We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #51 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great value hotel in excellent location convenient to metro and the Bund. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet. It is possible to upgrade to a room with a view of the city, although given the hotel limited height the benefit is difficult to see. Food and drinks seemed a bit pricey.

The service is great and staff were very helpful, although some staff struggled with English. The check in process seemed a unnecessarily long-winded. It took us about 15min to check in only to find out that the room was not yet ready, The upfront deposit for incidentals appeared quite high and the process somewhat confusing.

Complimentary internet access seemed unreliable and slow. Having said that, overall a great value for money in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_M_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We appreciate your compliment on our location and rooms. Meanwhile we appreciate your suggestions and comments in the areas that we still have space to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai and our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
There are newer reviews for Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

That hotel is impressive: the lobby is beautiful and the rooms are totally awesome for a very reasonable price. Besides the location is perfect, close to the main streets of Shaghai, ideal for a first time visit. Staff is helpful and professional.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruruu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we truly appreciate your compliment of our location and service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed during an extended layover between trips. Lovely rooms, comfortable beds, great toiletries. Good location one block over from Nanjing pedestrian mall and near East Nanjing metro station. Overall, would not hesitate to return. Much less expensive than other Western-style hotels in the area, and an excellent property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your high esteem of our hotel location and room facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai and our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed here this past weekend for fun following a business trip to China. This is an excellent hotel. It has a very central location and everything about the hotel was first rate. The rooms were very large and the furnishing were of excellent quality. Large bath and shower and very comfortable bed. The Lobby was very nice as well.

Check in was very smooth and the service by the staff was also wonderful. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
It is such a great pleasure for us to receive your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are honored that you are satisfied with almost all the aspects of our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed 3 nights at the Grand Central. We booked through Agoda and got a good rate, but on arrival we chose to upgrade with a package to include breakfast, better rooms and use of the executive lounge including happy hour and snacks from 5-7pm. The upgraded rooms were huge the beds very comfortable, wifi good, bathrooms spacious and spotless. Service at the hotel was great especially in the executive lounge which offered a nice small room for breakfast (with all the offerings) and comfortable lounge furnishings to relax, watch TV, use a computer and have a drink in the evening. We were able to check out here too after breakfast on our last day. The concierge was helpful but was not able to recommend a restaurant to suit us in the French Concession (we found Kota's Kitchen 3 reviewed elsewhere). That said the concierge desk made several phonecalls on our behalf in a quest we had. My Dad did made the mistake of opening the 1 litre bottle of Evian, it cost 80 rmb! Also the cost of the business centre was high. But overall the service and quality of the hotel was excellent for the price and we would definitely stay again. The subway was just at the next corner and the hotel is one block from the main shopping street. We organised a taxi to the airport and this was included in our bill at checkout which was convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pebarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review which makes us very proud of our hotel and service. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We spent three nights here recently and thought it was a great hotel. The rooms are huge and very nice. The staff is friendly and all speak English well. The wifi was strong. And the location was great - a block from the subway and right along shanghai's major pedestrian shopping street. If coming in from the airport, take line 2 to the Nanjing Road East stop and go out exit 4. You'll see the hotel a block away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We truly appreciate your high esteem of our hotel location, rooms and services as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is consistent and rarely disappoints.

It is in the middle of the tourist zone And is walking distance from many of Shanghai's tourist destinations.

The rooms are large and the staff is always friendly. The breakfast is expensive (even by Shanghai standards) and isn't good enough to justify the cost. Save your money and visit one of the many restaurants near by.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank ManitobaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay. We very much appreciate your feedback about hotel location, rooms and staff services. We will bring your valuable feedback about breakfast price to the concerned department head immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#50 of 5,112 in Shanghai
835 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 5,112 in Shanghai
1,303 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#53 of 5,112 in Shanghai
784 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,112 in Shanghai
2,669 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $138 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing