We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nanhe Hotel(Shanghai)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
      View Hotel
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Pool
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Breakfast included
      Wu Gong Hotel(Shanghai)
      View Hotel
      Good 3.5/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Restaurant
      Reviews (1,062)
      Filter reviews
      1,062 results
      Traveler rating
      603
      366
      56
      16
      21
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      603
      366
      56
      16
      21
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsnanjing roadexcellent locationpeople's squarestar hotelgrand lobbywalking streetseparate toiletpedestrian mallrooms are hugeminute walkbreakfast buffetpeople's parkmetro stopwonderful hotelexecutive floorpudong airportconcierge
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      465 - 470 of 1,062 reviews
      Reviewed August 10, 2013

      This 5 star hotel surprised me a lot. Clean spacious rooms with a very good bed. The bathroom is very comfortable. The interior is classic instead of some modern features, but does not influence the very good services of the helpful staff. Breakfast and lunch in the lobby are quite moderate. The price quality is good. The location is very central just 1 minute from the Nanjing road. If you need to be there this hotel is a very good choice.

      • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank BastiaanVanLon
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

      Dear Guest,
      Thank you very much for your great review of the Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We are so proud that you had good experience with us, and we truly appreciate your high esteem of our location, room as well as services. We look forward to welcoming you back.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed August 8, 2013

      I stayed here for 1 night at the end of June.

      Location wise this is absolutley fantasic, right in the centre of where everything is going on, perfect for tourists.
      Staff were very helpful and pleasant during my stay, they answered politely any questions that I had.
      Only thing I thought is that the Hotel itsself was a little dated and was expensive for what it is, but then I guess it is shanghai and in a prime location.

      I would stay here again

      • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank jamesh1000000
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

      Dear Guest,
      Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again when you return to Shanghai next time.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed August 4, 2013

      My wife and I were overwhelmed by the room and services offered. Just 10 minutes walk from the Bund and 1 minute from Nanjing Road made it a perfect location for us. If you are not used to luxury you will love it like we did - try the swiming pool!

      • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      4  Thank ChrisBrazil
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

      Dear guest,
      Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Grand Central hotel Shanghai. We are delighted with your high esteem of our hotel location and room. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Central Hotel Shanghai in the near future.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed August 1, 2013

      I think for an easy stay in city centre, it's really the best location u can ever find in downtown. for most people who come shanghai for the first time, its just on east nanjing road and 5min walk to the bund. and comparing with those bundside hotels, u dont need to waste time on taxis of traffic jam, even in rush hours, just go downstairs, take the metro then u can reach everywhere. for business customer, its a decent as well as super budget choice. i shall personally admit that as a local brand hotel, the staff here are better than lots of intl brand ones nearby. my checkin is super quick and neat.

      Room Tip: ask for a room above 12th floor, the view to the nanjing road at night is quite ok (unless u dont like city lights). avoid smoking floors- even u r a smoker, chinese guests usually smoke too hard.
      • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank wonderfay
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

      Dear Guest,
      Thank you very much for your high regard of our hotel location and staff service, and thank you for sharing this on Trip Advisor. Your positive comments have been shared with the hotel team and it is an encouragement for us to continue improving our quality. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed July 31, 2013

      I wanted a little old world Shanghai with modern conveniences and good location; we got it in the Grand Central. Marble floors, polished brass, wonderful spa (get the Chinese massage!), warm indoor pool, plenty of fluffy towels and always someone greeting you with a smile.

      This hotel was located just off the main pedestrian street and a short walk to Bund. There are restaurants within, but many in the area as well (we ate great Szechuan and Turkish food on the same street). There is a Metro stop nearby as well for easy in/out of the city, though cabs are easy to catch as well.

      I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again!

      • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank jinx101
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

      Dear Guest,
      Thank you for staying at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. It is so encouraging to receive positive comments on our location, service and products. We appreciate that you will recommend our hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews