We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted, excellent location, amenities and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #55 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I wanted a little old world Shanghai with modern conveniences and good location; we got it in the Grand Central. Marble floors, polished brass, wonderful spa (get the Chinese massage!), warm indoor pool, plenty of fluffy towels and always someone greeting you with a smile.

This hotel was located just off the main pedestrian street and a short walk to Bund. There are restaurants within, but many in the area as well (we ate great Szechuan and Turkish food on the same street). There is a Metro stop nearby as well for easy in/out of the city, though cabs are easy to catch as well.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jinx101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. It is so encouraging to receive positive comments on our location, service and products. We appreciate that you will recommend our hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a hotel that lives up to its 5 star reputation. It is well located very close to East Nanjing Metro station (take the Juijang street exit) and hence very easy for access to and from Puding International Airport
The rooms are spacious, very well designed with a good separation of resting and bathroom areas. They have thought of everything (except maybe an extendable clothes line above the bath - we just hung up our extendable one). Staff are helpful and polite. The lobby bar is good for a drink and not ridiculously overpriced, and there are plenty of restaurants nearby (shopping malls are a good place to look). All in all a beautiful place to retreat to when the noise, heat etc get too much. Ask for a room overlooking East Nanjing road, for a great view of what's happening below. We enjoyed #1116.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking East Nanjing road - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review of Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We truly appreciate your high esteem of our hotel room amenities and location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Walked into the beautiful room with a great view. Two huge double beds (in twin room) and wonderful bathroom. The pool looked great but didn't have time to use it. Walked to the Bund and Nanjing road. Found Shanghai to have a wonderful vibe. Breakfast was ok but could be improved. Stayed here as part of our Helen Wong tour so not too sure about the rates. Staff bought a wireless router to the room which was handy. The only negative was that our room over looked some kind of concert so it was noisy for 2 nights until quite late when we were there.

Room Tip: Twin rooms seem to be larger in China and asking for a twin seemed to mean that we were upgraded qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank grumpymum42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable review of Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We truly appreciate your high esteem of our hotel location and room. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Needed a hotel for two nights in Shanghai and I did pick the right one :)
Perfect location - just 50m from Nanjing road, underground station also very close.
Hotel is luxurious as this kind of hotel usually is in the East, rooms are very big, golden brown and fully equipped.
I found room rate to be quite good but breakfast a bit overpriced.
Small problem on checkout as Chinese seem to be puzzles by credit cards with chip however with a bit of help from a colleague lady on the reception did manage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VladaBgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments referring to your stay at the Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We will bring your valuable feedback to the concerned department head immediately. We look forward to welcoming you back often upon your future stay and hope that your next visit with us will be more pleasing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just returned from a 20 day trip to China. Our final destination was Shanghai and our stay was at the Grand Central. What a lovely end to our trip. I don't understand some of the other reviews. We were in room 1206 and it was spacious, immaculate, well appointed and accommodating. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. The buffet breakfast was free and was a huge spread. From an omelet station to fresh fruit to traditional Chinese breakfast and traditional European breakfast. The wifi was free. We simply asked for it and were given a router. they even came to the room to help us set it up.
The massages were hit or miss but very inexpensive. I had one poor massage and one outstanding one. The reception desk was very nice and eager to correct a small error. Yes, communication was tough. Very few people spoke English, but their desire to please far exceeds the language barrier.
We walked across the street to Nanjing Road each evening for a stroll. What a lovely area. People singing, dancing, all the lights, concerts, shops. Plenty to keep you entertained.
Overall, a definite winner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bilezmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to share your experience with all of the team and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Main reason for choosing this hotel is because of it have 2 queen size bed and is very centrally situated, just 2 mins walk to Nanking walking street & near to 2 train stations. Staffs were friendly and helpful, rooms is beautiful and grand, main lobby is spacious. Only setback is that wifi is not free and buffet breakfast spread are limited. Overall, worth staying.

Room Tip: choose room facing Nanking walking street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rainmanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your high regard of our hotel location, room, as well as staff, and thank you for sharing this on Trip Advisor. We would like to tell you that our wifi is free for guests. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really enjoyed our four nights at this hotel. In a very central position within walking distance of (great) shopping. Room was quiet, spacious and very comfortable opening into an internal courtyard. Extremely comfortable big bed. Very well appointed bathroom. Breakfast buffet was excellent but quite expensive. Free Wifi in rooms. Would return in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandcentralhotelsha, Public Relations Manager at Grand Central Hotel Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Grand Central Hotel Shanghai. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay. We will be sure to share your experience with all of the team and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,161 in Shanghai
871 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#63 of 5,161 in Shanghai
1,363 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,161 in Shanghai
2,785 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $131 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing