We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, overall good hotel, except the coffee at breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #42 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, overall good hotel, except the coffee at breakfast”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in June. Next to Nanjing Rd pedestrian mall and shops. Walkable to People's Park and the waterfront they call the Bund in the other directions. Plenty of places to eat on Nanjing Rd esp the smaller streets that runs off it.
Hotel was great overall but pool was only indoor. WiFi was too slow for Facebook but okay for emails. There's one strange policy that they need to review. Our room included free breakfast which was buffet. However the coffee machines on the same table as the tea was not free. Cost Y50. There were no signs indicating this at the machines. You were just given the bill by the staff when you get up to leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share the comments with us. We are very pleased that the hotel met with your expectations. In particular, we appreciate the feedback regarding our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    344
    49
    15
    16
See reviews for
158
261
53
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mandelbachtal, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The location is unbeatable. Just a few feet from the Nanjing Road for shopping and sightseeing.
The room was comfortable in room service great. Even the booking was through an agency everything was arranged well including airport pickup.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lothar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments that will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great rooms.Comfortable and luxurious.Breakfast included in the cost,and excellent.Most of all,great staff,especially the concierge They were very helpful.Mr.Stockton was quickly able to get us prepaid chinese sim cards and phones if we needed them.He was a great help with taxis.We forgot a few things in our room when we checked out and he quickly mailed them to our hotel in Beijing.
Walking distance from the Pearl market and close to other sites.

Room Tip: front facing rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

It was great value (compared to other 5 stars hotels in area) and one could not really find one thing wrong with it. Rooms are huge (we had Deluxe room) with lovely decor. Separate shower and bath also toilet had its own door.
Big comfy oversized King bed.

Swimming pool had warm water, just ok if you wanted to do few laps, not ideal for anyone just wanting to sit in it, but well thats what you have your bathtub for ;)

Most of the staff had decent English so no problems with getting info.

Hotel is perfectly located, close to Nanjing, Bund and metro. As everywhere watch out for scammers and people wanting to sell you gadgets, simple wave of hand or No thanks is enough.

The only small minus was the sound proofing of doors.

On hotel unrelated note as it was our first city we were a bit overwhelmed with all the mopeds, bikes, cars buses trying to overrun you on every corner ;) Of course this is how they do it in China, but it takes a while to get used to.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for breakfast unless its included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigisulivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for our hotel's favor, and made such a high evaluation, we will do better as a driving force, to look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Fantastic room, excellent shower, nice pool, delicious blt in the coffee shop. A real king bed not two singles joined together. As my flight was at 1.30am they let me shower in the health spa before catching the metro (7 Yuan vs 210 in a taxi and only 10mins more) out, wonderfully accommodating. You would pay much more elsewhere in the world for this hotel. My only criticism is the staff should not cut their fingernails in the middle of the coffee shop.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realistic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our Hotel. We will bring your valuable feedback to the concerned department head immediately and please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you. We sincerely hope you’ll have a different experience in your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Location is the selling point for this hotel (as well as its sister one, Central Hotel, sitting right next to it). It sits in the heart of Shanghai and small block to East Nanjing Road. Room is spacious, as compared with others in the same area (such as Le Royal Meridien, Marriott City Center, Radisson Blu New World etc.). Wi-fi speed is so so – fine for reading emails but that’s it. Breakfast is okey but offer much less selections than the ones at Marriott City Center or Le Meridien. If you are interested in exploring decent Chinese foods, Yunnan Street, which is virtually a street of small restaurants a couple of blocks away, is THE place to dine (except for formal dining). This is actually the most famous street for casual dining for local people, the place I have gone every time when I stay in the East Nanjing Road/People Square area. The cost to feed your whole family of four may be less than the price for one breakfast at a 5 star restaurant. On the down side, the hotel building is low. Unlike the ones like Le Royal Meridean where you can stay in the “Bund View Rooms” and wowed by the magnificent skyline of the East Nanjing Road and the Bund at night, the rooms of this hotel offer only limited or far less exciting view of the beautiful Shanghai city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us what you enjoyed most about your visit. We are very grateful for your encouraging feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Location of this hotel is what you should choose it for! It is located in the very central of Shanghai! The physical facilities of this hotel also matches its name, rooms are huge, and the bathroom is also very nice.

The service level as a whole is excellent with a few exceptions. One example is that the serving-time at the lobby bar is very slow- Why does it take more than 10 minutes to make a Cosmopolitan? The breakfast quality is acceptable, but not great. The pool facility is good but yet not excellent

But overall, choose this hotel if you are looking for luxury!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LinusWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, qc at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for stay at our Hotel and share all your feelings. We will create a better service, welcome to you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 5,059 in Shanghai
808 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#61 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,228 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#40 of 5,059 in Shanghai
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,059 in Shanghai
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Property: Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing