We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Ranked #54 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a kind of hotel you should write and speak out with capital letter H. They surely know what luxury means. And they are not in top 10 in Shanghai is just a coincidence as they surely are top notch hotel not only in Shanghai, not only in China but globally. Located in the very heart of Shanghai, lavishly decorated, with amazing SPA and fitness, with breathtaking lobby and top quality service made me and my wife and daughter staying absolutely memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaciejTPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights and were very happy with the hotel.
The location was close to a popular shopping street that stayed busy well into the nights, room was clean and overal service was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank CeeCee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I booked this on Hotels.com and thought I was booking a 'moderate' hotel. Wrong - this place is super fancy. I am kept trying to find the catch but there wasn't one, it was just a good value if you like luxury hotels. Some of the fine points:
Location - night on Nanjing road, near the metro, Bund. Super good location.
Pool: fantastic, loved it.
Value: Again, not sure what the catch is, seemed too cheap.
Room: Fancy, comfortable.
Staff: Nice, helpful
Food: Did not try it, too expensive (this is the only con) but not a big deal, we are not hotel food eaters anyway and like to sample the local restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

this is our second time staying at the Grand central hotel, and we were not dissapointed. We stayed for two nights, and as usual the price for our twin share room was very affordable, the rooms were clean and spacious, and the beds and sheets were very comfortable providing us the perfect place to rest following an exhausting 14 hour flight from london.
The hotel is located right next to the nanjing road shopping district, thus giving you all the restaurants and shopping one needs right at your door step, its a 15min walk to the bund, 8min walk to a metro station, and a quick 10min in taxi to the famous french concession and god's temple area. What more can one ask for in terms of convenience.

One little issue we had with the hotel this time was that our air-conditioning was not on during our first night of stay at the hotel, and this made the room quite hot and uncomfortable at night. When we ask reception about this, they had told us that because november is winter in shanghai, they usually do not turn on their air-conditioning systems.
However when we made a complaint about this, pointing out that it was very hot and stuffy in the rooms to the extent that we can't sleep comfortably, a serviceman was immediately sent to check out the situation, and the air-con in our room was promptly switch back on. Thus our problem was delt with quickly.

Would definitely recommend and stay here again if i ever visit shanghai in the future

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keko l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend and were super-satisfied. Everything has a very high quality. Entry to the health club is complimentary and the sauna and steam bath superb. Also the room was very nice and there is nothing to comment on negatively. If we come back to shanghai we will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petermann87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent two nights there and the service as the rooms were really perfect.
We were located at the 12th floor, with a very quiet and comfortable room (large twin beds).
The bathroom is large with a shower separated from the toilet and from the bath tube. Quite convenient.
Excellent food too, as the dinner buffet was good particularly the pastries.
We did not have the breakfast buffet but just some good coffee and tea in the morning.
The prices are not very cheap but affordable for such a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

After our tour with AFFORDABLE ASIA we opted to extend our stay in Shanghai and booked 3 nights at the "GRAND CENTRAL HOTEL" What a great decision..This hotel had the most amazing location near Nanjing Road and the Bund..We ugraded to the executive level which included free WiFi, buffet breakfast, happy hour etc. etc. We were very lucky on our early checkin (12;00pm) to get room # 625 that had a view of Nanjing Road..All the staff we came into contact with at this hotel was wonderful..Upon checkin we noticed a light bulb in the closet was out and within 5 min a maid & engineer was there to replace it..This attention detail would continue throughout our entire stay..They couldn't seem to do enough for you.We had leftover pizza from our dinner one night and the next day the concierge staff heated it up for us for lunch .I also have no idea how they knew it was my husbands 65th birthday (maybe his passport) but that night a letter from the manager was in our room and a beautiful and delicious birthday cake & candles...We can't wait to return to this amazing 5 star hotel on our visit next year to Shanghai...Thank you so much Grand Central !!!!!!

Room Tip: Room # 625 Executive level AMAZING view !!! Quiet location !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2clb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#49 of 5,146 in Shanghai
848 reviews
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#60 of 5,146 in Shanghai
1,325 reviews
People’s Square
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#37 of 5,146 in Shanghai
2,701 reviews
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#52 of 5,146 in Shanghai
789 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.505 Jiujiang Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $139 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Central Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 353
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing