not eat here for the price... good rooms but eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphy_Sox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Location is fabulous..just across Nanjing Pedestrian Street! Reception, concierge, down to the bell boys were very customer-oriented, approachable, and would go out of their way to assist. Breakfast buffet is quite typical though, nothing to rave about. This hotel certainly offers value-for-money accommodation. Top-of-mind when we visit Shanghai again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReydJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I've stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. Room is big, bathroom is huge! You can find perfect amenities and special details. Location is good, near to restaurants and shops. People at the reception and concierge speak good english and are very helpful. Unfortunally I can't say the same of the restaurant people. They should learn a little more english before working in such a great hotel. Food is also great! They offer cable conection in the room, either at the desk and near the bed. I would highly recoment this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2009

It is a fantastic hotel I'd ever stay. Wonderful environment ,Good location and friendly service.will be always my choice in Shanghai. You must give them all 5 points for everything.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Worldhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank kanii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#50 of 5,105 in Shanghai
820 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#63 of 5,105 in Shanghai
1,271 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#48 of 5,105 in Shanghai
779 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#38 of 5,105 in Shanghai
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 5,105 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing